Chevron Left
Zurück zu Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Wonders of Ancient Egypt von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
876 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top-Bewertungen

VE

10. Juli 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

SJ

13. Apr. 2022

It is a great second part of the series of courses about Egypt from Prof. David. Silverman. Highly recommend the course to all those who found value in the first course from the same professor.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 289 Bewertungen für Wonders of Ancient Egypt

von F M

3. Apr. 2022

The course is magical!

Prof. David P. Silverman motivates and inspires us to learn not only history of Ancient Egypt but also art, culture, medicine, and he also dispels some myths and establishes real facts. I am very grateful and highly recommend this particular course to anyone who has this inner sense of belonging to Ancient Egypt

B​est wishes,

M​aria

von robert s

20. Dez. 2020

A fascinating history continuing on the excellent first course by Prof. Silverman — but more focused on religious and funerary rituals, architecture and magic, ancient Egyptian language, and the 18th Dynasty that includes the reign of Tutankhamun — that also gives an introduction to writing, pronunciation and grammar of hieroglyphics.

von Noelle C

12. März 2021

This was field with fascinating facts and informative references from art, architecture, ancient culture, traditions and even linguistics. I throroughly enjoyed it and learned an immense amount I had not previously known. It’s re-ignited my interests in Egypt and I continue to follow recent news of discoveries. Well done.

von Angela C

6. Juli 2018

10 stars if I could. I loved this course. I learned so many new facts. I think Mr. Silverman was a great teacher. He explain so many things perfectly to help understand. I would love to meet him if ever in Philadelphia. I have so many questions about what he experienced throughout his career. Thanks so much Mr. Silverman.

von Gloria R

18. Apr. 2022

A​ thoroughly enjoyable and engrossing learning experience. Dr. Silverman is an authority on the Wonders of Ancient Egypt and the experience of taking the course makes me want to go back to visit the Penn Museum and continue learning about ancient civilizations. I recommend this course without reservations.

von Rishita D

4. Dez. 2018

If studies can be made so easy and readily available then I think we should not limit ourselves just what we are taught in schools and colleges. Let the door of knowledge open up to all. The course has indeed helped me to learn and kbow something which i always fancied. Now i want to learn more. Thank you.

von Eilidh M

18. Feb. 2018

This is a really interesting course, which I would strongly recommend to anyone who has the slightest interest in Ancient Egypt and its culture. Particularly interesting were the lectures about hieroglyphics and the tomb of Tutankhamun. I am overwhelmed by Dr. Silverman's knowledge about this subject.

von Geng Z

23. Dez. 2020

This is an amazing course that brought me on a tour of ancient Egypt across it's art, culture, history and architectures. The videos/lectures are perfectly paced and clear. No doubt a very rewarding and eye-opening course and highly recommended for however fascinated by the ancient Egypt.

von Harriet R

21. Juni 2020

This has been a really fascinating and engaging course. The materials have been clear and relevant, and the subject matter has been incredibly interesting. Professor Silverman's videos are easy to follow and understand, and are paced well. I really want to take the companion course now!

von Ravishankar T

6. März 2022

I vowed to study Ancient Egypt, thanks to this course. The content has been presented so succinctly yet interestingly and profoundly. I will probably visit Egypt this year, around 22nd October. Whenever I visit the US (my daughter lives in Houston), I will make a trip to Philadelphia

von László S

13. Jan. 2018

A very thorough course. I recommend to anyone interested in this wonderful culture. I enjoyed every minute of it and the knowledge gained here will be useful to me in my own art history presentations. Thank you for the essential knowledge and I wish everyone a lot of success!

von YOGESH.B

9. Aug. 2021

HI, I am Yogesh. I studied this lesson from India. I love reading about history .It was very useful for me. I got to know Ancient Egypt and its rulers and people well. I hope it will be very useful for me to join the archeology in my country ….. Thanks COURSERA 😊😊👍

von Akhilesh S

30. Mai 2018

Thank you Dr. Silverman and the staff of Penn university for this excellent course. This course, along with the 'Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization' course, provides a detailed and delightful introduction to the world of the Ancient Egyptians.

von Andrea M

4. Juli 2020

A really good course. Maybe is not like a class but more like some data giving. Though, if you put attention, you can learn interesting facts of Egyptians. Also, you can see that professor master the subject, and that's quite nice. Congrats and thank u.

von AMANDA M H

29. Nov. 2017

Excelent! I love It Very muchas And i ' ok but This course.

I like Very much study about Egypt Civilization, their religion, society, culture, ritual. I' mais From Brasil, but This is The Second course by teacher David P. Silverman. See you Soon gere!

von lou l

6. März 2022

Like the first course, Introduction to Ancient Egypt, professor Silverman's class was fascinating. It provided a great insight into Ancient Egypt and its mystieries. Very enjoyable and rich experience. Thank you. Awaiting the next chapter!

von E R

1. Mai 2021

The content was so interesting and provided a great introduction to Ancient Egyptian civilisation. Also, the fact that deadlines and tests were set helped keep me on track as well as motivated. Would definitely recommend this course!

von Connie L

30. Apr. 2021

This is a very good follow up course to the first one on the History and Chronology of Ancient Egypt which I completed. I took it because of the interesting topics in this course relating to the different aspects of Egyptian culture.

von Yash M

27. Juli 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the learning imparted to me and came to know about a lot of uncanny but fascinating facts about the history of Egypt. The whole experience quenched my desire to know about the wonders did in ancient Egypt.

von Michael F T

27. Juli 2020

A good introduction and overview of many aspects of Egyptian civilization. Very much enjoyed the concise, yet wide-ranging, discussions in topics such as art and religion, magic, the Amarna period and burial practices.

von Dana C

24. Apr. 2020

This is my second course with this professor. The course was very interesting and held my attention throughout. The subject matter was clearly communicated and I learned a great deal about Egyptian history and culture.

von Genevieve M

30. Okt. 2020

i loved this class! thanks so much to penn for making it available & to dr silverman for sharing his time and knowledge with us. i learned so much. if they offered more classes i would take them. i highly recommend it!

von Melanie D M

31. Aug. 2020

Absolutely loved this course! Much respect to Professor Silverman and his team for putting out such a fantastic curriculum. I have learned so much and wish to continue to do more such courses with University of Penn!

von Chelsea B

25. Sep. 2020

Dr. Silverman is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to Ancient Egypt and I could probably listen to him talk about the subject forever. Lots of fun learning about Ancient Egyptian art, hieroglyphs, and more.

von robert l

20. März 2018

This was an excellent course; containing in a few hours of lectures a great amount of learning and information. I learned how to write my name in hieroglyphics! I wish there were more courses on this subject.