Chevron Left
Zurück zu Water Resources Management and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Water Resources Management and Policy by Universität von Genf

4.5
399 Bewertungen
99 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Top-Bewertungen

HK

May 18, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

AS

Apr 30, 2016

very interesting course, with good examples. Just the fact it is french with quizz in english makes it not that easy!!! Some of the module are just too theoretical. But nice, very good overall

Filtern nach:

76 - 97 of 97 Reviews for Water Resources Management and Policy

von Ashish K

Feb 12, 2017

A very interesting course to understand what is happening in the space of Water Management and Policy at International level. A good mix of theoretical frameworks as well as practical case studies.

von Pradip S

May 05, 2017

great course

von Amin

May 01, 2016

Great Course

von Adrian G

Dec 12, 2016

It has a very interesting topic to know about, I only wish they could fix the subtitles to a more organic English

von Alexis C

Sep 18, 2017

Very good course content, varied and well developed.

von Héctor C V

Jan 23, 2018

Perfect

von Jethro S

Oct 31, 2017

An interesting course with some good introductory content. The mix of videos in French language with subtitles and handouts in English is a little awkward. As an English speaker I relied almost entirely on downloading and reading the transcripts, rather than watching the videos.

A few suggestions:

1) The wording of quiz questions should be reviewed as it was confusing/unclear (probably a translation issue) and made it very difficult to pass Module 2.

2) Recommend to also reduce the file size of some handouts (>20MB).

3) The course would benefit from some additional reading materials. Not too much, but a few more short, relevant articles or reports.

von Dante R

Mar 21, 2017

Great introductory course. The content covers current topics such as the Water-Energy-Nexus.

von J S K

Oct 23, 2016

An interesting course. Videos were in French but read the script in English to understand

von ABHIJIT G

Jul 09, 2017

A very useful course

von Daophet P

May 06, 2018

good

von Daniel R

May 24, 2019

This course helped me to consolidate my basic knowledge of water management and international relations, while introducing me to a range of new concepts, policies, and legislation specific to the subject matter. The tutors were engaging and it was nice to see a range of presenters and interviewees to aid the learning process. I also liked the well-structured approach of introducing concepts and frameworks then using real case studies to illustrate.

The only drawback for me was the multiple-choice assessments - sometimes with rather vague questions and answers - and the need to memorise legislation and dates.

Overall though, an excellent, nicely balanced course for anyone interested in water or international relations involving natural resources.

von Nigel W

Jul 15, 2019

Great Overview of WRM! Just what I was looking for...loved the interviews and the different viewpoints on the effectiveness of different management systems. You should have a PodCast!

von Cécile C M G

Dec 06, 2018

A bit boring in the point in the course but it s nice to see a diversity in the lecturers

von STEFFEN P

Jan 12, 2017

Dommage pour le contenu du cours qui est bien présenté, mais le mélange français-anglais le rend difficile à appréhender correctement. Notamment, avec un très petit effort, les mini-quizes dans les videos pourraient être bilingues. Les questions sont assez courtes pour être présentées simultanément dans les 2 langues FR-ENG. De même, les sous-titrages devraient changer de langue (video FR - sous-titrage ENG c'est ok mais Video ENG - sous-titrage ENG est inutile ! p.e. 3.6, 3.7, 5.6 etc.). Et que dire des slides en majeur partie en anglais.

Bref c'est malheureusement un sentiment mitigé que j'ai à l'égard de ce cours (le 4ème MOOC que je suis). Je ne le conseillerai pas à des personnes non bilingues. Dommage.

von Stephanie A

Dec 22, 2016

The information presented was interesting, and the instructors were engaging. However, I had major issues with the translation. It was completely literal, and often translated in ways that did not make sense. If I did not have a working knowledge of academic French, I would have been lost. Also, many of the test questions were unclear and did not follow best practices in test taking.

von Eveline V

Jan 24, 2016

Since I'm working on water modelling (computational fluid dynamics, programming shallow water simulations), I thought it would be fun to learn more about the political side. However, this course has very little in-depth information (pun not intended) and I would like to know more about the actual tools used to design water policies. Though the course is most likely too easy for most university students, it is also very abstract and I would have liked having to do a little more thinking on the real-world examples myself.

von Jeremy D V

Aug 24, 2016

Very interesting course, providing a descent overview of the whole water management and policy question. A lot of interesting examples are provided to illustrate the different points and various experts are interviewed throughout the course. I still believe though that the general message remains very generic and would benefit from further technical details to go more in depth. Also, the English subtitles do not always exactly match the oral French version.

Finally, the marking only based on quizzes that can be retaken several times makes it very easy in my view. I believe that assignments that would require more involvement from the students (e.g. maybe group assignments with other students?) or applications of the course concepts to case studies would greatly enhance the quality of the course.

Still, it remains a very interesting and well dispensed course!

von Maurits B

May 07, 2017

Good course, but the french language makes it more difficult to stay focussed

von Albert B F

Oct 13, 2017

quite boring

von Kaveh M

Apr 23, 2017

It is a poor course because is not properly designed for internationals. Language is mainly French in slides and subtitle is not that helpful.

Instead of spending time outside to read the notes, it was better to prepare helpful slides for students to understand better what you are talking about.

von Anthony L

May 27, 2017

Lectures lack clear structure.