Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
10,138 Bewertungen
2,378 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

DK
11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

1751 - 1775 von 2,324 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Harshitha I

4. Mai 2020

The course was overall very good , they taught us well and the way of teaching was also very good . However they could solved our doubts in the discussion forums in the right time

von Niels B

17. Feb. 2018

The content of this course is very good. Also the hands on exercise at the end is very interesting. Although the formulation of the questions could sometimes be a bit more clear.

von Andreu T M

27. März 2018

Great introduction to big data, do not underestimate it, it starts easy but soon it gets more complicated. Really good to bring down to earth the highly spoken term of Big Data.

von Belen S

24. Mai 2018

The only negative part is that the course it´s bit long and the last Quiz it´s really complex to a non IT person as me. The conceps and the knowledge I get has been very great

von Zhe X

12. Jan. 2017

Too many concepts, better to provide more interactive questions during the video and more examples to demonstrate the concept.

If possible, make the assignment submission free.

von Tze M H

2. Aug. 2017

The course is good giving a lot of information for background. However, I personally would suggest the context would be better understood if its structure is more organised.

von sandeep d

7. Juni 2019

The course majorly teaches you the importance of big data in first 2 weeks. 3rd week, it gives you good brief of big data tools and technology. Good course for foundations.

von Syed S A

10. Aug. 2020

It was a comprehensive course that adequately covered introduction to big data. I think only in week 3, there should be a bit more details and practices on Map and Reduce

von Cheng-shuo Y

21. Dez. 2017

The map-reduce is really intriguing. However, I think this class is kind of more suitable for those who are really new to this field. Anyway, a lot of things are learned.

von STEFANOS C

2. Jan. 2020

Very interesting course and well explained course . It is very good as a foundation course. Minimum hardware needs should be mentioned at the very begging of the course!

von Gajendra B D

28. Okt. 2016

It was a Good course to start with the Big Data. The content is also good and properly arranged. Good Instructors. I will suggest this course as a starter for Big Data.

von Manish S

14. Mai 2020

It is a good course for people who have no prior knowledge of Big Data. The course doesn't get into much details of Hadoop but does provides an overview of MapReduce.

von Andrea P

20. Jan. 2019

A bit too simple, but it's understandable given the name of the course. Good broad and general introduction to the world of Big Data.

Useful initial steps into Hadoop

von Lim J H G

22. Mai 2020

A good place to start for those who are interested in learning about Big Data, the technicality of week 3 can be a little challenging but very useful nonetheless!

von Estanislao H A

30. Nov. 2020

Thank you very much, iss still hard to work with thins opensources platforms cause many of the configs can mess up the practices, but, everything else is great.

von Venkataraghavan

5. Jan. 2018

I found the course to be informative. I found the questions in the assignments to be challenging sometimes. These questions require one to by heart the answers,

von Mehedi H S

4. Mai 2020

I think it is too much basic course that can help much a beginner in that sector for the beginning. Both teachers have nicely explained their topics.

Thank you

von Василий П

20. Apr. 2020

Basically, first two weeks were like memory training exercise.

A lot of general concepts unsupported by practical examples.

Only third week is interesting.

von Anshu V

13. Juli 2020

It was excellent and good content to have knowledge on BIG Data overview and after every chapter their is exercise quiz test which is good to get confidence.

von BEATRIZ M M

26. Apr. 2020

Debería tener información más actualizada, por ejemplo, el Hadoop presenta algunos problemas pues ha habido cambios en la aplicación y su forma de instalarla

von Leticia R d S M

5. März 2020

A parte mais interessante é a última, da semana 3 e é super curta. Poderia ter sido estendida em detrimento de algumas partes que se repetem muito do início.

von Pedro L

31. Juli 2017

I had some problems with the last part of this course (when we were getting started with Hadoop), and I didn´t see anything to help solving those problems.

von MAURICIO D F P

22. Nov. 2020

Faltó detallar en qué consistía una máquina virtual y ofrecer el comando para desactivar el safe mode, tuve que investigar para completar la última tarea.

von Sylvain T

30. Juli 2016

So much better than in the first version of the specialization! the peer reviewed project is a welcome addition to help understanding map reduce concepts

von Balaji

27. Mai 2018

The steps provided are good. Practical way of teaching. The course navigation links are sometime confusing. it does not start from where you had paused.