Chevron Left
Zurück zu Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Wonders of Ancient Egypt von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
814 Bewertungen
267 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top-Bewertungen

VE
10. Juli 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
25. Sep. 2020

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 267 Bewertungen für Wonders of Ancient Egypt

von Fernanda A

20. Jan. 2022

It was a beautiful and interesting course to learn about the wonders of ancient Egypt, magic, rulers, discovery of king Tuthakamon tomb...

von Christina B

8. Dez. 2019

Wonderful course which took me back in time. I've learned so much! And week 6 was the most exciting learning of Tutankhamun's discovery.

von Mary P

14. Apr. 2018

Very Interesting course about Ancient Egyptian life. Lectures were easy to follow and it isn't too time consuming. Thoroughly enjoyable!

von Lucy I D L R T

12. Nov. 2017

Disfrute y aprendí mucho, me encantaron las imágenes proporcionadas y conocer los jeroglificos de esa manera tan didáctica y sencilla.

von Julio R

13. Jan. 2018

I want to thank professor David fo such a wonderfull explanations in all of the aspects of the course I really learn and enjoy it ¡¡¡

von Feride E A

30. Okt. 2020

It was a wonderful experience to learn about ancient Egypt. Phrase of Prof. Silverman's is fantastic. Thank you all for this chance.

von Juan B L T

15. Nov. 2020

I have loved this course, I never believed that the knowledge of ancient Egypt was so enjoyable and so productive ... Thank you

von Charlene B

13. Feb. 2019

Very Well done Course. Dr Silverman knows his history and how it plays a role in the development of the story that is Egypt.

von Debra V

25. Feb. 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned more about Egyptian civilization than from any documentary or travelogue.

von Fatima F

24. Mai 2018

I really enjoyed the course. This was the second from Penn University I attended to. High quality, meaningful course.

von Christianna H

11. Juni 2020

This was a really fun course to take over the summer and I can't wait to show my students everything that I learned.

von Shalini N

6. Juni 2021

It was very detailed and insightful! Definitely satisfied my curiosity to learn more about Ancient Egyptian history

von Hugh B

22. Aug. 2020

Very informative and enjoyable. May have inspired me to look into careers in egyptology. Just all around very good.

von Jen R

29. Feb. 2020

I know have enough information to teach my year 9 class Ancient Egypt with this course and the intro course Thanks!

von Raquel S

28. Aug. 2021

Wonderful course. I enjoyed every minute, and really loved all the content presented and the reading suggestions.

von Andrew R

24. Nov. 2020

A wonderful course for anyone interested in Ancient Egypt, and of course King Tutankhamun. I highly recommend it.

von Guy I

4. Mai 2021

The course was great, full of interesting facts and fun to learn.

The lecturer was very knowledgeable.

thank you

von Amanda O

17. Jan. 2018

I learned so much during this course! It kept my interest and I loved logging on and learning more every week!

von Khamil K

27. Apr. 2021

Many thanks to Prof. David Silverman for providing this course and wonderful coursera for aiding my courses!

von Raven C

28. Sep. 2020

I love the course I I learned a lot more than I thought it was lot of things I knew and some I did not know.

von Luís M G d S A

15. Juni 2020

A very useful course. Deepen knowledge of Ancient Egypt.

N.B.: I also like to see a course on Ancient Nubia,

von Paolo A

18. Mai 2020

A fascinating insight into Egyptian life, magic, art, and writings. Delivered in a clear and concise manner.

von Katie H

3. Jan. 2020

I learned a lot in this course. Egypt has lots of interesting things to study. Highly recommend this course.

von Estela U G

26. Dez. 2020

Muy entretenido y un gran introductorio a la cultura del Antiguo Egipto hasta tiempos de Horemheb. Gracias!

von Joyce G A

15. Juli 2020

excellent course, its my first time learning online and I learned a lot. Ancient Egypt is truly amazing!