Chevron Left
Zurück zu Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) von Hebräische Universität von Jerusalem

4.9
Sterne
3,313 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top-Bewertungen

AI

13. Juni 2021

Undeniably one of the best computer science courses. The advertising isn't false! This course permanently changed my perspective on hardware and software along with the relationship between the two...

MM

17. Feb. 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 1,008 Bewertungen für Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

von Guo F

26. Sep. 2021

A very cool course indeed! I got recommended by this course from other websites and I never regret this decision to take this course! The materials are well-organized, and the assignments really build on previous ones, and the boom you get a computer running (virtually)! Super exciting experiences and I think this is definitely a great add-up to my Computer Science journey!

von Sijo X

22. Mai 2021

I don't know how to express the joy I feel now, just completed this course. This is what I have been looking for. This course gives such valuable information we all are missing in the world of high-level languages and tools. This will definitely connect each programmer to the soul of the machine and anyone who wanted to understand computers, even if you are not a programmer

von NU�EZ C J E

30. Apr. 2020

Excellent. A really eye-opening course. I learnt a lot of things in the process of completing the projects that were assigned each week. It was a great way of learning the basics of how a computer works, and it made my more conscious on how a program is ran when you make one for a project or course. In conclusion, really good course with great instructors and great content.

von Jacob F

30. Apr. 2019

Really outstanding course. I learned a tremendous amount about how computers REALLY work, and got a glimpse behind the curtain to see and build some of the magic for myself. Anyone with even a passing interest in computers should take this course! The lectures are digestible, and the projects are very well designed. Only suggestion is --- WHERE IS PART TWO???? WE NEED IT!

von Bappaditya D

3. Juni 2017

This course helped me to learn how a basic computer performs.My heartiest thanks to both of my beloved professors and mentors for helping me to understand the crux of computer design.I am looking for future courses offered by them with advanced difficulty level and related to computer architecture and design that covers more detailed parts of computers like ALU, CPU etc.

von Andrew M

11. Nov. 2019

Having now taken a number of different courses across both on Coursera and elsewhere, I can honestly say that this course is perhaps the best one I've taken -- it's comprehensive without being overly tedious, and the fact that the assignments are projects, rather than quizzes or exams, was both more engaging and helped me better understand (and appreciate) the material.

von Yugesh P

28. Aug. 2018

The course is self-contained as advertised. The forum moderators are prompt and excellent at providing help. The projects were sufficiently challenging without being intimidating. Professors Nisan and Shocken deliver the knowledge in a very lucid manner. Overall a very nice course to take if you're interested in how a computer works by building one from the ground up.

von David E

7. Juni 2020

This class taught me things I was curious about for years, such as how lower levels of the computer work. It was so gratifying to make gates myself out of NAND and eventually build an ALU (hard project), then the CPU (really hard, but so satisfying!). Building the assembler was something that seemed always hard, but completed it in just a few hours. +1 for unittest!

von PRIYA S

27. Jan. 2018

I learned a lot from this course. The journey of building a computer and an assembler using bottom-up approach was very exciting. Especially Project 4,5 and 6 kept me engaged with the course and most exciting part was building a computer and an assembler. I loved this course. Thank you, Noam and Shimon. Both of you are imparting quality education in the true sense.

von Greg M

19. Apr. 2016

Great glass! The assignments were well designed and a lot of effort was put in to making sure students could understand what they were supposed to do. I've found that good assignments are were most other courses are very lacking. Having good assignments is what really motivates me to finish a class, and it's what helps me verify I've actually learned something.

von Sayed H

9. Jan. 2020

Exceptionally well-designed course. Taught me how to build a computer and assembler from the first principle and amazingly, I didn't have any outstanding questions at the end of the course. Everything made sense. This is an excellent course for understanding the basics of the inner workings of a computer without being too bogged down into engineering details.

von Oleksandr Z

22. Feb. 2020

TL; DR - this course is brilliant.

***

When I started this course, it was so intriguing to see so many 5-star reviews. I could not find any flaws in the course. The material is dense and interesting. The course is fully polished, even shining.

Dear Professor Shocken, Professor Nisan, thank You so much. This course is absolute brilliant.

@NAnd2Tetris_Part_2

0; JMP

von Saksham G

16. Aug. 2020

Excellent course!! All the course materials and discussions forums were extremely helpful. All the tools and project files provided with the course worked without any difficulties. Also, it was a very shallow learning curve to get used to the new tools and hack language. Thanks Noam and Shimon for making such wonderful course. I am looking forward to part 2.

von Ndimangwa F N

16. März 2018

I have never taken such a practical session like this. It was a challenge especially on the middle weeks , however I made it. I recommended for any one , needs to understand how the computer works, and increase the system design skills, this is the course to take. I recommended to take a full version (non-audit version) to enjoy the full power of the course

von sabyasachi m

25. Aug. 2017

This is the greatest course I ever came across. Together along with part 2 it connects all dots and goes beyond abstractions to show how a computer works. It is the best course that can teach an electronics or electrical engineer how the HWs and SWs interact in a machine. It indeed goes from building an nand gate to a fully functional primitive application.

von Sylvain M

19. Juni 2021

One of the best Moocs I ever took , maybe the very best ! A very original thema and learning methodology, very well suited for anyone wishing to understand how a computer works. The course is extremely clear, and the homework provides just the good amount of challenge to make huge progress and feel proud of your accomplishments ! Highly recommended.

von Cathy A

14. März 2021

This course was completely different to the ones that teach only software development or high-level languages. I really liked how this course started with the very foundation of all computer architecture and finished with a completed hardware level of a computer.

This course was very interesting and I can't wait to begin the second part of this course.

von Andrew J

20. Nov. 2017

This is hands down one of the best courses I have ever done. It tears down the layers of abstraction between your programs and your computer's hardware. It's a project centred course meaning you get to build very cool things every week.

I'm blown away that I just finished building a computer that can play pong... it has a display and keyboard inputs!

von Travis B

28. Juni 2020

This was an amazing learning experience that I enjoyed so much. I expanded my knowledge of computer science especially regarding logic gate construction, hardware descriptor language (HDL), and how to build a simple assembler. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants a better understanding of how computers work at the machine level.

von Robert F

19. Okt. 2020

Excellent course. I'm a seasoned high-level programmer, but I'd never taken any hardware courses before. Now I better understand when the hardware engineers are talking about different chips and when one chip doesn't have enough pins to control a certain peripheral, etc. Really looking forward to the next part to connect everything I work with.

von John J

24. Sep. 2020

Very comprehensive! Well worth the hard work!

I already had a vague idea about assemblers and machine code but I now understand how machine code actually controls the hardware in a CPU.

The other mystery solved for me is how basic logic gates can be combined into ever more complex structures which are then combined into a CPU and a computer.

von Melis E

6. Okt. 2022

Excellent course! It was hard at times but I learned so much (and learned it well thanks to the do-it-yourself approach in the projects). The instructors explain complicated topics in the clearest and simplest way possible. And they not only teach you what a computer is, but also how to build *anything* complex. Really a superb course!

von Vinicius S

18. Mai 2020

It was a great course. It fulfilled its role in demystifying the internal parts of a computer. It was a excellent idea to present Digital Circuits through a Hardware Description Language (HDL). It was rewarding to get in touch with Assembly language in the processes of "building" the CPU as well as while coding the Assembler. Thank you!

von Sung W K

12. Apr. 2020

I had so much fun following the course and I actually feel I've learned a lot.

Not only the course videos are helpful and easy to follow but also the "perspective units" were also very interesting that I watched all the videos.

I definitely will move on to part 2 of this course and I am 100% sure that I will get all I want in part 2 also.

von Apostolos P

6. Juli 2020

Excellent course. Not one to take lightly as it involves plenty of hard work in order to understand the new concepts it introduces and complete the assignments. Ideal for self-learners who wish to take their skills to the next level. It has done a great deal de-mystifying how computers work on a very low level. Definitely recommended.