Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modeling Risk and Realities

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Modeling Risk and Realities von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
1,554 Bewertungen
207 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Useful quantitative models help you to make informed decisions both in situations in which the factors affecting your decision are clear, as well as in situations in which some important factors are not clear at all. In this course, you can learn how to create quantitative models to reflect complex realities, and how to include in your model elements of risk and uncertainty. You’ll also learn the methods for creating predictive models for identifying optimal choices; and how those choices change in response to changes in the model’s assumptions. You’ll also learn the basics of the measurement and management of risk. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to build your own models with your own data, so that you can begin making data-informed decisions. You’ll also be prepared for the next course in the Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

JN

Apr 13, 2018

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

LC

Dec 19, 2016

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 200 Bewertungen für Modeling Risk and Realities

von Joe V Z

May 25, 2017

Slides were not useful.

von Anna D

Feb 27, 2017

Mostly useful practical advice and examples on how to use Excel to model risks and realities. Week 3 was not very good as it was a quick overview of basic statistics which is incomprehensible if you have no previous knowledge and useless if you do.

von Valentin Z

Oct 02, 2017

There are good and bad things to say about this part of the "specialization". The good ones (in general thanks to Sergey) are that sometimes during this course you learn something new and useful. But not much... One can hardly say that you will get some sort of "specialization" through these 5 courses. It's highly inconsistent. I'm sorry to say that but it's not the Harvard level of education (at least I hope that the Harvard level is much higher). This part is still far from the wonderful introduction by Professor Waterman. And the 3rd week of this part is a total fiasco: we all know how to read, and mechanical reading from the screen by the teacher doesn't give anything for knowledge. I also didn't understand the part about 'time constrains' as a pretext to describe only normal and uniform distributions (we can read anywhere about these two probability distributions... but where is the value-added product of the teachers?). I would say that selecting the same (very long) range in Excel with a mouse cursor seven times in one lesson is total waste of time that could be spent more effectively. At last, the final quizes are sort of childish: the questions are written in in a very bad style (apparently to complicate understanding) but the real answers are mostly simple arithmetic...

von Marek N

Nov 04, 2016

Good practical examples of the concepts. In general, seems to me that the courses of the specializations do not fit together well. At times, basic things mentioned elsewhere are repeated, some others are not explained sufficiently.

von Jordan L

May 24, 2018

Very difficult to understand the professors, and I would have wished for more demonstration on excel, rather than explanation through slides.

von Ao Z

Nov 19, 2017

希望课程内容可以再深入一些

von Deleted A

Feb 12, 2017

Basic Course.

von Zeming Y

Jan 13, 2018

okie not that great

von Brendan C

Jun 04, 2018

quiz should be unlocked. Some concepts could be explained better.

von Irina K

Aug 06, 2018

Only the first lecturer was good. Where are clear excel examples for Week 3, 3.2? You know that students have been complaining over 7-8 months and did nothing! It's a total waste of money.

SERGEY SAVIN is the BEST!!

von André I

Oct 06, 2018

the quizzes are not really helpful/relevant.

von Zijian D

Dec 02, 2018

The second lecturer only read all the text in lecture slide.

von Daniel B

Aug 07, 2019

This course had a mix of high and lows, professor Savins pieces felt more connected to real life examples to help illustrate the concepts whereas Professor Veeraraghavan felt more like a math class and very disconnected from real world examples.

von Evan H

May 21, 2019

Some concepts were hard to follow.

von Brendan G

Oct 17, 2019

I wish after each quiz it would show you how to get the right answer then generate a different question when retaking the quiz. You cannot learn without knowing what you did wrong.

von Natalia B

Mar 16, 2019

Although great content, I found that the week three has been more theoretical with not enough detail. I still manage some key concepts, but I would have love to understand more how to use in practice the theory.

von Charles C W

Mar 24, 2019

Too basic for the subject matter. Didn't learn anything I didn't already know.

von Xin C

Feb 22, 2017

Not very helpful for stat major students

von Davide B

Aug 07, 2016

Basically i resume of economics concepts that can be taken for granted as a prerequisite of the course

von Andrey T

Jul 03, 2017

Could be more content, and quizzes are really stupid - it's just plugging in numbers!!!

von Bertrand R M

Aug 15, 2017

very poor qual

von STEVE S

Apr 11, 2018

I do not recommend this course or the specialization. I will cite below sentences from the course and you can be the judge yourself.

*** start of cited sentences ***

if we plug in the expected values … we get fifty thousand times ninety, plus nine hundred thousand times ten, plus one hundred thousand times six, plus one hundred fifty thousand times two …….

*** end of cited sentences ***

The professor was actually reading this calculation:

500,000*90 + 900,000*10 + 100,000*6 + 150,000*2

I sat through 3 courses to realize that I should have dropped it in course 1 week 1.

von Pramit S

Jun 01, 2016

The distributions were not well explained, it could have been handled in a much better way!

von Tommy O Z X

Apr 23, 2017

very watered down

von Siddhi S

Apr 18, 2018

The expllanation for Week 3 is very poor. The professor fails to go into details and leaves much to assumption. A better understanding of reading the statistical tables and more detailed explanation of the pdf and CDF functions are required.