Chevron Left
Zurück zu Paradoxes of War

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Paradoxes of War von Princeton University

4.6
Sterne
639 Bewertungen
149 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top-Bewertungen

DW

14. März 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

JW

11. Jan. 2020

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

Filtern nach:

126 - 149 von 149 Bewertungen für Paradoxes of War

von Clifford L B

16. Juli 2016

A different perspective of war that made me think very differently about the whole process and the reactions of people involved in any form of confrontational situation

von Gregg C

13. März 2016

Solid presentation of ideas that SHOULD be considered before entering a war -- but sadly are usually ignored in the emotions of a mindless mass moment.

von Belle S

28. Juni 2016

Good coverage and interesting lectures that provides a good history of all the warfare and on the social psychology. A fresh perspective I guess.

von Peter T

24. Feb. 2016

A good course and very interesting perspectives. A pity Princeton does not issue certificates.

von Derek D V

6. Sep. 2016

I loved the elaborate structure, but they should provide a certificate

von Krishaan K

3. Feb. 2016

Although long-winded, it is a fantastic course w/fantastic insights!

von samantha

22. Juli 2017

Great information shared in an easy to understand method.

von Smita P M

26. Jan. 2016

Great Course, explores the war in its different facets.

von Rahul

8. Sep. 2015

Good information. Good discussion forum. Recommended.

von Mustafa Ü

17. Sep. 2015

really introductal course ive utilized.thank you.

von Mike D

11. Sep. 2015

I love the idea of a sociological view of war.

von Zeynep B

14. Dez. 2019

Nice but sometimes becomes too repetitive.

von Fumio S

24. Jan. 2016

I did enjoining this program. Many thanks.

von Janis A

4. Okt. 2015

Good course, with a lot of information.

von Antoine C

16. Juni 2017

V

von Julie C

14. Jan. 2016

For an undergraduate course it's good - my only comment is on delivery - quotations given verbally might have been better if shown on screen to drive them home.

I hope the professor will do a military history course that analyzes war more particularly now that we have the broad strokes. My interest is piqued from this course and I want to know more about specific wars/battles. I am also interested in war prior to 1500, esp. ancient civilizations.

von Rui V

22. Sep. 2016

Weekly quizzes would be great!

von Erez B

25. Nov. 2019

too many cliches, too little substance

von Bill W

12. Juni 2018

The course content is very good and well delivered. Unfortunately, the forums are not replied to and you have to send months rejoining the close in order to get sufficient comments on your work to complete the course. In my case it took nine months just to finish, even though I completed the materials in under two months. It would be great if the backroom parts of the course were as good as the material and delivery.

von Christine L

2. Nov. 2015

It said it could be done on your schedule, but that is not true. I want to withdraw from this stupid course - it sucks.

von Wylie К י

20. Aug. 2015

My initial impressions are of astounding mediocrity. Amazes me how academic careers are made these days.

von Robert W M

4. Feb. 2016

After almost a year I am still waiting to receive my grade of 90%+ for c

von Diane L

22. Aug. 2015

New format makes it impossible to watch off-line.

von James M

7. Jan. 2022

Instructor manner is incredibly irritating.