Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners von University of California San Diego

4.5
713 Bewertungen
194 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 189 Bewertungen für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von Danny W

Jun 09, 2016

An excellent course that is a great opportunity for anyone interested in bioinformatics, no previous experience is necessary but either a biological, mathematical or computing background will give you advantages in certain areas. Being a biologist I struggled at first and many of you may do the same but stick with it, work hard on it and you will be rewarded and it is incredibly satisfying.

Due to the practical coding nature of the course, each week can take up a lot of you time. Best if you have a few weeks free (e.g. a graduate student like me) so you can spend a few whole days of it but could be done before/after work if you are motivated and plug away at it each day - just something to keep in mind though, don't expect a light easy 1 hour a week course, it is intensive but in a good way. It can get frustrating, you will want to give up time and time again....but stick at it and you will have a shiny new Coursera certificate and a wealth of programming knowledge under your belt once you finish!

A massive two thumbs up for this course, one of the best ones out there that gives you real worthwhile skills that employers and academia want. Thanks to all the course staff for a great experience!

von Jay T

May 30, 2017

Great Course!! Although I already had a background in Python Programming, I can see how this class could gently eases someone with no knowledge of Python (or programming for that matter), into a Novice Python 3 Programmer. The Biology aspect was also well presented. Difficult concepts were well explained, and extra material was given for topics that were not directly related to solving the challenges at hand, but fun and interesting to learn.

von Twesigomwe D

Mar 05, 2018

So remarkable

von Catherine L

Sep 29, 2017

Great courses for beginners

von Thomas M S

Sep 23, 2017

Very interesting introduction to both bioinformatics and Python

von Feiyang M

Nov 19, 2016

Good class, great for beginners to get started!

von Qiang C

Jan 01, 2018

I have got to understand how to search motifs and do motifs alignments using pythons

von Marc S

Aug 07, 2017

As a computer scientist I really enjoyed this course.

Learning about the complex problems, that biologists face, when analyzing DNA, was quite fascinating. I actually think, I will check out the specialization they are offering, as well.

von Dunja P

Apr 27, 2017

Great course for biologists and non biologists. Materials well explained and interesting, stuff very helpful and eager. It opens a window to bioinformatics and is a good first step towards it. Very recommended!

von Antonio D C C

Apr 04, 2017

A very entertaining way to learn programming and applying this new acquired knowledge to real problems in biology.

von Song C

Apr 03, 2018

Very specific introduction ranging from molecular basis to a appropriate intro of info theory. Good course to begin with!

von Nicholas A

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent introduction to coding in Python, as well as a great refresher on some key biological concepts and their use in bioinformatics.

von JUN D

May 31, 2017

Enjoyed learning this class although it is challenging. It will be better if it won't cost anything for get a certificate after finish the class.

von Matt W

Jun 18, 2017

Great introductory material for a new person to Bioinformatics, Python, or a both. Definitely feel more "natural" in Python and well versed in Bioinformatics concepts.

von Eyal W

May 23, 2018

Great course, very interesting.

Some of the python quizes are confusing but the comment are surely helpful!

von Amy

Nov 01, 2017

very useful class!

von Ebrahim B

Sep 27, 2018

I found the course extremely challenging, having no background in programming. But I loved engaging with math's and statistics, and being introduced to some very difficult but fascinating concepts in bioinformatics. I hope to pursue this career path further.

von Tianyu Y

Aug 08, 2018

As the title saids, this course is pretty good for beginners. I major in biology and have no programming experience. Now I have more confidence to challenge advanced courses.

von Pinakhina D V

Nov 20, 2018

I loved the course so much! I have never programmed before and I've always been afraid of mathematics, but this course happened to be so exciting! I liked, how difficult (for me, at least) concepts are explained step-by step. I am sincerely grateful to the authors of the course.

von Ahmad A

Dec 01, 2018

Amazing course, I wish every course would be of this level

von Lawrence L

Apr 28, 2019

Good Intro to Python for Bioinformatics.

von Crisamei M

Apr 18, 2019

Fun and easy to follow course! And the instructor is not boring :D

von 姜凌瀚

Jun 24, 2019

The design of class is very sophisticated, which is quite friendly to beginners. Looking forward to the rest classes.

von Gabriel C F

Jun 29, 2019

Estou gostando bastante do curso. O conteúdo é rico em informações que no final ajudam a ir atrás de mais conteúdo.

von Om P

Jul 02, 2019

Very informative, easy to follow, wonderful lessons, I could go on and on. This course really helped open up my mind to this wonderful field at the intersection of bio and comp sci.