Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Corporate Finance

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Corporate Finance von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
3,396 Bewertungen
603 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course provides a brief introduction to the fundamentals of finance, emphasizing their application to a wide variety of real-world situations spanning personal finance, corporate decision-making, and financial intermediation. Key concepts and applications include: time value of money, risk-return tradeoff, cost of capital, interest rates, retirement savings, mortgage financing, auto leasing, capital budgeting, asset valuation, discounted cash flow (DCF) analysis, net present value, internal rate of return, hurdle rate, payback period....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Oct 22, 2016

The professor is very patient, he spends a lot of time making sense of the equations and the calculation process, which helps me comprehend the concepts and their application really a lot. Thank you!

KK

Jan 04, 2016

Having spent the most of my 20 year career full time in corporate finance i was pleasantly surprised to have new perspectives and takeaway points on key aspects on the subject. Highly recommended

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 584 Bewertungen für Introduction to Corporate Finance

von Lutz E

Jun 03, 2016

Horrible. Like all Wharton Courses massively shortened and in this case also extremely dumbed down from the initial installment by Allen (of Brealey Myers fame) after he left Wharton. Corporate Finance has here been more or less reduced to a quick superficial glance at time value of money and investment metrics. If you want to learn anything about Corporate Finance, this is absolutely the wrong course. In addition have the passing requirements also been reduced to kindergarten level, so that passing this course is of absolutely no value at all (no, I do not exaggerate, it is truly THAT bad). My candidate for the lowest level course on Coursera. This is really a disgrace for Wharton. Avoid at all cost.

von celine

Jul 21, 2019

excellent course. just wish the answers of the tests could be provided at some point and some new questions included with other figures as I found it difficult to understand my mistakes at first.

von Anuj J

Dec 11, 2015

Very nicely explains about the corporate finance terms...The way Prof. Roberts explains makes it so simple to understand!! I feel very satisfied to have taken this course!! All the best!!

von Sharyn I

Oct 09, 2019

I thought the lecturer was very clear and concise and the presented content was useful and easy to digest. The problem sets provided great practice in applying the concepts. What's covered here is well worth learning. But I was disappointed to find that the course content was incomplete and did not cover many of the key concepts as outlined in the course description.

von Danielle L

Jul 23, 2019

The course was very difficult and confusing for me. The material did not match the quizzes. To input answers was a little tricky at times. I know it is an intro course but the info was too vague. There were not many opportunities to practice examples and such before quizzes. You may like this course, but for me, it took forever it seems and I did not get much out of it. Problem sets were missing and such. It is a good thing there are other sites online with help available or I do not think I would have ever gotten through this.

von PRASATH J

Jul 20, 2019

Giving 1 rating for course materials. Lecturer was not focused/sincere and blabber most of the sessions. He just reads the slides most of the time. Needs lot of improvement

von Moncef S

Jun 20, 2016

This course is not broad enough and does not cover many important aspects of corporate finance such as : cost of capital, risk management, corporate value creation...

von Anshul V

Jul 25, 2019

I paid 82 USD for this course, in that much price the content is very little, and boring, and i had learnt not much from this course.

von Adam C

May 16, 2017

It should be called intro to financial maths not corporate finance

von tom

May 25, 2016

Need upgrade to take the Quiz? Total Ridiculous!

von Luis A

May 03, 2016

Dry, quizzes do not represent material

von ADRIAN C

Nov 29, 2015

Excellent as an introductory course on the way to another course with more depth. I did this as a preparation for my Executive MBA course which will cover pretty much the same topic, just more in depth. Despite its brevity, the key concepts are the important ones and this lecturer builds up the information in easy-to-grasp steps. Would love to see this course extended into a more full-fledged unit with more comprehensive quiz questions that would help the student grasp the concepts even more fully. Would highly recommend this course to anyone. As my first Coursera unit, I am uncertain about the value of electronic completion certificate, so I did not pay for it - but as a pure unit for learning, it is really top-class.

von Ishraf H

Jan 01, 2016

Very useful course, if you're interested in finance, modelling, decision making through NPV, IRR, Break Even Analysis, Elasticity, then this is the course to take. Prof. Roberts is very eloquent and drives home the key points very well.

You'll also be able to get an understanding of how financial analysts need to work with other business departments (marketing, operations, strategy team etc), in order to arrive at accurate project analysis and evaluation (including identifying key value drivers in any project).

I highly encourage anyone interested in finance to take this course from Wharton. Also, don't forget to tinker around with the provided spreadsheet - it will really hammer home many key financial concepts!

von Paul M

Feb 27, 2016

Many thanks to Professor Michael Roberts and the course team for their excellent work and effort into developing this course. I am a retired director of corporate finance and accounting. I enrolled in this course with the goal of mastering the fundamentals of corporate finance. I have also successfully completed the Coursera Fundamentals of Finance Course from the University of Michigan, and I'm happy to report that both courses are excellent. Professor Robert's examples, illustrations, concept development and demonstrations were outstanding. Both courses use a different approach in teaching the finance fundamentals so it did not feel like a lot of duplication for me. Thanks again.

von Thinh P

Jan 18, 2016

This is a very basic introduction to corporate finance. The instructor's explanation is to the point and very easy to understand. The material is quite thin, however, but I guess since it's just an introduction, so the team want to make it accessible for everybody. I personally would like to have more exercises and quizzes to enhance the understanding of the subject (especially the material in week 3 and 4). I think there should be more emphasis on week 3 about free cash flow since I believe it is the highlight of the whole course.

I look forward for a more advanced version of corporate finance from Wharton.

Thank you all for providing this high-quality MOOC.

von Rony H

Nov 25, 2018

It's a great introduction course! I finally learned the practicalities of different terms I have been encountering daily in my field of work. However, it would've been much more informative had their been more real-life practical exercises to solve! Also, I found the second part a bit confusing especially that I have limited knowledge in accounting terminologies. So, the student would find that part more relevant if they had some background knowledge in accounting.

But all in all, it was good course. Looking forward to advance my knowledge in finance in the future:)

von Kristen L

Aug 19, 2017

This course is absolutely fantastic. I enrolled a week ago and have been so engrossed in the content that I am already almost finished with my week 4 lectures. The professor, Michael R. Roberts, is phenomenal at making complex topics relatable and easy to understand. I consider myself decent at general math and critical thinking, but came in with very little corporate finance knowledge. As a result of taking this course, I already feel more confident speaking to a new side of the business in my current role as a L&D program manager.

von Eszter G

Mar 09, 2017

I am totally satisfied with the quality of this course. Professor Michael R Roberts explanation and teaching method is clear and logical. The videos and slides are easy to follow and in spite of the fact that I had no experience in finance, and mathematics is my weak point, I enjoyed this course very much. From my personal perspective, in comparison with other courses of the Business Foundations SpecializationIntroduction to Corporate Finance was the best and I highly recommend it to others.

von Dayo-Dunmoye, D

Jul 18, 2017

The first time ever I took a Finance course enjoyed it and really look forward to it. By the time I was done I kept asking myself. "Did I just finished a finance course?". I believe the modules were structure to deal with the skills necessary to determine the efficacy of investment decision using the methodology of time value of money was key. leaving out every other distraction was sweet!

I will take any finance course if its deliver this way. Coming from an Engineer this is 10 stars.

von Frank N

Dec 05, 2015

Very solid introduction. Materials were covered well and slides and excel file were very helpful. I would very much look forward to continuing this class if there were a longer or 2nd section. While I was familiar with some of the advanced features in excel under the what-if tools, I imagine from the forums and in general that it could have helped to either spend a couple minutes explaining them or pointing to some existing online help.

von Vijayakumar M N

Dec 22, 2015

A great course that teaches you the time value of money and the three important financial tools DCF, IRR and Pay back period to financially evaluate projects. It also covers topics such as - how to estimate the Free cash flows in the actual business context and how to use sensitivity analysis in connection with DCF. It covers the merits and demerits of the three tools. Overall, a great course taught by excellent teachers.

von Diego B

Feb 04, 2016

Excellent. I'd rather prefer the "tablet cash flow" example to be more paused and deep in order to review the long list of related concepts (that way, the corresponding quiz questions could be much more complex and interesting); also, a contrast to the cash flows as used in accounting would be in order. I've checked wikipedia and those approaches seem to be complimentary but more advise would be useful.

Thanks!

von Shriya M

May 04, 2017

This is a brilliant course which touches upon the basic and intense nuances of finance. With the apt examples taken up by professor and the repetition of the course material from previous lectures, the lectures have been made easier to grasp and imbibe. Thank you for sharing this course, coming from a non corporate background it has taught me significantly more than I already knew about finance.

von Vishal K

Dec 15, 2017

AMAZING COURSE!!

Difficult and dense concepts explained succinctly, lucidly, very methodically and with total clarity.. deserves 10/5 stars!

It doesn't make me an expert in corporate finance, but makes me much more confident of the terminology and the jargon used in the domain. I took copious notes for my reference and will refer back to them in the future if I ever need them.

von Amy W

Apr 01, 2019

Incredible introduction to the core concepts of Corporate Finance. Professor Roberts presents his information in understandable real-world examples, turning an exciting topic into a fun, wonderful few weeks of learning. This course, far more than many others, has helped develop my passion for finance, and grow a level of confidence and understanding in the field.