Chevron Left
Zurück zu US Social Services Compared

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für US Social Services Compared von Columbia University

4.7
Sterne
111 Bewertungen
32 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In all nations, social policy is a very large public investment. Course 1 will explore the size, structure, and outcomes of U.S. social policy and compare this policy to those of similar developed countries. The course will also probe the values this policy represents and the values debate regarding about how big our welfare state should be— in other words, how much of our education, housing, health, income support, and social services the government should supply and how much individuals should supply for themselves. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

IL
9. Mai 2021

I learned a lot and very much enjoyed learning about the social policy. Thank you professor Robertson and all the speakers for their lessons taught throughout the course!

TA
26. Sep. 2019

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

Filtern nach:

26 - 33 von 33 Bewertungen für US Social Services Compared

von Codie J V

14. Mai 2020

Excellent Material

von Suhmer F

5. Okt. 2019

Excellent

von Mona A A

30. Mai 2020

GOOD

von Melanie H

22. Aug. 2021

The information was overall really helpful in giving a broad view of social policy, but it felt a bit shallow and I would have loved to dive deeper into some of the topics, or see more research to back up some of the analysis of U.S. social policy efficiency and outcomes.

von EMERSON O

6. Dez. 2020

This was a very good course, and I'm glad that I completed it. From Emerson Overton

von Smith V P

4. Dez. 2021

Gracias por este gran curso

von Aaron A

19. Feb. 2021

Good information, but fragmented presentation. The speaker, pop-up questions, and discussion questions often refer to discussions that either haven't happened yet or simply don't exist in the course. Also, you should probably find a companion book to flesh out some of the ideas in this course, because the content is very high level.

von WILLIAM M

16. Nov. 2021

I took the course as a general review of information I had not specifically studied in some time. It was surprising that so little new information was available. It seemed almost as if nothing had changed since 1990 when I was originally studying for my MSW.

I also found that some of the quiz questions were poorly worded or were unclear, more than one had a typo. The answer to the question on "means tested" meaning stated "enough wealth to LIVE themselves out of poverty-clearly meant to say LIFT.

Overall the presentations could use a good proofing-- I mean this is coming from Columbia University. Several slides have typos and even outright error or wrong word choices. "venerable" instead of vulnerable- Worker Safer? when it should have been safety. FOR used when the intention was FROM, several places in the document. What are the "really" choices? REALLY? obviously real was the correct word.

Sorry but it simply seemed sloppy, and generally I was disappointed in the overall course.