Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
6,261 Bewertungen
1,250 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 1,225 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

von Xueyao J

Apr 11, 2016

Very informational Course! As it slowly progresses from the easier and more basic concepts, the instructor has help us to build a strong foundation of the topic. Recommended for those who want to review statistics, maths and economics, and very look forward to the further courses!

von srividhya r i

Jan 13, 2019

This was a very good learning experience for me, I was able to visualise the need for modeling, linear regression, univariate and multi variate. My only feedback is if the course could more numerical problems or how to arrive at R2/RSME numerically. But otherwise, a great course!

von Patrick K

Feb 17, 2018

Many thanks for an impressive course delivery! Great use of graphics, examples and spot--on explanations. Dr Waterman breaks down the concepts (which have a rather discouraging sound to them) into little bits which a rookie in maths and statistics like myself can chew and digest.

von Sahil K

May 06, 2020

The course was really good. One thing that I would like to highlight is that professor does not interact much on the screen. Could have been a better course had the professor highlighted the graphs through some pointers on the screen as done in other courses provided by Wharton.

von Hina M B Z

May 25, 2020

Seriously one of the best courses i have taken online. I had nearly forgotten the least squares method and i finally recalled it. The explanation is amazing, the applications are simple but in-depth conceptual. I wish our Statistics professor in our university taught like this.

von Vishnu S K

Apr 29, 2020

As a total newbie to modeling, this course has tremendously helped in setting the base for further learning. The syllabus is basic and needs no background, except some very basic calculus to understand the mathematical functions.

I found the course very engaging and helpful.

von Andrew A E R

Apr 27, 2020

I loved the course, beautifully explained and tests are awesome. I guess I learned a new skill. Thanks, Coursera and Wharton university for proving this awesome course. I also would like to thank my course master Richard Waterman for his insights and teaching on the subject

von Misha A

May 10, 2017

Very well taught course with relevant examples from industry/business. Clear guidelines on the practical usage of the theory being taught.

Hopefully the upcoming courses in the specialization delves deeper into the concepts taught and strengthens the information provided

von Maxwell P

Jun 08, 2016

Professor Waterman presented the material in a clear and concise manner. This course is a great refresher to basic quantitative methods, and does a great job introducing more complex methods as well. Following courses build directly upon this one, so I highly recommend!

von Lai K C

Feb 29, 2016

The learned instructor Mr Richard Waterman is great in explaining sophisticated mathematical/statistical terms or concepts in simple, concise and easy-to-understand way. Great and useful for mature working professional who are out of touch with mathematics/statistics.

von Pawan C

Jul 18, 2018

A wonderful way to learn the fundamentals of modelling, specifically if one is new to the subject. The best part is that the explanation is very crisp and its easy to understand even complex fundamentals. Go for it guys and you will not regret the investment of time.

von Joswa A

Apr 07, 2017

The course is really comprehensive yet very simple to understand. I like how he explains every lessons with examples on how to use this functions and formulas in modeling. Hope to finish this whole specialization courses to further understand financial modeling! :)

von Samik D

Jun 07, 2020

This course was delivered succinctly, and with a great explanatory way. I was going back to Statistics after many years, and also learning some new things in terms of basics of Regression Modeling, and this course has definitely rekindled my love for Statistics!

von Eduards G

Apr 12, 2020

Perfectly summarized key concepts of quantitative modeling in an easy to understand manner. Professor very articulate and the learning modules very well structured. Great real world examples.

Quizes allow for broader understanding of the obtained knowledge.

von Justin F

Jun 07, 2017

Great introduction to modeling techniques. Regression was covered the most in-depth, but it would have been nice to see this coverage extended to the probabilistic graphical models discussed briefly in the beginning. Still a great short course to take.

von Rob P

Sep 26, 2017

The tutor for this case is great. Everything explained thoroughly with real world examples throughout that help to ground the more abstract mathematical concepts. For anyone looking to get their head around modelling for Business I'd highly recommend.

von Sahil T

Aug 21, 2019

The course is well structured and easy to understand. The instructor of the course was very enthusiastic and knew the subject thoroughly. I recommend all those who are planning to understand quantitative modeling from the basic to attend this course.

von Sayed A S

Aug 03, 2017

I have studied the same subject in my MBA program with a different teaching method, the study materials of this course is designed based on the need of the students, I have learned so many things after the completing the first portion of this course.

von Ashutosh S

Apr 11, 2020

This introductory fundamental course if properly designed to provide a broad understanding of the quantitative models used in business. The method of teaching and the usage of various practical examples by the instructor is very good. Recommended.

von Myat-Hsu " M

Jun 26, 2018

Lecture is taught in a clear and precise format and the majority of quiz questions come straight from the corresponding lecture. As a result, I was able to receive above passing grades with a good amount of effort and knowledge learned in class.

von Kamran W

Jul 22, 2017

Learned a lot about quantitative modeling. Much better understanding of regression modeling including the insight on how sometimes a residual could be a good indication of an opportunity of an underpriced asset. Very clear explanation of E(Y| X)

von Emre B

Jun 07, 2020

This course paved the way for me to understand the basis of quantitative modeling, not only conveying the statistical features of modeling but also explaining how this core knowledge could be very practical when applied to real-life situations.

von Vishal N

Apr 24, 2017

Videos and PDF notes are excellent - brief, direct, to the point. Current and good use of timing. Good quiz questions that test your understanding. Really enjoying this course compared to others attempted. would definitely recommend. thank you

von José L R C

Nov 15, 2019

You learn the essential concepts needed to understand an apply various models to your data.

I like the fact that it wasn't very immersive about calculation details, but focused on the importance of each type of model, when and how to use them.

von Shubham B

Apr 15, 2020

The course offers you a learning edge in Quantitative Modelling and also makes one understand the basics as well as the interpretations, the valuation techniques, the predictors, etc. which plays an important role while modelling a scenario.