Chevron Left
Zurück zu Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications von Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
Sterne
1,144 Bewertungen
300 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top-Bewertungen

AP

19. Juli 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

9. Juni 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 304 Bewertungen für Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

von A. K K D

1. Aug. 2020

This helped me a lot to improve my knowledge in WGS and last especially like to thank Dr. Pimlapas Leekitcharoenphon for her superb teaching

von Dr. R K G

20. Juli 2020

An advanced, most relevant, balanced theory and practical weightage, a course with Crystal clear guidelines/instructions. Great experience.

von Fran S

2. Feb. 2022

An entertaining and enjoyable course, with theoretical and practical content with which the subject in question is learned. 100% satisfied

von Lakshmi T

8. Dez. 2021

Thank you so much for great resources and teaching. I greatly appreciate your help in supporting the scientists in analyzing the NGS data.

von Diyana I

20. Okt. 2021

It was straight forward, well planned and I learned more than just the applications introduced in this course. All in all, a great course!

von Sandeep K

18. Mai 2018

The contents of the course were really very good and with loads of knowledge. Thank you very much for improving my knowledge in this area.

von Lydia L

15. Mai 2022

Great course for beginners! Introduces the primary approach for bacterial typing and uses modern easy-to-understand bioinformatics tools.

von Javiera C A A

17. Nov. 2020

Me gustó el curso, sus herramientas me ayudaron a comprender y avanzar más en mi investigación de tesis, y estoy muy agradecida por ello.

von Mill�n A N

9. März 2022

I really enjoyed this course. I was really easy to follow and I learn about this platform that will be very useful for genomic analyses.

von Janet N D

13. Mai 2020

very informative, learn't new bioinformatic tools, Precise, crystal clear and fun learning sessions. Looking forward for more sessions

von Sasha L R

18. Jan. 2021

I learned a lot with this course, the activities have a lot of critical thinking and the instructors are very good teachers. Thanks.

von Md. E k

28. Mai 2020

The course provides a basic understanding and analysis of bacterial whole-genome sequencing data regarding antimicrobial resistance.

von SILVANA C C

24. Nov. 2020

It is amazing course!, Than you teachers! each module is appropriate and it is easy to understand and learn. Good topics to know!

von Kaksha S

23. Juni 2021

The course was great, I learnt to use all the tools related to whole genome sequencing in bacteria. Overall great experience.

von Gajanan T

15. Feb. 2021

Thank you so much. This course contains almost everything where we bridge microbiology with the current era of bioinformatics.

von amoulay

10. Juli 2020

Dear Instructors! Thank you very much for sharing this important information. Looking forward to the next course with you.

von Mahadi H

23. Juni 2020

It was so informative and engaging course. I hope it will help me a lot as I intend to become a researcher in this field.

von Morne G D P

11. Nov. 2021

A​bsolutely well designed and presented course. Loved the assignments, as they were very relevant and of a good quality.

von Nisahdi K M

14. Aug. 2020

Thank you..i learned lot about whole genome sequencing.thank you technical university of Denmark and coursera community

von Md S S

11. Feb. 2020

This is my first course and this a amazing course.I learned a lot from this course.wish you all a good luck.Thank you.

von Latifah D A

29. Dez. 2019

A good overview of the whole genome sequencing, by the end of this course you just need to learn about bioinformatics.

von Raquel B

13. Feb. 2020

Contents presented clearly, subjects deep adequated and consistent information. It was motivating and very useful!

von Sarah A

12. März 2018

one of the best courses ever i learned so many things in a short period. looking forward to your next course.

Thanks

von Van m

31. Okt. 2020

This cause helps me to understand how to analyze the whole genome sequence of bacteria. It is an excellent cause.

von Chuang W

14. Feb. 2020

a little bit difficult. but there are many practical experience and practical question in the lecture and test