Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Bilingual Brain

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Bilingual Brain von University of Houston

4.6
Sterne
515 Bewertungen
124 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explores the brain bases of bilingualism by discussing literature relevant to differences in age of initial learning, proficiency, and control in the nonverbal, single language and dual-language literature. Participants will learn about the latest research related to how humans learn one or two languages and other cognitive skills....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

19. Jan. 2021

Amazing and I have learned a lot. I am a Bilingual myself and it really sheds light on how the brain works in terms of learning and being proficient in two languages or more for others.

ZR

17. Jan. 2018

This course helped me in understanding various aspects of how brain and mind works and how we can use these knowledge for studying different languages and also when we multitasks

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 127 Bewertungen für The Bilingual Brain

von Lisa G

3. Juli 2017

I would have liked deeper explanations of the charts and diagrams that were used so it's easier for those of us not familiar with the studies or brain images to understand.

Overall I really enjoyed the class! I'm getting my MA in Linguistics and Language Acquisition in the fall, and this was a great warm-up into that.

von Mariana C

30. Mai 2020

Some really nice concepts and ideas shared, but sometimes questions at the end of the videos (and final assessment) were REALLY nonsense - related to little details which were not that relevant to the general knowledge we should gain after the course.

Other than that, it was really nice taking this course.

von Isabel F

12. Jan. 2018

I enjoyed the course and learned quite a bit, yet I agree with all the improvements suggested by others here in the review section. Just videos and the same quizzes over and over is a bit monotonous. But still, I would recommend the course for anybody interested in the subject matter.

von Edith Y

7. Juli 2021

l​ittle bit hard to understand, takes quite a long time to understand the concepts. but the examples given are quite interesting and I love the structure of how the course is taught (from everyday life examples, to monoligual context and to bilingual context)

von Linda

29. Juni 2020

The course was interesting. Perhaps a little bit to much of a summary of studies, one after another. There were no assignments which could help to process the theories. But I did learn some interesting aspects of the bilingual brain.

von Daniela L N D

22. Okt. 2017

The course is excellent and doctor Hernandez is an amazing professor. However, I believe it would be very good if we could have access to the studies and articles he talks about during the course.

von Tyson P d M U

7. Okt. 2019

Very interesting and informative. Many aspects make you think of language, the mind, and the brain in a different way. I enjoyed it quite a bit.

von Vita d G

6. Apr. 2018

Loved it. I hope there will be a follow up. I still have many questions about bilingualism

von Jsguya

19. Aug. 2021

bon cours bien que la transcription en anglais et/ou francais ne soit pas excellente

von Iryna B

11. Sep. 2021

I expected more practical information on how to apply things in bilingual family

von Elena A

4. Mai 2017

Very good context, yet the modules could be better distinguished.

von Carolina A V S

8. Juni 2018

Very interesting information. Good course.

von Angelina L

15. Feb. 2017

Very useful and scientific oriented

von Claudia A M

5. März 2019

It was interesting.

von Djana R

1. Juni 2018

Good course.

von Timo C

19. Juni 2017

The information in this course is excellent, and the lecturer and his assistant explain things very clearly. As a bilingual person and teacher of bilingual students, finding out about what research tells us about how the brain operates when using more than one language is super interesting.

I would give this course more stars, but the problem is that the interactive features of the course are dead. There is a weekly forum, but posting there will not result in a reply, neither by students nor by the professors. There are weekly 'office hours' videos, but these reference questions from an earlier run-through of the course, so that feels a little strange to watch. Other areas for improvement are that there are no reading materials at all, though lots of research is referred to (Prof. Hernandez is very knowledgeable in his field). Also, the quiz/exam system becomes very predictable, and someone taking notes in a smart way can easily score 100% on the exam, provided questions 53 and 56 are fixed. At the moment, it is not possible to score higher than a 98% in total for the course.

von Anna D

16. Aug. 2018

Interesting insights to the (hypothetical) works of a bilingual brain; however, not practical enough and not giving insights into actualization of the second language or indeed any practical implications whatsoever. I'd much prefer a practical course on how to work with multilingual children and adults, developing their skills and deepening their ability.

von Olga D

26. Feb. 2017

Thanks for providing lots of interesting materials! As for me, i would prefer having more advanced tests and tasks as the given ones did not really help me remember the materials. I would also appreciate having some additional materials on the brain areas in this course, since this area was completely new to me.

von Carla L R

27. Nov. 2017

While the topics in this course are very interesting and Arturo Hernández does an excellent job explaining each topic in great detail, the tone of voice in the lectures can be a bit unpleasant and so the focus of attention may vary sometimes.

von Anna C

21. Apr. 2018

When it comes to the material, the presentation, the structure of the course I really liked it. However I would prefer different tasks for weekly quizzes not just questions and their repetition at the final exam.

von Mariela

26. März 2020

Lacks a lot of information, the lectures are just one person speaking, making it hard to really focus and sustain the focus.

von Anupama R

15. Juli 2021

The Instructor was good but the course could have been more interactive with better videos. Every video was like a lecture.

von Maite

9. Aug. 2020

La información que se facilita es interesante pero la metodología es monótona

von Fleur V

4. Juni 2018

Nice to get basic information. For me it was a bit too basic.

von Marysol R P

27. Mai 2021

El curso es muy bueno pero los videos de las conferencias son demasiado largos y tediosos, se podría modificar y hacer presentaciones mas creativas y colocar el contenido de una manera mas concisa y mas abreviada.