Chevron Left
Zurück zu Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications von Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
313 Bewertungen
77 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top-Bewertungen

MB

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

XL

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 78 Bewertungen für Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

von ALEXANDROS D

Jun 26, 2019

Very useful and helpful course to know how to interprete your results in different platforms and tools.

von Xiangyang L

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

von Adil M

Jul 01, 2019

It was highly informative and interesting. I enjoyed alot

von SONALI S

Aug 02, 2019

Coursera gave me confidence and information about latest knowledge. Many thanks to coursera

von 1806071

Sep 08, 2019

Very very informative course

von Sonia R Q Q

Sep 17, 2019

a complete an interesting course, thanks!

von Toyin A A

Sep 04, 2019

Its quite interesting and technical. i enjoyed it

von PC

Sep 25, 2019

A short but fun course to learn about the various tools and applications available for whole genome sequencing.

von AGBO A A J B P

Nov 29, 2018

perfect course . very instructive and well detail

von Lydia M

Jan 24, 2019

Such a good course which gives an overview to some of the bioinformatic tools that can be employed in genome sequencing. I'm glad I enrolled for this course because it has enlightened me of the other part of molecular biology I didn't know so much about.

So thanks to all the instructors that dedicated their time to provide us with new knowledge.

von Adeyemi S

Feb 20, 2019

Please, improvements on the bioinformatic tools and the zipped files will be appreciated, i had little difficulty opening and accessing them on my andriod device, however overall, the course was enlightening

von Matthew Y

Mar 03, 2019

Very much enjoyed the course and the practice problems involving Whole Genome Sequencing on the CGE website

von Bikash K

Jan 15, 2019

Very simple and informative

von Romain M

Jul 22, 2018

Great course, thanks

von Robert G

Aug 19, 2017

This course provides a first hand view of whole genome sequencing (at the contig level anyway) as well as providing the concepts and tools for characterizing and typing bacteria and their associated plasmids. The course reviews the concepts and introduces the tools needed for determining species, type, and association between strains of bacteria. This course is directed toward microbiologists who wish to learn about using whole genome methods to type bacteria. However, anyone can learn the biology behind these methods

von Ivonne G

Nov 20, 2017

I really like it. Easy and practical.

von Adrián L F

Apr 27, 2018

Es un curso bastante fácil para entender las herramientas bioinformáticas que tenemos actualmente para interpretar el genoma bacteriano. Curso muy recomendable para farmacéuticos, biólogos, médicos, enfermeros, biólogos sanitarios y demás componentes de las Ciencias de la Salud e incluso otras carreras científicas como Ciencias Ambientales.

von Ben W

Oct 24, 2017

Very informative course. Some practical exercises don't giive alwys the expected result.

e.g. pMLST of question 9 Quiz 4

von Yasser M

May 05, 2018

It is one of the best MOOC courses I have Taken.

von SHAMSUDIN A

Jan 13, 2018

A very interesting course. Simple and easy to follow. I learnt so much from the course. It has increased my desire to learn more about bacterial genomics.

von Maria S

Jan 05, 2018

Very good overview of the different CGE tools available for analysis of WGS bacterial genome data. Although it partly feels like pure advertisement of the tools and the videos describing usage of the different tools are very repetitive, overall the course gives a good insight. However, the instructors could put a bit more effort in answering the more complex quetions asked in the forum ins

von Sayan P

Oct 01, 2018

This course helped me a lot in determining bacterial typing. Just one question, in some quizzes I got some answers wrong so is there any way of knowing the right answer.

von Carol H

Apr 01, 2019

The information presented was very good in terms of content. Sometimes the accent of the tutors was difficult to follow and the English translation of the text for the presentations were not always accurate.