Chevron Left
Zurück zu Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications von Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
Sterne
1,143 Bewertungen
300 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top-Bewertungen

AP

19. Juli 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

9. Juni 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 304 Bewertungen für Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

von umashankar

3. Juni 2021

Very nice content

von NG, S L

20. Juni 2022

What I liked:

- Procedures for each tool are introduced clearly

- No off-topic lectures

- Each lecture's duration is appropriate

- The tutorial final quiz is helpful in consolidating our understanding of applying the tools

What needs to be improved:

- Describing the principles behind each tool (e.g. for CSI Phylogeny, I am only taught how to use it but I do not understand why SNPs are used for creating a phylogenetic graph).

- Some terms like "serology" and "SNP" are expected to be understood, so this is NOT a beginner's course as indicated (as of June 2022, these terms were also not explained in "Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods").

- Would rather have a fullscreen presentation than videotaping the lecturer with the background because the words on the slides were too small. Could emulate Zoom playbacks where lecturers share fullscreens and have their talking heads on the right hand corner.

- For the tutorial final quiz video, it will be more challenging and more likened to real life if the lecturer doesn't tell us what tools to use and their functions (I guess this is why it is a beginner's course haha).

(- Less important but Shinny's accent is sometimes hard to decipher and the transcript translates wrongly but I do not blame her since she is not a native English speaker. Suggestion: find someone to fix the transcript for people who rely on visual learning (i.e. reading transcripts)?)

--------------------------------------------

All in all, it definitely took some time for me to digest the applications and procedures for each tool. Luckily, when I really used them, they appeared to be user-friendly, so even if I forgot some steps mentioned in the lectures, I could deduce from the itembars.

Thank you to all lecturers for your knowledge!

von Catherine M

23. Okt. 2020

Can not even pass the first quiz, even with correct answers. The two videos based off the questions don't answer some of the questions if at all, and a google search or more in depth search revealed the correct answers, however the quiz continued to be incorrect no matter what correct answers you gave it.

von Piotr

29. Juni 2021

W​eek 1 videos just throw a bunch of acronyms, without explaining anything, not even in depth, but in their relevance for the topic of the course. Similiarly, later weeks continously bring more terms with little explanation of them and providing little logic how are they connected to each other. Quizes don't relate to informations from vidoes anyhow or do so only in some of questions. Quizes don't provide any feedback.

von Агапов А П

8. Mai 2022

D​espite the promising title, the course is mainly a collection of video tutorials on DTU's Center for Genomic Epidemiology web tools. The tools are limited to only epidemiological and pathogem surveillance application, may not be what you're looking for. The tools for NG sequencing of genomes and its interpretation are not covered at all. Wouldn't recomment to anyone not involved in genomiс epidemiology.

von Gail C

18. Okt. 2021

T​he assignments are very difficult and I dont think the lectures provide enough information to do the assignments. Dont recommend this course.

von Aedrian A

22. Jan. 2021

This is an excellent course, both in itself and as a state-of-the-art follow-up to the DTU's "Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods" course. This offering truly presents the expertise and the achievements of DTU in the field. The graded activities are interactive and a good review of principles in bioinformatics, using the homegrown free-to-use resources by the institution. Conventional routine microbiologists and academic scientists working in the field should own the relevant skills to generate and handle molecular microbiological data, and this course is a good place to start.

von Adewole A

12. Sep. 2021

I found the delivery of the course content quite interesting and the topics covered were perfectly explained to give both theoretical understanding and hands-on skills. The range of applications and tools covered on the DTU website will definitely be invaluable in carrying out detailed analysis of my sequence data. T​hank you so much for the wonderful course and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in bacterial WGS.

von Audrey V

21. Nov. 2018

I only just begin taking part in it and all I can say is I am enjoying it even though I am a bit behind schedule and my first attempt was 60%, I will try again and aim high with better understanding. Thank you for the opportunity and the financial aid that was approved for me to attend the course. I am determined to do my best. What I also like is the clear teaching or lecturing manner of all the presenters of the course.

von Kristine L C

9. Juli 2020

Thank you to the entire DTU team that made this course. It's a very informative course with hands-on work using CGE tools developed. Glad that some aspects of the course are related to my line of study and this brought me even more knowledge to my passion in microbiology. Hoping for more courses from you soon! Thank you very much!

von Tahmina B

23. März 2022

This course is very useful for bacterial genome analysis in respect of very technical and specialized identification of the resistant genes . I have learnt different skills from this course which will help my future research work in a large scale. Thanks to DTU team and Coursera team for this valuable course.

von Grigore-Mihaita S

7. Dez. 2020

It was a nice experience which i kindly recommend to everyone who is interested in improving their knowledge in microbial genomics, learning to use bioinformatics tools provided by the Center for Genomic Epidemiology but also to interpret the resulting data. Thank you for this amazing experience!

von AKM F H

10. Juni 2019

This is a really good course for beginners as it explained the use of some fantastic web-based tools to detect bacterial ST, resistance, plasmid, MLST, and phylogeny. I have learned a lot of new techniques to analyze the whole genome of a bacterium. Thank you for giving me the opportunity.

von Sebin J

9. Juli 2020

It was a great course which introduced me into the world of whole genome sequencing and application of various tools for finding bacterial sub-typing, serotyping of plasmids and constructing phylogenetics trees. Really satisfied with course and looking forward to more courses like this.

von Amro H

11. Nov. 2019

Thank you for the very helpful informative course. Very useful online tools. and great effort.

Only may we try to improve the English subtitles and attach answer for the quiz even at the end of the course?

Thank you again for all of your help, you are doing an OUTSTANDING job.

von MITESH S

2. Apr. 2020

The course was very much helpful for my current work and it helped me understand many things especially on data analysis front of whole genome sequencing of bacteria. I would like to thank all the tutors of the course for giving their time for the development of this course.

von Mohamed E 2

28. Juli 2018

Not to mention, the power of the tools illustrated in this course, I just wanna mention that I am senior student in bioinformatics bachelor degree and Dr. Pimlapas Leekitcharoenphon is by far the best instructor I have ever come across in the field till now. Thank you.

von Orlando R

2. Nov. 2020

Congratulations to the team preparing and delivering the course it is very well designed, organized, and delivered, the presentations are clear, the quizzes are very helpful, the tools are excellent, in summary, a very good course, thank you very much to all of you.

von Opeyemi U L

2. Feb. 2018

The module was easy to follow and the class exercises made it very easy to understand. I will highly recommend this course to microbiology students especially the ones without prior knowledge of basic bioinformatics for epidemiological study of bacterial infections

von Katya B H V

11. Mai 2020

I highly recommend this course, even for me a non molecular biologist/medical student, it was very helpful and very enriching. I am so grateful to all the professors for sharing their experience with us. I will keep an eye on the future courses of the DTU.

von Joseph A M I

31. März 2020

Very thorough course about WGS. They did a good job explaining from the beginning for those like myself that have very little experience. From there, they taught us how to use their web-based tools and even gave us little assignments to test our knowledge.

von Nimat U

20. Okt. 2018

Thank you very much to all the team of DTU for organizing this course and made it easy for every student/researcher to analyze genomic sequence data. This course was very helpful to me and I appreciate Dr. Shinny for her excellent teaching methodology.

von Sadia N M

21. Juni 2020

It has been an wonderful journey. The instructors clearly explained the topics and the course materials were helpful to grasp the topics they were teaching. Highly recommend this to anyone who is keen to learn about bioinformatic tools in simple ways.

von Uzma M

3. Feb. 2020

That was a very informative course for me. I would like to thank the instructors they teach us carefully and provide us a lot of knowledge related to gene sequencing. Now I would be able to utilize it into my research. Thank you, teachers :)

von Muskan K

19. Juli 2020

The course explicitly consist all tool of bioinformatics to demonstrate resistance and species profile of bacteria. Very nicely done each element is descriptive. Specially lessons by Pimplas Mam is outstanding. Happy to accomplish each task!