Chevron Left
Zurück zu Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Wonders of Ancient Egypt von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
817 Bewertungen
267 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top-Bewertungen

VE
10. Juli 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
25. Sep. 2020

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 268 Bewertungen für Wonders of Ancient Egypt

von Patricia B

19. Mai 2020

simply awesome!

von Saud I A

23. Feb. 2021

Simply Amazing

von Consuelo S V

27. Feb. 2019

Maravilhoso!!!

von Cara M

3. Mai 2020

It was great!

von Kevin J

6. Juli 2021

E​xceptional

von Инна В

21. Jan. 2018

Great cours

von Leonardo M

24. März 2021

Just great

von Nikolaos K

14. Jan. 2018

Excellent!

von Megan F

12. Jan. 2018

Wonderful!

von Almir M M

23. Aug. 2021

very good

von Bepari S T T

26. Apr. 2020

Excellent

von Daniel P M

5. Aug. 2018

Excelent!

von Patrik F

8. Apr. 2020

Amazing!

von Alexis F

5. Apr. 2020

SO GOOD

von Emil

27. Apr. 2018

D

o

n

e

i

t

!

von Victoria S M

24. Mai 2020

Great

von Xavier M

24. Feb. 2019

TOP !

von WenYu Z

23. Okt. 2018

真的很感谢

von Домрачев Е В

22. Dez. 2017

meow

von Claudette D

15. Mai 2019

A

von Paraskevi G

13. Nov. 2017

Extremely interesting follow-up to the previous course of Penn uni on Egypt! Although it does require knowledge of that course, it is not hard to follow even without it. Information is easily comprehensible and accessible. The lector is easy to comprehend, very knowledgeable and provides many examples but it is obvious that he reads his speech from a screen in front of him and that makes his lectures rather stiff and less enthusiastic. Also, I would prefer it if the hieroglyphs were explained phonologically as well for better accuracy but they are actually presented in a more accessible way for the general public and extra bibliography is provided for those interested in the topic.

von Meguid E N

8. Apr. 2020

Excellent mini course.

I wish it was more comprehensive.

I didnt necessarily like the video clips style...; having 10 videos clips of apparently 7-10 minutes but in reality more like 3-5 minutes, if one excludes the credits and acknowlegments, is distrupting to learning. Three or 4 clips of 20 minutes each would have been more valuable.

The reading list is excellent and in particular the essays of the MMA.

The quiz is perfectly pitched.

Thank you very much for a useful learning experience.

I will try to enroll as a mentor!

von Simone L

17. Mai 2019

A worthwhile course that goes well as a sequel to Dr. Silverman's Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization. It's a little uneven in information density. And the problems with editing causing anomalous quiz questions are still there, though less than in the first course. Once again, there was insufficient proofreading of the transcript, but I always reformatted and corrected each transcript immediately after watching its corresponding video, so I used this as a technique to reinforce the information!

von Nabeel M

10. Juni 2021

fantastic course with great information - like the intro course it suffers from a few issues such as the subtitles are more harmful than helpful, mispelling and representing information that is not only wrong but sometimes the opposite of what it means... sometimes the delivery also is a little confusing... but overall I am thankful for this course and the wealth of information it gives us. thank you David

von Michael A

22. Juni 2020

Great material if you can hammer through it. The content is great; but be forewarned that the professor is very stilted in his speech pattern and this can be disconcerting. It helps to view the videos at 1.25 or 1.5 speed to accommodate for this. Otherwise, I really learned a lot. I MOST enjoyed the section on hieroglyphics and even tried to practice a few of them on paper. Have fun with this one!