Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
6,490 Bewertungen
1,295 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 1,268 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

von santhosh k

Jul 31, 2017

Course Content is designed in such a way that it is very easy to undertsand the concepts. Although being an engineer I already have insight about these topics, this course has given a structured way of undertsanding and interpreting things which is really a great value addition in decision making. A must course for all those who want to pursue MBA or those interested in Decision Making.

von peter a

Jun 08, 2017

Excellent, clear presentation. One would be well advised to know pre-calc beforehand. This would be a more complete course if multiple math exercises were offered as well as more detail about the math formulas. But the concepts are well presented, and one can still pass the tests without being a total 'math-head'. The transcripts of the lectures could really use editing.....really!

von Shreshth V

Nov 18, 2019

It was an amazing course. I could understand how to make sense of the data available using regression modeling and other mathematical modeling concepts. This course has taught how I can use data available to predict certain outcomes based on confidence intervals, to forecast the future possibilities and to optimize the data to pursue required objective. It is a really helpful course.

von Agasthya R

Apr 20, 2020

A great and widespread introduction to the fundamentals of quantitative modeling. Prof. Richard Waterman explained all the concepts exceptionally well with different scenarios & the accompanying tests helped me gain a practical sense of understanding of quantitative modelling. I would definitely recommend the course to anyone looking to learn the fundamentals of financial modelling.

von Mar G A

Aug 28, 2018

It's a very basic course on quantitative modeling. This is perfect for those who forgot their statistics class or their Quanti subject in MBA. Hehe. Like me. It's a refresher.

What I liked about this course and the professor is he uses business language and applications so that your model can be easily understood, or how would you present your model to your audience or your boss.

von Gopi K H

Apr 23, 2017

This is an amazing course modelled to know the nuances of quantitative modelling. I would request the course moderators to include excel sheets with the given models done. Especially it would be helpful for me if you were given how to make practical use of logistic regression in cases like buy or not buy a share, take or not take a subscription sort of examples. Thank you.

von Ricardo S

Oct 24, 2017

Very clear exposure of topics. Professor is a master of the topic and delivers it with joy and enthusiasm. The subject is sometimes dense and potentially boring at this phase (before real application and manipulation of models), but the course material keeps the key concepts front and center, which I think is a great way to build solid foundation for the student. Thanks.

von Priti A

Oct 30, 2019

A wonderful and well-structured course for any beginner in the field of quantitative modelling. Professor Richard Waterman introduces even the complex topics so smoothly and effortlessly that a student can understand it in a single sitting. Grateful to the coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for putting together such a brilliant course up. Deeply thankful.

von Sam P

Jul 25, 2020

Very informative however was also very information-dense (which is not necessarily a bad thing). I had to watch things multiple times to get a good grasp on concepts because things were run through too quickly. That being said, information was explained clearly and the course helped me develop a more detailed understanding of models and their functionality. 5/5!

von Nikhil T

Sep 29, 2019

This course sets the foundation for the quantitative modelling. All the techniques introduced in the course were well planned with a lot of examples to learn from. I also like the use of numerical questions in the quiz. The course really helped me understand the basic of what modelling is all about. I thank coursera and Wharton online for offering such a course.

von Soumya S

Jan 15, 2020

Mr Richard Waterman is an amazing professor. The way he explained the topics and kept coming back to previous examples by introducing slight changes in it to raise its difficulty level a notch higher is worth mentioning. Furthermore, this course added to my knowledge of basic models and encouraged me to continue other courses in the specialisation.

von Yannick N K N

Aug 29, 2019

I was very surprised and pleased by the quality of the content since I was not expecting such a high quality of lectures. Very well explained with good examples. And if all courses of the specialization in Business and financial modeling are that high, I really think that I will feel totally confident to apply this knowledge at work if needed.

von Grégoire N

Feb 10, 2016

Very good introduction to Business in general (stats, profit, elasticity...). Many topics are approached and it was very interesting to refresh my memory on important modeling concepts that I encountered during my bachelor.

Very well explained, without being too detailed, the focus is on the main characteristics of business modeling concepts.

von Marika B

Mar 23, 2020

Very Informative and organised course for those who are beginners in Model building. I have been introduced not only techniques but the idea of interpretation data analysis and usage of models to represent underlined story in a most realistic and reliable form. Thanks to Coursera and Wharton Online for great opportunity and funding!

von Rajat A

Apr 02, 2018

The instructor was a bit robotic and boring in his delivery and it was a bit too technical. I would have appreciated if the instructor would have explained the concepts more clearly and given a couple more practical examples. Overall, it's a very good course, worth the money and time and I will highly recommend people to take it.

von Janice N C W

Jan 20, 2019

A very good introductory course to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modelling. Professor Richard Waterman's explanations are clear and concise. Definitive examples makes it so much easier for students without mathematical backgrounds to grasp the concept and encourages us to think of applying these theories to real life problems.

von Sinduja

Feb 13, 2019

I really enjoyed learning with examples. There were certain aspects of basic modelling which I was unaware of but the specific illustrations and characteristics of the basic modelling techniques really helped me enrich my knowledge.

One thing that stayed with me "All models are wrong but some are useful".

Loved the teaching!!

von Godwin S C

Jul 08, 2018

Very insightful course. Will recommend this for any student. One will need to read the recommended book earlier on in the course the appreciate and understand the course more, especially if your stats and probability is a bit rusty or absent.I enjoyed the examples in the course as well. Very practical and I can relate to them

von Ronan H

Jul 16, 2020

This really is the first course I have seen which truly deals with understanding the intuition behind the fundamentals of quantitative modelling, rather than just giving the math. For someone comfortable with the topics, you may find it's a slow pace. But for someone looking for the core understandings, I would recommend.

von Fernando N

Dec 13, 2018

As the name of the course states, we went through the fundamentals of quantitative modeling. I come from an Economics background, so the course was not very challenging but the quality of the course is very high and I do see how other people with no background in business/finance/economics could immensely benefit from it.

von Nihal D

Mar 31, 2018

A great course conducted by a great professor! I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in learning about Statistics and the fundamentals of how it's used in modelling. If you have a perpetual fear of math, don't worry, this course is made super simple by the professor and even a Math novice can ace it.

von Christopher D

Nov 19, 2018

I would say that this course requires a good understanding of mathematics. This course deals with numerous concepts related to statistics. The teacher does an excellent job of explicating these concepts, yet students may need external resources (i.e., Wikipedia, Youtube, etc.) to aid in the understanding.

von Ivan D A G

Dec 20, 2018

Gracias por permitirme tomar este curso, ha sido de gran ayuda para complementar mis conocimientos financieros y en especial conocer como se estructuran los modelos financieros desde identificar la data hasta optimizar el modelo/función. Me servirá para trabajar en optimizaciones de procesos de negocio.

von Evette T

Oct 05, 2018

It was challenging but the tutor's pace of speech was measured (and you can always rewind) and the examples were practical. I can't say I completely understand but I'm definitely starting to think more logically and have more of an understanding of what models to use for different scenarios. Thank you.

von Xuan W

Sep 18, 2018

It is a very helpful class to introduce the basic quantitative theories and terminologies required. The difficulty of the class if perfect for the people who doesn't have any financial background but having some mathematical background will certainly help in understanding this course.