Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Science of Training Young Athletes

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Science of Training Young Athletes von University of Florida

4.8
Sterne
610 Bewertungen
205 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Seventy percent of kids drop out of sports before their high school graduation. Only 15% leave because they feel they are not good enough. Almost 70% leave because they were not having fun, or due to problems with the coach. Injuries cause 30% to give up sports. This course is packed full of practical sports science information that provide youth coaches and parents with the practical pediatric sports science insights to successfully retain young athletes and develop their sport potential while avoiding injury and overtraining. We begin by examining the multidimensional nature of coaching, the relevant sport motor performance abilities, the impact of growth and development on motor skills, the gene versus practice controversy, and briefly overview the body structures strengthened through training. Then we explore the athlete's energy supply, where this energy comes from, and how it matures along with the athlete. Finally, we examine the development of strength, power, anaerobic capacity, coordination and flexibility through the life span. The optional text manual for this course is available at: http://www.learnitez.com/HighPerformanceScience/manuals/...

Top-Bewertungen

BD
27. Mai 2017

Great base to build on. Filled in my gaps with regards to physical/physiological development of young athletes. For me it is a great addition to the English FA Level 1 and 2 football coaching course.

R
7. Dez. 2020

This course was very helpful in how we can train our athletes and the factors that may hinder their performances especially when they transition from pre-teenage years to post-teenage years.

Filtern nach:

176 - 199 von 199 Bewertungen für The Science of Training Young Athletes

von MingXin

11. Jan. 2017

exellent

von ASEM E S A A E K

29. März 2021

THANKS

von ALPER T

30. Jan. 2021

thanks

von Aqua F

14. Apr. 2021

great

von MANJUNATHA K N

23. Juli 2020

good

von Stephanie D P

27. Dez. 2019

nice

von Judy O

15. Aug. 2020

This was a good course very much emphasizing the science of how the maturing body functions in athletics. It had a lot of good information and the instructor was quite willing to say that the answers to some questions just haven't been found yet. I feel like I have a much better understanding of what my students are going through physically as they grow and try to learn sports skills.

The course unfortunately (to me) did not discuss practical applications much at all. We were pretty much left to try to figure out our own ways to adjust our coaching based on the science, but without knowing appropriate drills to develop these things, it left us knowing what we'd like to accomplish but not knowing how to do it - goals without plans. I'd love to see a follow up course on application of the science, and another one on sports psychology!

von Lydia M

16. Apr. 2021

Enjoyed the course. It was a bit intense at times, but I think the instructor did that on purpose, practising their own teaching methods by not making the course too easy thereby arresting boredom and avoiding a high dropout rate, similar to what we learned in the modules. The intensity was the challenge, to keep the student engaged and thinking. It seems to have been successful for the course. Thank you for the opportunity to learn remotely and freely. The sacrifices these instructors make to present this information is appreciated. Thank you, God bless, and stay safe.

von Emil H N

5. Juni 2020

Great course for coaches which feel a little lost with young athletes. Topics about what affects young athletes bodies and life in general are introduced. The laungauge is quite because of the use technical terms. If you're well-known with growth, maturation, puberty, muscular terms etc then there'll not be a lot of new stuff learned for you.

von Edda F

8. Feb. 2021

Interesting course, however, it is an introduction and therefore very simple in its tasks and insights given. I enjoyed it though. It gives a coach a new perspective in some parts and can be the first step to many more courses.

von Ignacio R H

4. Aug. 2020

Muy bien explicado, conceptos claros para el el entrenamiento con jóvenes.Quizás tiene mucha parte de fisiología general, que debería darse por conocida por aquellos que hacen el curso.

von KHALID A A

20. Sep. 2020

One of the best courses I attended, which helped me to gain new scientific information on coaching young athletes. Regards to the instructor and her guests.

Khalid

von Jeanne J

18. Dez. 2017

This was a very interesting, informative class. I learned a lot about how to coach and train young athletes from an early age through puberty.

von Dylan C

6. Apr. 2020

Great information provided in this course around training youth. It left me wanting some coaching strategies to implement with my athletes.

von Abdelrahman M I E S

15. Sep. 2020

It was a great course, i gained many information that should help me with my job. Moreover, it boosted my own career

von Mattia B

9. Juli 2019

Very well done course.. a must do for all the serious coaches

von Randall W A

14. Juni 2020

Very detailed. I leaned a lote. A BIG Thank you.

von Coach F

6. Nov. 2016

Great course for all coaches of youth sports

von Satyendra N R

5. Nov. 2019

It is really improving my knowledge..

von Mangesh D

14. Juni 2020

Very well constructed and explained.

von Kinjal S

18. Juni 2021

Good course, well presented.

von Brock W

10. Jan. 2021

In Depth

von Jhonatan J A E

23. Jan. 2017

The course addresses quite precisely and pragmatically every aspect regarding young athletes anatomical and physiological development. All the information provided in the lectures is research-based and Dr. Brooks states clearly when she is providing information which needs further investigation or clarification. The lenght of the lectures is short and these are very well organized by modules, facilitating the learning process. The information is almost always related to its application to young populations. While the topics covered by the course represent a fair amount of the information a coach should have, psychologycal and social aspects, which are quite important for training young athletes, are not convered in depth. The assessments lack effective feed-back to support the learning process, given that after taking the quizzes you will only know if your answer was right or wrong, missing any instruction about the course content itself, and the only peer-assessed piece misses a feed-back section which may help to improve future writing.