Chevron Left
Zurück zu Paradoxes of War

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Paradoxes of War von Princeton University

4.6
585 Bewertungen
125 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top-Bewertungen

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

AM

Jan 28, 2019

Lovely course. Wonderful understanding of the Professor about War and its related implications. Thank you Professor. For the first time I fully understood the horror of holocaust.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 125 Bewertungen für Paradoxes of War

von Mark M

Aug 23, 2016

I appreciated the professor's clear and articulate lectures, together with the use of in-lecture questions to reinforce the main concepts.

I may not completely agree with all of the points raised by the good professor, but the perspective he offered on historical events was greatly appreciated.

I also appreciated that approaching the methods of war within different cultures would have required a much larger and longer course and so I am grateful to the professor for placing his focus where he did.

It is unfortunate that my timing in participating in this class reduced my ability to properly interact with other students during the progress of the lessons, but I have to accept responsibility for that aspect.

Still, I consider this to be one of the more exceptional courses offered by Coursera and credit that largely to the presentation skills of the good professor. I thank him for sharing his knowledge and this opportunity to consider a topic I would not ordinarily study in such detail.

von atta r m

Jan 28, 2019

Lovely course. Wonderful understanding of the Professor about War and its related implications. Thank you Professor. For the first time I fully understood the horror of holocaust.

von Henry-Claude B

Feb 28, 2019

I liked a lot this course.

Thank you for your humanism and bravo for yours skills.

von Catherine H

Mar 12, 2019

This is a really interesting and unique class! The professor is extremely knowledgeable about his field, and does an amazing job at explaining the sociology behind war.

von Ramon p

Jan 12, 2019

V

von Ning J

Mar 29, 2016

Great lectures. The course material spans from ancient warfare and tactics all the way to modern wars that involve atomic bombs and guerrillas. He not only introduces us to the history of western warfare, but more importantly he focuses on the relationship of war and society -- on how wars arise from societal needs or conflicts as well as on how wars shape and transform society. He strikes a good balance between addressing the paradoxes of war and avoiding getting too much in politics and ideologies of war.

von William M

Oct 05, 2017

This is an outstanding course. I was not sure that I would be interested in the topic, but it turned out to be a very interesting course. It is a course about the sociology of war, but it also covers some military history, philosophy of war and psychology of war, which gives it an intriguing interdisciplinary spirit.

von Olga L

Dec 11, 2017

very interesting view and perspective on a sensitive and difficult subject

von Filippo T

Apr 29, 2016

Really good! Great teacher and very good structure and arguments.

von Johanna Y

Dec 05, 2016

Just brilliant. After this course you'll get a comprehensive idea of war, and of the society itself.

von Ricardo R I

Nov 12, 2016

It's a extended introductory course. Very useful to first understanding about war, history and sociologycal issues related.

von Savannah D

Jan 03, 2017

This is one of my favorite courses I've taken. Its very interesting and I really enjoy the lectures.

von Gilberto d S V

Jun 21, 2016

good curse

von Joan M V P

Jun 02, 2016

One of the best academic experiences I had.

As a soldier I would recomend it to my fellow soldiers and to my civillian friends so they could understand a little better the paradoxes of war.

von Tim J

Aug 29, 2015

Great teacher, very passionate. Cheers from Australia.

von Ricardo P

Jul 12, 2016

Excelente. Ofrece una gran cantidad de elementos teóricos para entender el fenómeno de la guerra. Como historiador militar me resulta muy constructivo conocer la visión sociológica que ayuda a comprender y complementar mis investigaciones.

von Daniel

Oct 04, 2015

Curso imperdível! O melhor do Coursera até agora!

von Gustavo B

Dec 22, 2015

The professor is excellent, great didactic. Good material, readings and pictures to illustrate the course.

I would only suggest to try to not repeat the content on the classes, but I understand he was repeating some topics in order to state some points.

von Joan E F

Sep 01, 2015

A

von Arkadeep M

Dec 13, 2015

This course has been an eye opening one, clearly giving poignant insights into the life of a soldier, the nature of war and the role of societies in it!

von Madhavi S

Jul 01, 2016

P

von Carolyn S

Jun 02, 2016

This course is entirely riveting and imminently informative, timely, and important. Dr. Centeno is a wonderfully engaging instructor and he does an excellent job of discussing these often difficult, thorny issues with sensitivity, academic acuteness, and balance.

von Michael

Aug 11, 2015

Excellent

von Iskra K

Aug 30, 2015

The course was so helpful. I had the opportunity to develop myself in interesting for me area. Definitely recommend the training.

von cihan a

Aug 02, 2017

Perfect course.