Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,837 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH

17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS

15. Okt. 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 1,302 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von Akemi H S M

29. Aug. 2018

Muy bueno para adquirir un panorama general. Y tiene puntos que despiertan el interés para investigar de forma individual.

von aamnadilshad

15. Aug. 2020

it was an amazing learning experience. i enjoyed my journey and videos were very informative and help me in my research.

von Meghna P

25. Juli 2020

This course not only was easy to learn and understand, but the faculty also helped in making leaning an enjoyable process

von Paulinha R

21. Mai 2020

Wonderful course, I was able to learn a lot about the biology of cancer. I have a broad and wonderful view of the course.

von Udita G

2. Aug. 2021

Very informative and subjective course. I recommend it to all biology students for basic introduction to cancer biology.

von Nicolas O

8. Aug. 2020

Best course I ever took on cancer. Thanks to all the doctors for all the knowledge they have passed on to us. Thank you!

von Ishita H

28. Juli 2020

This was such a fun and informative course. I'm really satisfied with the course material and guidance by the lecturers.

von SARIDEVI S

19. Mai 2020

The lectures and the quiz after every lecture are very helpful to attend the quiz. I really enjoyed learning this course

von Irene K L .

2. Mai 2020

Very interesting and made me learn more. Dr. Ken Pienta was really an inspiration to me. Thanks for issuing this course.

von ksr K

22. Juni 2020

Excellent course for learners who are really interested in Cancer studies and also the instructors were really awesome.

von Ashlin M

17. Juni 2020

well explained and excellent course.

I recommend others to take a look at this course to understand the basics of cancer

von ANJANA J

7. Juni 2020

It was an amazing experience.The short and precise details significantly enriched my basic knowledge of cancer biology.

von Caline A d B

21. Apr. 2020

simples e efetivo em informações, dando uma base para avançar nos estudos e desenvolver conhecimento mais aprofundados!

von Halima A M S A

20. Apr. 2020

A very well prepared course material. It cover the key knowledge about cancer. I enjoyed it and I learned a lot. Thanks

von Jia B

15. Okt. 2019

This course gave me a whole understanding of cancer and I can’t wait to explore more specific fields related to cancer!

von RASHMI S

2. Jan. 2021

It was an awesome course. I understood basic cancer biology in less than 6 hrs. It's highly productive and recomended.

von Estefanía A G O L

26. Dez. 2020

Un curso muy útil para entender mejor el cáncer y aprender aún más sobre esta enfermedad que es muy común en el mundo.

von Fahimehsadat S

23. Juli 2017

I just want to say thanks a million, the course has been well designed and taught. all modules are really informative.

von Karine H S

15. Sep. 2020

O curso é super completo. Acredito que qualquer aluno com noções básicas de biologias conseguirão acompanhar o curso!

von N. F

19. Sep. 2019

Very good introductory course about cancer. Very well done. Looking forward to the next course.

Thank you very much.

von Sathvika R

19. Apr. 2022

Very easy to follow, very well explained and very engaging. Learned a lot in thi course and it was super fun to do!

von Vaibhav O

15. März 2021

Truly satisfying course to learn about cancer biology and first step to take on road of cancer therapeutic research.

von khelf k

29. März 2022

Thank you thank you thank you, that was really helpful, now I can improve my knowledge and learn more about cancer!

von Vannia P C

25. Sep. 2020

It is an incredible course, with high quality content and with professionals who know a lot. Totally recommendable.

von MARIA B

25. Apr. 2020

Muy buena opción para tener una visión general del cancer, sus riesgos y cómo se enmarcan las principales terapias.