Chevron Left
Zurück zu Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest by Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
836 Bewertungen
326 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Top-Bewertungen

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 319 Reviews for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

von Vbergquist2013@gmail.com

Mar 07, 2017

While the information is certainly good, and I enjoyed listening to David Hill, it is too basic for me. I was looking for something that wasn't an introductory course, but I took it thinking the peer reviews would be worth it. I had a difficult time downloading peer writing to review, and I never got any feedback on my assignment. I also went to the forums for discussion, but there wasn't anyone adding new information. It seems like a ghost class without any real live students. Since it is not interactive in any way, I am just spinning my wheels. Not worth the effort.

von Shereena W

Dec 06, 2018

An absolutely fantastic course! Good for beginners, but also good for those with experience as well. The instructors are great and all the guest speakers are delightful and interesting.

von Reena D

Feb 20, 2018

This was my first online course attempt. I took it because I actually wanted to finally give myself a chance to take flight in the one thing I've always been afraid to do. I loved the instructors style of teaching. The taught me a lot of things mainly respect for my peers work, focusing on my tasks and learning to be kind to myself. They were with me every step of the way and offered great learning tips and guidance. I feel I have come a long way from the time I started this course and look forward to finally publishing my work with more confidence in myself. I highly recommend this course for those who have always had a passion for writing. Thank you.

von Araminta

Oct 30, 2015

I wanted this course to focus specifically on strategies for engaging young readers, but it did not. Additionally, the method of assignment sharing is a file upload/download dropbox. I had fully intended to participate until I saw that. As a MOOC, I realize that there could be any number of individuals registering for this course using false information and uploading nefarious scripts that could hijack my computer should I download something from here. No thanks, Coursera. Epic fail.

von Aleks S

Oct 30, 2015

Information presented was too basic.

von K M

Sep 05, 2015

These were very short lectures without a lot of content. For example the different kinds of publishing were described but no time was spent on how to evaluate publishers or how to decide what might work best for the author. The interviews with the published authors was by far the best part of this class and I enjoyed listening to them describe their writing lives.

von srini

Aug 25, 2015

oka, needs more fun

von Benjamin J H

Aug 21, 2015

It is perfect for beginners, but if you're an experienced writer you might be looking for something a little more challenging.

von Marzieh A

Jul 12, 2019

An amazing course for all writers.

von Kristen H

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent information and overview from first draft to writing a query letter. I work in publishing but not in children's publishing, and I picked up a lot of new tricks from this course.

von Melia T

Mar 01, 2019

A really great course! I have benefited a lot from it!

von Juan M J

Feb 23, 2019

Está buenísimo. Es una gran introducción al mundo de la literatura orientada al público juvenil.

von Ghania M

Dec 28, 2018

Thank you very much for the great course. I've learnt a lot of stuff

von Robert G

Dec 11, 2018

I would recommend this course to anyone who is serious about being a writer regardless of where you are in your learning. This course is informative and encouraging and will provide you with methods that other authors have used to become and remain successful doing something that we all love to do....Write!!!

von Chigozie N

Nov 05, 2018

A very informative and practical course.

von Dina H

Nov 02, 2018

Amazing and very informative :)

von Gitanjali V

Oct 12, 2018

Really appreciate the interviews with so many authors. Very inspiring and thanks for the trouble! Also that last assignment of writing to a publisher makes it all so (scary) real - and - so - possible....

von Heissell R

Oct 08, 2018

I enjoyed the guess interviews. A few times I looked them up on google to see what other books they had written. It was nice to see real life ex

von Ellina N

Sep 09, 2018

I enjoyed this course and learned a thing or two about writing, editing and publishing.

von Fernanda G

Jun 29, 2018

Me encantó el curso. Las tareas son muy simples y realmente aprendes mucho. Te dejan con muchas ideas y aunque somos bastantes los que tenemos el sueño de ser escritores, nos deja con muchas esperanzas y motivaciones para el futuro. Me encantó que tuvieran la parte con los escritores invitados porque eso nos daba mucho más material.

von Ariana L

Jun 29, 2018

I very much enjoyed this course! Lots of opportunites to write and learn about every area of writing and publishing. I wish there was more information on publishers/magazines. Most of the publishers that were listed do not accept unsolicited applications. Also, having more magazines listed would help people trying to publish shorter pieces than novels. It would have also been wonderful if we could have had at least one of our pieces reviewed by a professor. In general, I found peer reviews not very helpful. But overall, very satisfied with this course!

von Naima M

Jun 28, 2018

Takes you step by step to a realm otherwise considered difficult.

von Howard D P

Jun 24, 2018

Had access to incredibly talented and experienced writing mentors. Loved the fun interaction with other new writers honing their writing skills. Learned a lot.

von Anirudh N

Jun 15, 2018

Amazing. Learnt a lot

von Liliane M

May 20, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, though I never imagined myself as a writer of childrens fiction, it may very well look like, that my first book, might be exactly that.

Thank you to the great teachers.