Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Operations Management

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Operations Management von University of Pennsylvania

4.5
Sterne
2,092 Bewertungen
453 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn to analyze and improve business processes in services or in manufacturing by learning how to increase productivity and deliver higher quality standards. Key concepts include process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels, and more. After successfully completing this course, you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

AJ

Oct 28, 2018

This is an awesome comprehensive operations management course. Although, the course in an introductory course, it covers pretty much everything you need to know about operations management.

EA

May 03, 2019

I liked how the Professor explained different terms of Operations and Quality. This course will help me apply this knowledge of looking inside an operation and finding out the bottlenecks.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 440 Bewertungen für Introduction to Operations Management

von Nicholas J C

Mar 13, 2019

I understand that if you're reading this, it's probably already too late, but if not, I'd strongly advise that you research better opportunities to learn this material.

First, the presentation is poor. This feels like it would be a state of the art course in 2007, but is very archaic now. The powerpoints are sloppy, there's no editorial oversight, the audio quality is very bad, and it is harder to focus than it needs to be. They need the instructor from the Corporate Finance course to come in here and teach this team how to make a powerpoint that's legible.

Second, which is a problem I've had with other Coursera Wharton products, is the disconnect between the lectures, the practice, and the assignments. Things are left out or left to your own intuition, and you're on your own. The discussion forums are a great idea, but are totally neutered by the Coursera Honor Code which forbids students from discussing the assignments in any real detail. The Mentors are largely useless due to this limitation. This course should take note from the Financial Accounting course, which was similar in difficulty but worked you through every step of every possible problem type, and met you with challenging but doable assignments.

Third, is basic quality control. There are typos, self-contradicting statements, etc., that have remained unfixed in this material over the course of years (lectures are six years old I've gleaned). I'm astounded that Wharton is willing to put its brand name on a packaged product of this quality. Ironically enough, you're often sitting through a lecture about process integrity and quality assurance-related topics.

In sum, my experience in this course was mainly fighting against the class itself, not the material. Trying to figure out what the question means, what it's asking, rather than doing the math or remembering whatever function or logical process. It's really disappointing to have spent all this time on this course and the Business Foundations certificate program, when the utility per hour is so very very low. A complete rework is in order, if for no other reason than to get the instructor a new mic and have some grad assistant put together a nice sharp powerpoint instead of forcing students to read chicken scratches (which don't remain on the slides, so you better take really fast notes!)

von Sophia T

Nov 25, 2017

Out of all the business foundations courses, this was one of my favorites in terms of content and real-world application. I enjoyed learning about the main operations management concepts, but the tests and exams were extremely frustrating and difficult to pass. I spent an unimaginable time each week on HW and exams (way more than the estimated time) in order to pass. Not only were almost all questions open-ended, but problem questions came in sets, so if you got the first answer incorrect, you had a slim chance of passing on the first try. Additionally, since calculations involved a number of steps, it was painstaking to figure out where in the process you went wrong. Finally, some problem sets introduced new and different scenarios that were never discussed in the videos. Even after re-watching videos and reviewing practice problem multiple times, I could not understand how to adjust for the change. The only thing that helped was reading user questions on the discussion forum, which required a lot of time.

von Jack

Apr 08, 2020

I passed this course only because I had taken another operation management course (in order to pass this one). In that another course, each terminology is explained in detail and provided with clear examples. As I can recall, two or three terminologies are explained in a 15-min course. However, in this course, more than 5 terminologies are given in a less-than-10-min course without sufficient explanations, examples.

The homework&test in this course are challenging, which is great. However, I would suggest some hints be given after every incorrect answer. To me, W2 is the most frustrating one and this is when I start to take another similar course.

Instead of giving up, I take responsibility for my learning and that's why I try so hard studying for this course. Interestingly speaking, most of my knowledge about operation management are learned from other courses. I hope that this course could be made better.

von David F B

Oct 23, 2019

I take many online courses, including specializations and long courses. This is the course that I liked, it may have been developed many years ago but that teacher is admirable, his way of teaching is impressive, he is the best teacher I have had by this means, I would like to do more courses with that teacher. Even as the subject is part of my professional career, it would be an honor to one day be able to take a master's degree, even if it is blended (online course that has a face to face section), or in any case have the opportunity to take a postgraduate degree with such excellent teacher. He has an excellent mood and also makes what seems complicated very simple.

GRACIAS!! from Bogotá, Colombia!

von Boitumelo S

Nov 27, 2016

This course has really opened my mind to things that I did not actually think would have an impact in the production industry. I have learned a lot more especially in the operations industry. I work in the Operations department of the Telecommunication in my country and I have learn some tricks of how to manage an operation. I have learned that when there is a defect in to the production, we need to find the root course instate of masking the defect and then rectifying the problem. I have also learned that we can also be able to calculate a resource that has a bottleneck and measures that can be taken to reduce the bottleneck.

von Yulia H

May 02, 2020

When I started this course I expected to be joining another course online like others: easy to follow, just passing because of seeing the videos, etc. However, what I found was a super complete course, with videos but also with a big level of exigency and the requirement of hours of dedication and concentration to be able to complete the modules, its assignments and exams. After completing it, I understand what operations department is and how it works, I learnt basic concepts and (what I thing is the best part) I was able to make calculations and resolve problems I didn't know I would be able to do.

von Jingxia P

Jan 11, 2016

I had taken another operation analytics courses from Wharton Coursera, so I was thinking this one may be just another supplemental course. However, out of my expectation, ALL material thought here are very extensive and need a lot of effort to pay attention to.

I especially like the format that the professor provided, i.e the review and example explanation sessions, just like TA office hour in the real world.

I also admire the way the professor explain the material, very serious and thorough thinking! Maybe this is the way how German treat knowledge, very cool!!

Five starts definitely!!

von Sushrut D M

Apr 05, 2016

This is 3rd year engineering student form IIT Bombay. Attending this 4 week course is one of the reason which is making me to consider "MBA in operations management" as a career option after the graduation. Also I can understand that every point the instructor is making may have application in day to day life ( unlike engineering where we solve lots of enthalpy equation ignoring many energy loses). Also examples of subway and McDonald made easier to imagine the process and understand the topic well This course also encouraged me to attend more courses on operation management.

von Aishwarya P

May 12, 2019

the materials were very informative and the thing that helped me the most were the practice problems which if genuinely solved will give very deep understanding help get through the exams.

von August M

Aug 04, 2019

Interesting course. I feel that it could have been condensed a bit and more specifications were needed to answer some of the homework questions.

von Vanessa A D S M

Oct 06, 2019

For every person that is thinking on taking this course/Specialization. This is supposed to be an Introduction to Operations Management but the deeper you go through the weeks it gets a little bit more confusing. If you watch and understand the videos that's great but if you get lost and want to have a better explanation of how the professor came up with a result that is going to be difficult. Some of the quizzes and exams are redacted in such confusing way is really hard (at least to me it was) on how to approach. I tried to look for help on the forums for each week but it was even more confusing at times. Mentors don't give an answer that you can deduct just by reading at it and some people seemed to be desperate for a clear clue on how to solve a problem. I understand no answers can be posted but just going around in circles trying to figure out a solution to a question is time consuming and exhausting. I really struggled to get pass this course and I was hopping I could make it just because I want to get the Specialization. If you still want to try it out good luck and may the force be with you.

von Kenneth C

Feb 07, 2019

i know the content is not only useful and directly applicable, but the gap between the texts and homework vs the lecture videos is too far removed. its clear from the number of example case studies provided that the explanations in the lectures are insufficient in giving the depth and detail needed to fully understand the principles, consequently it makes the homework and tests far too complex. I found it further more, extremely frustrating that there was no further resources other than the videos provided and the associated example homeworks from which to get further information to better my understanding and therefore actually pass the tests and homeworks. the discussion forums were not helpful in furthering my understanding of where i was going wrong an why, and simply added to the frustration. i feel like this course would have been useful as a supplement to an in-person course, but without deeper explanation and some FEEDBACK on where and how i was going wrong, its frustrating. very disappointed.

von Erin M

May 27, 2016

I had a desperate time on the first graded module's Final (module 2) and after repeatedly asking for help to understand what I was doing wrong, I was at a loss. After HOURS of reworking and having to enroll in the course TWICE, I was finally able to pass the first final, but still am lacking the feedback on what I was doing wrong as to LEARN from my mistakes. I certainly wasn't asking for anyone to do my work, but it was obvious that I needed help with that particular section. And as it appears from the NUMBER of discussion threads on this course, many others were in my same boat. I have taken all 4 courses and this was the only one where I was worried I wouldn't have the support and knowledge to complete the first task to even MOVE forward with the course. Just disappointed in this one process, overall I have really enjoyed these Foundation Courses.

von Ana R

Oct 02, 2017

I did not like this course at all. The teacher is not good and its very hard to follow.

The course is complex, and it is even harder with the teacher's tone of voice, the audio is not good. The teacher goes through the concepts really fast and asumes a lot of math operations, so I had to repeat the videos millions of times.

Then in the practical material, things are done differently than what the teacher said earlier.

It took me a lot of time to finish this course, it was exhausting.

The teacher could learn about the other teachers, for example, Bushee, he has to explain algo complex topics but manages to do it in a dynamic way, algo the teachers of Human Capital are quite more charming.

von Sayo A

May 25, 2020

I'm very frustrated and disappointed with the course Introduction to Operations Management. I've gone through the course materials several times and yet I am stuck on week 2, unable to pass. When I go to the discussion groups, it seems everyone is stuck on those questions but we have no help. We get vague answers/replies. Can there be examples that speak directly to the quiz questions or alternatively, provide quiz questions that align with the course content? You give us one example in the content and then give quiz questions with unique twists. Many of us are just learning these concepts and this course is very frustrating.

von Francesca M

Mar 31, 2019

The layout of the course is too cumbersome. There's too many videos, practice videos, practice problems, homework quizzes, and then final quizzes. The courses should all be structured the same, have the videos for each week and then a quiz at the end. Since the course is supposedly designed for beginners , the material needs to reflect that. This course seems like it would be better suited toward someone who already has some knowledge in the field of operations management. The best designed courses in this series has been Intro to Marketing and Managing Social and Human Capital.

von Debdulal K

May 19, 2020

The Exam questions were not easy to clear. I will suggest that each Weekly session may have suggested solutions of a range of problems so that learners find it comfortable to pass the Examinations . it is Not an easy subject.

von Karolina S

Jun 16, 2016

Its week 2 and I am done. I was really looking forward to this course but quizzes are impossible to pass. Some hints and better examples would be great. Note: this is not an intro to ops management

von shubham t

Apr 12, 2020

solving questions was very challenging for module 3

von Martina H

Dec 03, 2019

Horrible

von Amy W

May 27, 2019

Incredible introduction to Operations and integral concepts for business functions outside of Operations. Having absolutely no prior statistics or probability theory education/knowledge, this course established said concepts through direct and easily understood practice problems and examples. Professor Terwiesch presents coursework clearly, providing visual working examples as he goes through the problems. I must say that professor Terwiesch is the only instructor yet whose humorous commentary contributed tremendously to the course content.

For me, there is nothing more exciting than productivity and efficiency. This course taught introductory methods for quantifying efficiency, establishing opinions and observations, and using said observations to further make efficient the process. A genuinely exhilarating insight into business processes.

von Timour A E E

May 22, 2020

Very well thought out. Clear, precise and rich in content. There are plenty of excercises to practice. I mean, in each module, so each week, you have a detailed review session (with generally 3 to 4 exercices with on average 3 questions each) followed by 2 other exercices on video followed by a homework session (generally 3 exercices with 3 questions each) and then the exam for the week. This is a great opportunity to practice and I really enjoyed it.

von Clifford N A H

Apr 15, 2020

I loved how the professor made his examples as practical as possible. I have now learnt some lean tools i can safely apply in real life. I had some few issues as to which format to present certain answers especially for those questions that were silent as to which answer formats were required (whether in decimals or percentages). All in all it was a great course. I look forward to completing other courses in the Business Foundations Specialization.

von Benoît C

Oct 27, 2016

A bit frustrating not to have the correct answers of the test when we fail, but it pushed me to redo them again and again until I figure out what the correct answer is. This is actually the best way of understanding and remembering the course content.

I really enjoyed doing this course as I discovered new knowledges and skills I had overheard before but never taken the time to learn.

Great course! I highly recommend.

von micah a

Feb 15, 2018

I really enjoyed the content of this course. The various aspects of operational optimization were explained very clearly and in an engaging manner. My only reservation about this course was how difficult the quizzes and homework were at time––especially in comparison to the relatively more straightforward in-class examples. All that being said, I am very glad I was exposed to this content. Thank you very much!