Chevron Left
Zurück zu VLSI CAD Part I: Logic

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für VLSI CAD Part I: Logic von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
Sterne
376 Bewertungen
73 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

A modern VLSI chip has a zillion parts -- logic, control, memory, interconnect, etc. How do we design these complex chips? Answer: CAD software tools. Learn how to build thesA modern VLSI chip is a remarkably complex beast: billions of transistors, millions of logic gates deployed for computation and control, big blocks of memory, embedded blocks of pre-designed functions designed by third parties (called “intellectual property” or IP blocks). How do people manage to design these complicated chips? Answer: a sequence of computer aided design (CAD) tools takes an abstract description of the chip, and refines it step-wise to a final design. This class focuses on the major design tools used in the creation of an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or System on Chip (SoC) design. Our focus in this first part of the course is on key Boolean logic representations that make it possible to synthesize, and to verify, the gate-level logic in these designs. This is the first step of the design chain, as we move from logic to layout. Our goal is for students to understand how the tools themselves work, at the level of their fundamental algorithms and data structures. Topics covered will include: Computational Boolean algebra, logic verification, and logic synthesis (2-level and multi-level). Recommended Background Programming experience (C, C++, Java, Python, etc.) and basic knowledge of data structures and algorithms (especially recursive algorithms). An understanding of basic digital design: Boolean algebra, Kmaps, gates and flip flops, finite state machine design. Linear algebra and calculus at the level of a junior or senior in engineering. Exposure to basic VLSI at an undergraduate level is nice -- but it’s not necessary. We will keep the course self-contained, but students with some VLSI will be able to skip some background material.e tools in this class....

Top-Bewertungen

PS

Jun 17, 2020

Very good course and instructor. The material used in the course is very good and the theories and heuristics were explained in best possible manner with help of examples.

SV

Aug 14, 2017

Really Enjoyed taking the course. The course gives interesting insights about how various EDA tools work and algorithms that make it possible.

Filtern nach:

51 - 74 von 74 Bewertungen für VLSI CAD Part I: Logic

von Dhaval K

May 22, 2020

NICE EXPERIENCE

von NISHANT S

May 28, 2020

great course

von srinivasulareddy y

Aug 05, 2020

very good

von NEETU S

May 13, 2020

excellent

von Keerthana G

Jun 22, 2020

PERFECT

von sriram c

Jun 03, 2020

good

von HEMACHANDRAN K

Aug 01, 2018

good

von Shuvmay C

Sep 07, 2018

The marking scheme for the quiz is a little difficult, given the level of the quiz ,the marking scheme should be relaxed and partial marks should be granted.

Rest the course is amazing , prof. Rob Rutenbar has done a fantastic job in explaining the boolean algebra and important concepts like gate network repair or replacement, Multilevel logic, Dont Cares, e.t.c.

Its a good course to take , boolean algebra will be certainly strong after the completion of the course.

von Nityanand

Jun 30, 2020

Slightly Tough !

Its test are kind of tough , hard to score 70+ in 1 attempt,. Anyway procedding further to the second part of the course. INcase you are literally stuck at quesns, tick all the ans , it will help you next time as they will tell you all other answers. Welcome.

von Isaac C K

May 20, 2020

A very good overview of the vlsi world from the standpoint of Boolean functions logics and algorithms. Don't take this course expecting to learn about physical layout however, its mostly about designing algorithms and programs to optimize computer processed designs.

von SUGALI S N

May 24, 2020

The course takes the 'hands-on' experience on VLSI CAD Logic. It provided in-depth on details of the logic synthesis, leading me the great pleasure of discovering I had so much to know about a subject I imagined I was familiar.

von Georgios K

Dec 17, 2018

An interesting course, generally you learn about the synthesis but not about the algorithms of the synthesis process. Great to learn the use of heuristic algorithms. Thank you professor, your explanations were great.

von Nimesh A

Jun 19, 2020

The solutions for answer which are incorrect should be provided.So that we are able to know what mistake we did.Content wise and questions quality wise ;this course is perfect.

von ANKIT K

Jun 04, 2020

Suggestion: In some questions of CDC and SDC the correct options didn't contained all the literals. This is an advance level course.

von Vishnu T K

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course in VLSI tools design, that covers most of the basic algorithms and basic idea of tools.

von Raghul R

May 06, 2020

The course delivers whatever was promised. Assignments really were top notch.

von Vallabh B

Mar 28, 2019

The course is pretty good taught me a lot about CAD.

von Nithin R K

Aug 01, 2020

It was good experience to learn vlsi design

von Sidhant p

Jul 07, 2020

Gaining a huge knowledge

von Amr A E S

Oct 06, 2017

very useful course

von Vineela j

Jan 24, 2020

good

von Sai P r

Jul 04, 2019

Good

von Christopher D L

Jul 15, 2018

Somewhat hard to follow the assignments. I wish there was much building of skills than application on harder examples.

von NILADRI S S

Aug 05, 2020

they this people know everything....