Chevron Left
Zurück zu Wood Science: Beyond Building

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Wood Science: Beyond Building by West Virginia University

4.6
102 Bewertungen
28 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

Top-Bewertungen

MM

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!\n\nAn awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.\n\nTHANK YOU.

RP

Apr 15, 2019

It is a very useful topic to everyone. It explains about the how human damage environment. And how we regulate the wastages of wood

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 30 Reviews for Wood Science: Beyond Building

von Kurian G

Jun 01, 2019

Very useful to understand about the American wood industry. Also helps know about some general information about wooden materials and wood itself.

von Dana L

Jun 22, 2019

I loved the course. Very informative, I shared some resource links with my mothernatureus facebook fanpage too.

von Sergio R

May 15, 2019

I appreciate the effort but althoug some interesting topics are metnioned, I think that it only moves from random ideas insted of getting a bit deeper in the interesting points (whenever possible since it is a short course).

One important think that I must say is that I found it incredible that when talking about the solutions for solving the "problem" of running out of forests to cut (that is, more management, plantations, ...) i think you forgot the most important (applicable to any other resource): REDUCE CONSUMPTION.

von Rangani s p

Apr 15, 2019

It is a very useful topic to everyone. It explains about the how human damage environment. And how we regulate the wastages of wood

von RAJESH B

Apr 07, 2019

Very nice introduction course of wood science

von Briseida L J A

Apr 04, 2019

This course is a great oppontunity to learn and take a look about wood from other point of view. It explain very well theory and process with good examples and clear schemes. From the architecture point of view is very useful. Excellent!!

von

Mar 17, 2019

Pratical and very based in hands on experience.

von Erland R L

May 14, 2018

Great introduction!

von Margaret

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!

An awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.

THANK YOU.

von Kalliopi K

Mar 26, 2018

Great course for introduction to forestry with many information about wood science. GREAT teachers !

von Freddy C

Mar 08, 2018

Too focused on American context. Wrong technical information here and there. Generally uninformative if already working in the industry, your probably know more than what this course has to offer.

von Harry A H

Feb 20, 2018

This course opened my eyes to a whole new world. Kind of helps you over the stumbling block to then study yourself further. Loved the honest simplicity of the teachers though it quickly becomes obvious that there is a huge industry behind it.

von Andrew H

Feb 15, 2018

Several of the links were dead, but other than that, great information in a very easy to follow manner. I especially enjoyed the questions during the video. Those helped tremendously.

von Laura C

Feb 07, 2018

Highly recommended to those interested in learning the basics on wood science.

von Sebastián B

Feb 02, 2018

A very good introduction to several topics related to forestry, wood science and wood industry.

von Daniel C P

Jan 31, 2018

Very useful course. Nicely presented in a well structured way, it gives a global view of wood science. It has links to very interesting resources of books, international associations and technical NASA papers (pretty understandable, in my opinion). It has a great value for the time required. Fully recommended!

von Dana C

Jan 26, 2018

Very informative. Production value lower than what I've previously seen in other courses but it seems to work for this course, and give it an underlying charm.

von Volodymyr N

Nov 21, 2017

Thanks, for offering this course! Though I've been working with wood at home for some years, I learned a great deal about the wood, ranging from specifics of working with the wood from the different species of trees to the global market and management of the forest. Your corse gives a great incentive go to forward with learnig more and working more with wood, looking at it in bigger depth rather than a conventient material only. Thanks, again!

von Richard K

Nov 20, 2017

interesting material

von Purpure

Jul 23, 2017

Great content. I would like to suggest diving deeper into some of the North American silviculture practises and forestry operations as well as roundwood measurement and sawmill business. That could be a nice insight for the forest industry people here in Europe. Thank you for your work and I'm looking forward to the next "Wood Science & Forestry" course.

von Toni K

Jul 21, 2017

Great advanced course in wood science! Fits best for the person with at least basic knowledge of timber and use of it. If you are a newbie with timber, no problem; you'll get the point and maybe some great ideas.

von Ronald S

Jul 08, 2017

Great course for intro to wood science.

von tommaso b

Jul 03, 2017

In my opinion the course is very interesting. One reason is that it gives you insights into a topic which is not normally in the mainstream. Also it is strongly connected with social, economical and environmental themes. I would recommed the course to anybody interested in the world of wood production, use and the links to nowadays impacts on economics.

von Rodrigo M A

Jun 21, 2017

It is interesting, but I would like to go deeper into the wood industry, new products, new techniques of sylviculture.

von David G Q

Jun 21, 2017

A little short course, but usefull.