Chevron Left
Zurück zu Writing Stories About Ourselves

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Writing Stories About Ourselves von Wesleyan University

4.2
Sterne
84 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, creative nonfiction writers will explore traditional storytelling methods, especially those which overlap between fiction and memoir. By looking at examples from a wide range of genres, including film, song, painting—even the theme music for Jaws!—we’ll practice exercising the creative muscle that sees ourselves as characters and the experiences we’ve had as tales. We’ll focus on critical elements, like how to begin a story, what makes for worthy content, the essential use of detail, the strengths and limits of dialogue, the power of the white space. The ultimate goal is for us to become aware of an “audience” when we write, so that the documentation of our lives will begin to resemble a “performance” crafted onto paper rather than a private entry in a journal....

Top-Bewertungen

PT

25. Jan. 2021

Very interesting and engaging! I learnt a lot about writing about myself, which is actually very difficult. This course provide a great start for someone who are looking for something like this.

MI

15. Aug. 2021

I really enjoyed this course, I learned a lot through simple and clear approach. the method of teaching with Mr. Said was genuine and artistic; which what writing is all about.

Filtern nach:

26 - 44 von 44 Bewertungen für Writing Stories About Ourselves

von Mare

15. Juni 2020

Got some good insights about the subject

von Arman S G

10. Dez. 2021

this course was so lovely

von Maurice C

8. Sep. 2019

Excellent Class!!!

von Stefanie L

6. Okt. 2019

Great instructor!

von Sharra F

30. Jan. 2021

great course

von Pamela J

21. Okt. 2020

Great Course

von Marilyn G

25. Feb. 2021

Like the other courses in the specialization, I enjoyed this one as well. I learned a lot of useful information to help me write a personal essay that is currently in progress. But, like other Coursera courses, I find the peer review process particularly useless in terms of the timeliness and quality of reviews. In fact, finishing this specialization was a bit of a nightmare because for my very last assignment in my very last class I got a failing grade and it was such a convoluted process to renew my subscription, which I'd just canceled -- hoping to complete the Specialization before the billing cycle ended, which was just days away -- resubmitting and then getting someone to review the re-write in a timely manner. To accomplish this required the assistance of three customer support reps and making a nuisance of myself on the discussion forums pleading for reviews. Not a good process at all!

von Victoria R

15. Okt. 2020

Once again I have to take away a star not for course content, which was great as it has been throughout this specialization, but for course mechanics. The peer-review process tends to be ineffective at best. While some reviewers really but thought into it and offer genuinely constructive critiques, too many just type random characters into the rubric just so the computer will mark them as having done the required reviews. The algorithms assigning things to be reviewed are equally flawed. Unfortunately these flaws detract from the quality of the course experience, even tho the instructors, content, and some reviewers are excellent.

von Vishwas B

17. Juli 2020

The course is really nice. The instructor explains by taking examples and uses creative things to explain. The course requires no pre-requisite. Even if your English is not that good, don't worry the course doesn't judge you on that basis.

von Liesbeth A

5. Aug. 2021

Nice course and specialization. The videos are inspiring. Would be nice to see more involvement of the lecturers in the forums.

von Marione M E

4. Dez. 2020

I learned so much about writing, and the instructions were clear and encouraging.

von Manjusha D

6. Juni 2020

Overall good, but not as effective as expected. More contents were needed.

von Peter F

16. Dez. 2018

Personable lecturer making informative points.

von Michael H

7. Juni 2022

I hate to complain, but it is getting frustrating. I haven't recevied a grade yeet. My essay which I turned in on time has yet to be read or reported back to me that it has been read. I have reported this issue on my essays each of which I have turned in on Sundays, but have had to keep deleting and then sending again. I read my quota of others' essay immediately and usually more than the minimum. The last few weeks I just reead the minimum because I was receiving the bare minimum if anything at all. I enjoyed the class because I love writing. You have not been that encouraging. I have reported this issue every time to no avail. I would like to continue taking writing courses, but could you please help me out when I report an issue.

von Linda A

18. Juni 2021

The course was very interesting and I enjoyed the speaker and his message, the assignments, and reading other students' work. What I didn't like was waiting for students to review my work (which was slow), and then waiting for more assignments to review. I think reviewing 1 or 2 students would be much better than waiting for 3. Also, I would like to hear what the instructor thinks about my work, not only student opinions.

von Carole A E

16. Apr. 2021

The exercises were good, but I found the lectures lacking in substance. Some were 3 minutes long, give me a break. Some of the peer reviews that I got were a joke. One person just wrote, "I like your story" as a review for every single rubric question. The same person wrote "The dialogue was fine." as an answer to every rubric on another assignment.

von Nang T T H

25. Okt. 2020

I think this course is not bad.But for me,it can't also say very good.Need to be more attractive to be the best.Because it's less attractive and interesting.

von B E

12. März 2021

I have to give this course a one star, actually the entire certificate program should be listed as one star. There are not enough students to get enough reviews, or to get grades. You will be perpetually charged month after month waiting to get graded or to get enough assignments to review. Ridiculous.

von Dennis L

13. Juli 2021

C​ontent is outstanding and I'm learning a lot from the lectures.

H​owever the functioning of the website is beyond terrible and does not reflect well upon the trade name Coursera nor on Wesleyan University.