Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners von University of California San Diego

4.4
Sterne
876 Bewertungen
244 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 239 Bewertungen für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von Abdullah D S

Jun 05, 2018

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

von Rohan S

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

von chendonghp

Sep 06, 2017

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .

von Caroline C

Jun 13, 2019

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

von Mohamed A

Jan 04, 2017

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.

von Afshin P

Apr 25, 2017

Thank you.

This course was very effective for me.

It has a lot of details, and I need to review some issues agian

von Florent C

Mar 02, 2020

Très bon cours malgré le fait qu'il faille passer par une plateforme externe de Coursera pour les cours

von Surabhi

Jun 04, 2016

Stepic issues with not syncing progress and assignment completion. All else was good. Well paced.

von itay b

Sep 19, 2016

very interesting!, i liked the stepik interactive lesson very much, i prefer them over lectures

von bpathakjee

Mar 26, 2017

Limited intro course compared to one offered few years ago but still Great start , Thank you

von cristina g g

Apr 29, 2018

It doesnt seem for begginers in coding but still there is a lot of helpful information!

von SABARI K B B

Jan 01, 2020

Way more to be "digestible" to beginners in bioinformatics and non-computer students.

von Paul J

Jul 27, 2017

First time coding, so found some parts challenging, but worked it all out in the end!

von Daniel H

Feb 12, 2019

A very interesting course, but perhaps not necessarily for "begginer" programmers.

von Michael E L

Jul 04, 2017

Great intro course even if tedious for those who know next to nothing about coding

von Hamza A D

Feb 28, 2020

Good course although could be improved with more simplicity and less complexity.

von María J F P

Nov 14, 2018

This is definitely NOT a beginners course. Very interesting and useful, though.

von Helena C P d A B

Jul 31, 2016

It's good, but I would prefer that the python was taught within the course.

von Abraham M E

Jul 01, 2018

It is a little bit basic, but a great introduction to bioinformatics

von María A B

Feb 17, 2019

I have learnt a lot, but sometimes I missed some help or feedback.

von marty

Apr 27, 2020

A little difficult for beginners but definitely worthy!!

von David G

Jul 18, 2019

Very interesting course. Thanks for putting it together.

von Jixiang P

Sep 16, 2019

The course is too easy even as a beginning level course

von Yash G

Jul 10, 2019

A lot to learn, but still not very east for sure

von IDIR A

Dec 27, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, thanks to coursera