Chevron Left
Zurück zu Water Resources Management and Policy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Water Resources Management and Policy von Universität von Genf

4.6
429 Bewertungen
105 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Top-Bewertungen

HK

May 18, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

AS

Apr 30, 2016

very interesting course, with good examples. Just the fact it is french with quizz in english makes it not that easy!!! Some of the module are just too theoretical. But nice, very good overall

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 103 Bewertungen für Water Resources Management and Policy

von Adrian G

Dec 12, 2016

It has a very interesting topic to know about, I only wish they could fix the subtitles to a more organic English

von Amin

May 01, 2016

Great Course

von Alexis C

Sep 18, 2017

Very good course content, varied and well developed.

von Pradip S

May 05, 2017

great course

von Julia A L

Jan 22, 2017

Through this course I was given a lot of information on water management policies throughout history. Sometimes the practical applications were difficult to visualize in a real-world context although there were many case studies shown (maybe because being from the U.S. we have a less politically complex system). A strong emphasis was placed on international laws that are relevant today. If I end up working within the water sector in the U.S. I expect that this knowledge will help me put my work into a broader perspective and help me find innovative solutions to problems. The translation of the script from French to English needs more work. Sometimes it took me longer to understand concepts due to poor translation or spelling errors.

von iveth k j

Oct 07, 2016

This course introduced me to new valuable concepts, that I find useful in my daily work. I liked tha clarity of most of the teachers. The case studies served to understand better the concepts presented. However, I would have liked to learn more about the situation regarding water resource management in South America.

von Tapiwa M

Oct 19, 2016

A highly empowering course in terms of Water management

von Spyros G

Nov 13, 2016

This was an interesting introduction to water resource management. I found it very useful to learn about the institutional regime, when having to face a multisectoral problem and the methods to address it. I particularly enjoyed the fact that there were numerous case studies discussed such as the Nile basin or the Mekong basin. In order for you to improve the efficacy of this course i would suggest the following measures:

a) a synopsis of the main laws and directives regarding the protection and management of water resource in the last course.

b) Further analysis on how to deal with certain general problems such as the case when a country upstream pollutes the waters that head to the country downstream, that you mentioned in your last video. I would like to see more examples of management of such a conflict

Thank you

von Héctor C V

Jan 23, 2018

Perfect

von Dante R

Mar 21, 2017

Great introductory course. The content covers current topics such as the Water-Energy-Nexus.

von Jethro S

Oct 31, 2017

An interesting course with some good introductory content. The mix of videos in French language with subtitles and handouts in English is a little awkward. As an English speaker I relied almost entirely on downloading and reading the transcripts, rather than watching the videos.

A few suggestions:

1) The wording of quiz questions should be reviewed as it was confusing/unclear (probably a translation issue) and made it very difficult to pass Module 2.

2) Recommend to also reduce the file size of some handouts (>20MB).

3) The course would benefit from some additional reading materials. Not too much, but a few more short, relevant articles or reports.

von J S K

Oct 23, 2016

An interesting course. Videos were in French but read the script in English to understand

von ABHIJIT G

Jul 09, 2017

A very useful course

von Daophet P

May 06, 2018

good

von Mbaye S

Sep 26, 2018

Un cours très riche en enseignements

von Daniel R

May 24, 2019

This course helped me to consolidate my basic knowledge of water management and international relations, while introducing me to a range of new concepts, policies, and legislation specific to the subject matter. The tutors were engaging and it was nice to see a range of presenters and interviewees to aid the learning process. I also liked the well-structured approach of introducing concepts and frameworks then using real case studies to illustrate.

The only drawback for me was the multiple-choice assessments - sometimes with rather vague questions and answers - and the need to memorise legislation and dates.

Overall though, an excellent, nicely balanced course for anyone interested in water or international relations involving natural resources.

von Nigel W

Jul 15, 2019

Great Overview of WRM! Just what I was looking for...loved the interviews and the different viewpoints on the effectiveness of different management systems. You should have a PodCast!

von Sahil G

Oct 07, 2019

The course was very informative and helped me understand different aspects related to water, the classes were really helpful in explaining the trans boundary aspects of water.

von Cale L

Sep 25, 2019

This course has a lot of extremely valuable information, the most I have seen in a Coursera course I have done. It walked me through a field I had very little knowledge on, had a lot of illustrative examples, and had excellent content. However, it is in French, and as an English speaker, I had some trouble with the translations. The translations were excellent quality, but for such a technical subject, very specific translation is needed, and sometimes this was slightly lacking with subtitution of very similar words, but enough to slightly change the meaning. Reading through the translations also, and adding in this factor meant that it was sometimes difficult to understand the context. The course is excellent, its just a little hard to follow for a non-French speaker at times

von Cécile C M G

Dec 06, 2018

A bit boring in the point in the course but it s nice to see a diversity in the lecturers

von Eveline V

Jan 24, 2016

Since I'm working on water modelling (computational fluid dynamics, programming shallow water simulations), I thought it would be fun to learn more about the political side. However, this course has very little in-depth information (pun not intended) and I would like to know more about the actual tools used to design water policies. Though the course is most likely too easy for most university students, it is also very abstract and I would have liked having to do a little more thinking on the real-world examples myself.

von Jeremy D V

Aug 24, 2016

Very interesting course, providing a descent overview of the whole water management and policy question. A lot of interesting examples are provided to illustrate the different points and various experts are interviewed throughout the course. I still believe though that the general message remains very generic and would benefit from further technical details to go more in depth. Also, the English subtitles do not always exactly match the oral French version.

Finally, the marking only based on quizzes that can be retaken several times makes it very easy in my view. I believe that assignments that would require more involvement from the students (e.g. maybe group assignments with other students?) or applications of the course concepts to case studies would greatly enhance the quality of the course.

Still, it remains a very interesting and well dispensed course!

von Maurits B

May 07, 2017

Good course, but the french language makes it more difficult to stay focussed

von Stephanie A

Dec 22, 2016

The information presented was interesting, and the instructors were engaging. However, I had major issues with the translation. It was completely literal, and often translated in ways that did not make sense. If I did not have a working knowledge of academic French, I would have been lost. Also, many of the test questions were unclear and did not follow best practices in test taking.

von STEFFEN P

Jan 12, 2017

Dommage pour le contenu du cours qui est bien présenté, mais le mélange français-anglais le rend difficile à appréhender correctement. Notamment, avec un très petit effort, les mini-quizes dans les videos pourraient être bilingues. Les questions sont assez courtes pour être présentées simultanément dans les 2 langues FR-ENG. De même, les sous-titrages devraient changer de langue (video FR - sous-titrage ENG c'est ok mais Video ENG - sous-titrage ENG est inutile ! p.e. 3.6, 3.7, 5.6 etc.). Et que dire des slides en majeur partie en anglais.

Bref c'est malheureusement un sentiment mitigé que j'ai à l'égard de ce cours (le 4ème MOOC que je suis). Je ne le conseillerai pas à des personnes non bilingues. Dommage.