Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
9,168 Bewertungen
2,177 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

AR
30. März 2020

One of the best course to start learning new cutting-edge technology and to get deeper insights into Big Data. Thanks to the great instructors for amazing explanations of each module and e-materials.

Filtern nach:

2026 - 2050 von 2,111 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Sergii S

12. Juli 2017

it is so simple, but informative

von Yuvarani.P

4. Aug. 2020

It is very easy to understand

von Franciszek G

22. Okt. 2018

Too little technical aspects.

von Bhawna B

23. Aug. 2017

need to give more assignments

von Alexander H

10. Nov. 2018

More hands on would be good

von YongDeuk C

20. Nov. 2016

it's too much basic stuffs.

von Alvaro M

18. Sep. 2017

Booooooooorinnnnggggg

von Irfan S

11. Sep. 2017

Its very basic course

von Shivraj J

19. Dez. 2016

Basic info covered.

von Roman N

4. Nov. 2016

too philosophical

von Jordi S C

8. Jan. 2019

Very theoretical

von Alex B

18. Feb. 2017

Quite shallow...

von Ravi

14. Nov. 2017

Lot of talking.

von Deleted A

17. März 2017

Not good enough

von Marcelo G D L

12. Mai 2020

A bit outdated

von Lakshmi M

5. Okt. 2017

Good overview

von Manoj S

29. Okt. 2017

Pretty basic

von Sanjay

12. Mai 2018

nice one

von Safoora

6. Feb. 2018

Good st

von Raizza S d S

15. Juli 2020

I had quite some high expectations for this course however Week 1 videos were already such a turn-off. The videos were so slow-paced that it actually became just like a lecture at uni (boring). However, at first, the content was indeed interesting for Big Data introduction. The first quiz was horrible. It was so hard, half of the questions had nothing to do with the content (in my opinion). I had to research the subjects on another websites as I honestly did not see half of them on the videos. All other tests were more reliable to what was previously learned. But the part that made me more upset was having to download and install 2 applications (this was not explicit on the programme) for the final assessment understanding and answering a 2-question quiz in which one of these applications had FOUR GBs to be downloaded. Up to this point, I did download the file. Overall I do not recommend this course to anyone. Reasons are clear: the "sluggishness" of the videos and presenter and the final/ultimate 4GB gift. They should create an online environment for this task/application. I do give a star for the assessment where we had to create a presentation of how MapReduce works. I liked that interactivity.

von Petter B

8. Aug. 2016

The content of the course is ok. The main problem is that the way the information is presented. Ilkay Altintas, who is the main lecturer, is a sweet woman, but lecturing from a manuscript is not her strongest side. It is clear that she is reading from a screen while she is looking into the camera. Anyone could do that job, and they should have chosen more of an "news anchor" type of person with better pronunciation and more flow. It's simply very uninspiring and boring to listen to. Also, 59 dollars is far too expensive for such a short course.

von Michał S

6. Jan. 2017

It covers theoretical part of "What big data is" and basic info about Hadoop. Quality of presentation slides is below average. Most of them are not readable - many fonts, many colors, some with complicated pictures, some with no information at all. Part with Map reduce is just slightly touched, not explained in details, without examples. Practical tasks from hadoop are very easy and they show nothing (just how to navigate over hadoop file system.

von Evženie T

5. Apr. 2018

The basic concepts were mentioned but not explained deeply enough, so I was mostly memorizing rather than understanding. The presentation was boring, and the tests did not really test anyone's understanding of the subject matter but rather if one memorized correctly the information from the videos. I would recommend finding a more engaging course.

von Adrián C

11. Juni 2020

There is a big learning gap between the first two weeks and the third one. Some key concepts are poorly or never defined throughout the course. By the end of this course, I lack the knowledge to perform a basic big data analysis. The tools we learn how to use during the course are not particularly relevant.

von Faisal A

12. Juli 2020

Decent overview of things but the presentations seemed outdated. The material is a bit too basic and could benefit from more practical aspects. It felt like not a lot of effort was put into making the course. I hope the next few courses in the specialization are better :)