Chevron Left
Zurück zu Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Wonders of Ancient Egypt von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
876 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top-Bewertungen

VE

10. Juli 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

SJ

13. Apr. 2022

It is a great second part of the series of courses about Egypt from Prof. David. Silverman. Highly recommend the course to all those who found value in the first course from the same professor.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 289 Bewertungen für Wonders of Ancient Egypt

von Almir M M

23. Aug. 2021

very good

von Bepari S T T

26. Apr. 2020

Excellent

von Daniel P M

5. Aug. 2018

Excelent!

von Patrik F

8. Apr. 2020

Amazing!

von Alexis F

5. Apr. 2020

SO GOOD

von Emil

27. Apr. 2018

D

o

n

e

i

t

!

von Victoria S M

24. Mai 2020

Great

von Xavier M

24. Feb. 2019

TOP !

von WenYu Z

23. Okt. 2018

真的很感谢

von Домрачев Е В

22. Dez. 2017

meow

von Claudette D

15. Mai 2019

A

von Paraskevi G

13. Nov. 2017

Extremely interesting follow-up to the previous course of Penn uni on Egypt! Although it does require knowledge of that course, it is not hard to follow even without it. Information is easily comprehensible and accessible. The lector is easy to comprehend, very knowledgeable and provides many examples but it is obvious that he reads his speech from a screen in front of him and that makes his lectures rather stiff and less enthusiastic. Also, I would prefer it if the hieroglyphs were explained phonologically as well for better accuracy but they are actually presented in a more accessible way for the general public and extra bibliography is provided for those interested in the topic.

von Meguid E N

8. Apr. 2020

Excellent mini course.

I wish it was more comprehensive.

I didnt necessarily like the video clips style...; having 10 videos clips of apparently 7-10 minutes but in reality more like 3-5 minutes, if one excludes the credits and acknowlegments, is distrupting to learning. Three or 4 clips of 20 minutes each would have been more valuable.

The reading list is excellent and in particular the essays of the MMA.

The quiz is perfectly pitched.

Thank you very much for a useful learning experience.

I will try to enroll as a mentor!

von Simone L

17. Mai 2019

A worthwhile course that goes well as a sequel to Dr. Silverman's Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization. It's a little uneven in information density. And the problems with editing causing anomalous quiz questions are still there, though less than in the first course. Once again, there was insufficient proofreading of the transcript, but I always reformatted and corrected each transcript immediately after watching its corresponding video, so I used this as a technique to reinforce the information!

von Nabeel M

10. Juni 2021

fantastic course with great information - like the intro course it suffers from a few issues such as the subtitles are more harmful than helpful, mispelling and representing information that is not only wrong but sometimes the opposite of what it means... sometimes the delivery also is a little confusing... but overall I am thankful for this course and the wealth of information it gives us. thank you David

von Michael A

22. Juni 2020

Great material if you can hammer through it. The content is great; but be forewarned that the professor is very stilted in his speech pattern and this can be disconcerting. It helps to view the videos at 1.25 or 1.5 speed to accommodate for this. Otherwise, I really learned a lot. I MOST enjoyed the section on hieroglyphics and even tried to practice a few of them on paper. Have fun with this one!

von Oliver G

24. Juni 2020

A good course that looks at Ancient Egypt, like the other course that the Pen does on Ancient Egypt I think the videos could have been a little longer and more fleshed out in terms of content. Still it is another quick and easy course with some very interesting parts like the introduction into hieroglyphs and the look into the various burial methods of the Ancient Egyptians.

von David D

27. Juli 2021

T​he material is interesting but in some parts a little dry. Lovely pictures which illustrate the monlogue but sometimes they changed a little to fast to really appreciate. In fact a suggestion to improve the student interest is to focus the image less on the static lecturer and more on the wonderful material, or perhaps vary the lecturers as is often done.

von Asante T

14. Aug. 2020

This is a really great course about one of the most interesting civilizations in human history. The topics covered are engaging and well-organized, and the attention to detail is admirable. I particularly enjoyed the opportunity to learn to write hieroglyphs, and unearth some ancient mysteries that tell a dramatic tale of ancient human life.

von Kofi D

9. Okt. 2020

For all lovers of ancient Egypt, this course gives kind of an opening scene to culture, architecture, and other facets of the ancient kingdom. I look forward to continuing my pursuit of the subject and hopefully some day the online course will take on a virtual reality exposition into the museums and on site into the valley of the kings...

von Tanya H

11. März 2018

Very interesting course, but the flow of the lecture videos is seriously disrupted by the inclusion of the credits for the entire week's lecture videos, which sometimes takes up as much as half of the video time. This was fixed in the more recent course of this type, but the videos in this series could use a re-edit to match.

von Lucy H

10. Nov. 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this course as it gave me something interesting to learn since finishing university.

I would suggest making the lectures a little more exciting as something they can seem very monotone.

I really enjoyed the hieroglyphs and was impressed with Dr Silverman's skills of writing backwards!

von RESSE B

10. Mai 2019

Nice class, I particularly enjoyed the part 5 and 6. The part about the hieroglyphes could have been very interesting also, but you should try to "bring (more) life" (di-'nx) to these videos. But any wayn thank you for your workd, it was nice to study from this mooc.

von Richard F

5. Jan. 2022

V​ery clear and straighforward course. The visual illustrations are excellent. I would have liked to learn more about the tools and techniques of the Egyptian craftsmen and architects. However all in all I found it a very satisfying introduction.

von Josef P

27. Okt. 2021

Great content, pictures as well as informations, but somewhat unclear division of videos in parts and very long and I think redundant of final titles in videos (I guess the titles - attributions - create the half of some videos).