Chevron Left
Zurück zu Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Wonders of Ancient Egypt von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
876 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top-Bewertungen

VE

10. Juli 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

SJ

13. Apr. 2022

It is a great second part of the series of courses about Egypt from Prof. David. Silverman. Highly recommend the course to all those who found value in the first course from the same professor.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 289 Bewertungen für Wonders of Ancient Egypt

von Andrew R

24. Nov. 2020

A wonderful course for anyone interested in Ancient Egypt, and of course King Tutankhamun. I highly recommend it.

von Guy I

4. Mai 2021

The course was great, full of interesting facts and fun to learn.

The lecturer was very knowledgeable.

thank you

von Amanda O

17. Jan. 2018

I learned so much during this course! It kept my interest and I loved logging on and learning more every week!

von Khamil K

27. Apr. 2021

Many thanks to Prof. David Silverman for providing this course and wonderful coursera for aiding my courses!

von Raven C

28. Sep. 2020

I love the course I I learned a lot more than I thought it was lot of things I knew and some I did not know.

von Luís M G d S A

15. Juni 2020

A very useful course. Deepen knowledge of Ancient Egypt.

N.B.: I also like to see a course on Ancient Nubia,

von Paolo A

18. Mai 2020

A fascinating insight into Egyptian life, magic, art, and writings. Delivered in a clear and concise manner.

von Katie H

3. Jan. 2020

I learned a lot in this course. Egypt has lots of interesting things to study. Highly recommend this course.

von Estela U G

26. Dez. 2020

Muy entretenido y un gran introductorio a la cultura del Antiguo Egipto hasta tiempos de Horemheb. Gracias!

von Joyce G A

15. Juli 2020

excellent course, its my first time learning online and I learned a lot. Ancient Egypt is truly amazing!

von Vojtěch K

12. Juni 2019

Very good course about Ancient Egypt and a nice follow-up on the Introduction course with Mr. Silverman!

von Atoosa

18. Dez. 2019

Great course.

Did not disappoint!

Loved the numerous museum pictures with detailed explanation.

Thank you

von ROSAMARIA J C

14. März 2021

I have learned a lot of details a I did not know about Tut and Carter. I loved it. thanks a lot.

von Andrea M

11. Okt. 2020

Eu achei o curso muito interessante e superou minhas expectativas, muito obrigado pela oportunidade.

von Ellie

11. Nov. 2019

It was a fun course to experience and it showed me a different view on the ancient egyptian culture

von elodie r

14. Okt. 2020

So interesting I loved it, I did the course in 2 days. I love Egypt culture and I learnt so much

von Manal K

1. Jan. 2020

Clear , concise and loaded with information yet not dull at all.

Thank you , enjoyed every minute.

von Sven S

29. Dez. 2017

This is really a great course. Very interesting topics and beautiful materials. I learned a lot.

von Dararat K

3. Dez. 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful course. I'm looking forward to next chapter of Egyptology.

von Carrie M

28. Jan. 2018

Great course! So informative and I love the presentation of the material. Thank you so much!!!

von Aaman L

2. Nov. 2018

A masterful exposition of art, culture, writing, magic and the complexity of the 18th dynasty

von Daisy N

18. Mai 2020

A really interesting course, well presented and informative. I recommend taking this course.

von Kiara M M R

19. Jan. 2019

Me encanta. Estoy aprendiendo mucho sobre la escritura en el Antiguo Egipto. Lo recomiendo.

von PhantomDuck1980

7. Nov. 2017

An exellent learnig experiece. I definately recomment it to everyone who adores Egyptology!

von Nelly M C C

18. März 2018

A fascinating course. It was a fine sequel to the previous course. I highly recommend it.