Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science von University of California San Diego

4.4
Sterne
2,056 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the online course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

AD

25. März 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM

27. Feb. 2021

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

Filtern nach:

426 - 450 von 474 Bewertungen für Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

von Neeraj G

10. Feb. 2020

The course was very basic for me when I compared the material with the book of Discrete Mathematics

von Shashwat P

4. Sep. 2020

Last week was a bit confusing because the concept of permutation and cycles are mixed I guess.

von Ambarish B

24. Aug. 2019

The lectures aren't good and the assignments are not well explained as to what we need to do.

von Erickson N R I

25. Okt. 2020

I didn't really get the lessons. The instructors weren't confident in teaching their topics.

von Hea R W

17. Sep. 2019

The quiz were all very interesting, but sometimes it was hard to understand the lecturers...

von Trần C L

19. Okt. 2019

Good course with many interesting quizzes although it is lacking of clear explanation

von Megui

23. Apr. 2020

Last 3 weeks were not engaging at all, the first 3 were amazing (my opinion)

von Ghali L H

9. Sep. 2020

Explanations of Puzzles are not always clear.

Week 6 is very complex.

von sathyamoorthi M

9. Juni 2020

Good explanations .Last two weeks aren't clear enough to understand.

von Shambhav A

3. Aug. 2020

lectures, particularly by alexander vhen, were good!

von Jamil R

20. Mai 2020

language is not clear always ..it can be better

von Joseph G R M

28. Juli 2020

I didn't understand clearly the use of proof

von RAJ K S

23. Aug. 2020

Explanations not clear

von YIHONG J

17. Juni 2020

The course is fun!

von JAMI S V L T

30. Nov. 2020

Good Mind teasers

von DELA C J K (

25. März 2020

HARD

von Robin H

5. Nov. 2020

Interesting but needs MUCH better instruction. I'm sure the people teaching this really know their stuff but the students need to be able to understand it. Not even considering the heavy accents making the instructors hard to understand at some times, the instructors are just not good teachers. In order for someone to be a good instructor they have to know the content AND be able to explain the content so that someone without knowledge of the content can easily follow and understand. I felt like most of what they said was reading or paraphrasing power point slides and this course seemed more like a 'review' course for someone who had already been taught the concepts previously. Many times the course flow seemed unorganized as well. Having to program was also a problem when the course was not supposed to have prerequisites as a 'beginner' course. I want to take more courses in this specialization but am worried to do so since these guys teach the other classes as I'm sure the instruction will be pretty bad as well but further complicated by more difficult concepts.

von Maria S

6. Apr. 2021

The instructor seems super nice and friendly and smart, buuuut. I'm not sure if there is a more methodical way to teach this material, I just find the presentation of the puzzles very frustrating. It's not really clicking for me to keep watching examples, and after a couple of weeks, I still feel like I'm not really learning anything -- just feel like I'm watching someone show me 'tricks' to solve puzzles in the hopes that some pattern will suddenly spark a light bulb. At every step of the way, I keep thinking 'nope, still not getting it', 'nope, that hint didn't work for me', 'nope, you're gonna have to explain it all the way to the end'. I can't help but feel there has to be a better way to teach mathematical thinking...

von S. U

9. Aug. 2020

Interesting topics, lots of puzzles, but lacks structure. Lectures are well-prepared, but as someone new to this space, I would have preferred a bit more structure to the learning, with a clearer idea of how we would incorporate the concepts into something more than simply solving odd parlor trick puzzles.

As it stands now, I'm not confident I would recognize when I would be able to deploy any of the skills/concepts taught in the course. A shame, because the instructors are easy to follow and engaging.

von Araik B

28. Dez. 2020

I came out of that with a 100% and was confused from start to finish. Some of the classes did help in regards to the other programming class I took.

The beginning message that you do not need to know anything other than algebra and basic math was way off.

I don't feel like i got much out of this specific one but it is part of a package so we will see how the rest develop - usually its by the last class im like OH THIS IS WHY

von Andrés M

3. Juli 2021

As much as I liked this course, I wouldn't recommend it. I felt there was a language barrier, using sloppy English for an academic environment. Pronunciation was often hard to understand. And I found the teaching methods often to being too rough in the spirit of being more "challenging". Definitely not what I was expecting from an North American University.

von Jeffrey W

3. Nov. 2020

Not great quality of teaching. They made lots of assumptions about what you knew and could have explained things a lot more comprehensively. They also made a lot of mistakes In their speaking, and corrected them with numerous on screen corrections, which made It hard to get Into the flow of the class.

von DINKAR S K 2

27. Mai 2021

The course itself is good. Easy to hard problems. But the external tools which helps you in solving puzzles does not work. So, you will be unable to get through the course. This may be perfectly OK if you care about the grades, but not if you really want to learn.

von Nijat A

29. Okt. 2020

I personally think the content could have been better structured and explained - I had to frequently refer to other materials on the internet to understand some of the concepts. Also, the programming task in Week 6 is not designed for a beginner such as myself.

von Ian L

3. Sep. 2018

I got stuck for ages on the last puzzle where you cut the squares, because it was not obvious that the middle square was not supposed to be counted as the shape - it looks like a grid of 9 squares.