Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science von University of California San Diego

4.4
Sterne
2,052 Bewertungen
476 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the online course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

AD

25. März 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM

27. Feb. 2021

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 473 Bewertungen für Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

von Eddy P

22. Sep. 2018

There are many very interesting cases in this course! I will definitely recommend it to others!

von Andrew M

26. Okt. 2017

A great introductory course and well organized. You can feel that professor loves mathematics.

von Anup K K

27. Apr. 2020

Just the last Bonus Track problem please give some hints how to approach and solve the problem

von Radmilo M

6. Apr. 2020

The course is perfect for those which want to learn math on deeper level in computer science.

von Dr R L

22. Apr. 2020

Good content but little problem phase in python programming

von Feyaz B

8. Mai 2020

Covered all the basics, I learnt a lot from this!

von Sowat H R

27. Apr. 2020

Highly recommended for beginners.

von SANKALP J

6. Mai 2020

Good and Nice way of learning

von Nick E

22. Apr. 2020

Really enjoyed it. Thanks!

von Devang K

4. Juni 2020

Awesome and Interactive!

von Shyam M

5. Mai 2020

I just loved the course.

von Ujjwal K

3. Mai 2020

I learned to think!

von Devanshi C

9. Mai 2020

It was awesome 😊

von Vanshika M

23. Apr. 2020

loved learning

von lilass h

25. Apr. 2020

thanks

von Ethan H

15. Juli 2020

Good overall, but week 6 in particular was below my expectations. The students should not be answering questions in order to correct errors in the lecturer's phrasing; you should simply do the sensible thing and re-record the lecture, ensuring accuracy before posting. The final (albeit optional) project of the course is to write a solver for the 15-puzzle. This involved some graph theory self study, since graph theory is out of the scope of this course. A hastily explained intro to graph theory during the final lecture without slides is not sufficient to prepare the students for this task. I would strongly suggest a revision of the entire 6th week.

von Rob R

17. Sep. 2021

I​ found some of the questions difficult to understand, but I couldn't tell if my misunderstanding was because of the concepts being new, or if the wording of the question was just odd. The course might benefit from a second pass by a native English speaker on the quiz portions - test are already incredibly stressful even when they are super clear. Aside from that though, the course was great. I learned a few new ways to look at problems which I think will help me in my day to day work. I found the instructors very knowledgeable and funny as well.

Keep up the good work!

von Ridesh R

10. Juli 2020

The Course is Good overall but the entire lectures in Week 6 is not clear to me . Alexander sir done a great job in Week 1 and 2 but not that great in Week 6. Even though I re-watched the lectures again, I can't able to get full information given in the videos......I struggled so much in Quiz questions of Week 6...

von Olga V

20. Feb. 2022

I generally liked the course. However, it wasn't clear from the beginning that you need to know how to code before starting this course. This was a rather upsetting discovery, as I was under the impression that I will learn how to code during this course as well as get a better grasp of mathematical thinking.

von Farid H

22. Dez. 2018

The last one was a little bit hard, still couldn't write the code for the 15 puzzle game. Did it just by intuitive trial error

von Timothy L

21. März 2018

Broken English and an inflated $79 to take practice tests, but the professor is knowledgeable and makes proofs fun.

von Gaurav M

8. Juli 2020

Week 6 could have been improved, apart from that excellent!!

von Amritya V D

12. Feb. 2019

very very fun way to understand simple things

von Sebastian M

29. März 2020

I definitely learned a thing or two about types of proofs, but this class could have been constructed much better. The biggest flaw was that even after going through the entire course, the professors only rarely connected the material to computer science, despite the course being called "Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science". I appreciate their approach of "solve puzzle" -> "learn about relevant proof to be able more efficiently solve similar puzzles" but the course would be better if they tied each concept into computer science / algorithms etc at the end of each section. Beyond that, there are some general course construction issues. The professors often make mistakes in the videos, but rather than actually fix the videos, they just put a comment screen over the video pointing out the error. Speaking of the comment screens, they often ask questions relevant to the lecture, but they cover the whole screen and you can't actually see the content they are asking about, so you have to skip the question, go back, and then let the comment screen appear again before you can reasonably attempt to answer the question; this is an annoying process. To improve this, the content needed to answer each question should be shown within the comment screen itself.

von Daniel S

19. Jan. 2019

Some of the explanations of concepts was just not clear and there were many verbal errors and some really odd editing in many of the videos. Overall the quality of this course is so so.