Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,496 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH

17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13. Jan. 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtern nach:

1101 - 1125 von 1,256 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von Arsh

17. Dez. 2020

Interacting with a medical practitioner treating , or who has treated cases may be of help. It would also be useful to assign students with assignments such as maybe a field study of the commonly prescribed cancer drugs at their local hospital. A very well made course otherwise. Thank you for this.

von Aaron M

7. Aug. 2016

This was an interesting cancer basics class -- quick and simple for those with minimal background in oncology. The only disappointment was that the course description mentioned quizzes could be taken for no cost, but that turned out not to be true. Nevertheless, it was a valuable course.

von Zia U M

1. Feb. 2019

An amazing course for beginners. Would recommend to everyone with interest in the Emperor of all Maladies- Cancer.

It would be greatful to have more courses at an advanced level specially including the techniques employed in research. Thank you so much Coursera and team of John Hopkins.

von Vasily S

17. Feb. 2017

I am a biochemist and will be working on a cancer-related problem as a postdoc. This course was very helpful for me as it provided a clear general understanding of cancer, and I would have rated it five stars if it wasn't for multiple typos and inaccuracies in the course materials ;)

von Yuewei X

20. Aug. 2017

The course is very informative and I've learnt a lot.

However, the lectures are quite dry since there are no more than just PPT slides. Meanwhile, some questions or quiz are not designed very well. They cannot effective assess how much content the students have really leant.

von 赵健

31. Okt. 2016

这是第一门自己申请助学金的课程,而霍普金斯大学也是我非常敬仰的学校,然而这门课程却不如我预想中的完美,第一是视频上来看,图形资源比较匮乏,多媒体资源没有很好的和讲课内容匹配,比如课程音频说的here 在屏幕上并没有显示出来具体的指示标识;第二是相关的资源太少了,如果相比莱顿大学的腹部解剖那门课程来说的确是比较枯燥。不过因为自己本身是这个专业的所以看起来障碍不是太大,不过对于没有肿瘤学基础的人来说上面的问题可能影响会比较大一些,希望团队能在这一方面继续改进。最后还是要感谢各位老师带来这么一门优秀的课程,我从中学到了很多!再次感谢!

von Karima B

25. Apr. 2018

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot. Some of the lecturers spoke too quickly or in an overly complicated manner making the lessons hard to follow. But overall, this is a great introduction to the subject and can be completed much more quickly than suggested.

von Angel-Hongrui Z

24. Apr. 2019

I really like the class in a way how the class is structured, introducing common types of cancers, hallmarks, development process etc. I have learned a lot! The only thing I wish for the class is less technical or more time in explaining terminology etc.

von SHENDE V M

29. Sep. 2020

The course was good and very informative and reflects all the basic knowledge of introduction to cancer. I had also completed optional honors content but I didn't receive the certificate with honors. Thank you for making such a incredible online course.

von 1813253

23. Okt. 2019

Really an excellent course and course material and the way of teaching.Thank you very much for all the instructors and appreciating their effort in this work.I Learned lot about the screening, diagnosis, staging and treatment of Cancer.

Thanks a lot.

von Venkat R R

1. Juli 2020

The course is a good intro to cancer biology and a refresher to people with previous cancer knowledge. It covers the cancer cell hallmarks and the steps in metastasis. Also there is a session on cancer imaging and widely used treatment options.

von Nabajit B

3. Juni 2016

So far it's a very good course. I always wanted to learn about cancer as it took two lives from my family. I would give it a FIVE STAR if the professors could explain more elaborately as I have very little experience in this field. Thanks a lot

von Mohit A

13. Juni 2017

The course can include a little advanced training like showing some surgery videos and appropriate pictures and how treatment is actually given to the patients. This may help basic science researchers to understand more of the clinical part.

von Prejith S

5. März 2019

I am a postgraduate student of Oral Medicine and Radiology. Cancer is part of our curriculum and I found the lesson on hallmarks of cancer interesting. This course is a good introduction before you leap into detailed books on the subject.

von Moral R

28. Okt. 2020

I love the structure, organization, content and the teaching. Courses offered by the John Hopkins are very invigorating. However, I also believe, a guided project, or a practical experiment/assignment would make this course more valuable.

von Ayan B

30. Mai 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot of things from it. First 5 weeks were very good, but the last week was a little advanced. I think I would have understood better if I the videos had a little more explanation. But overall it was good.

von Shikhar v c

7. Sep. 2021

This course was very informative and helped us understand the basic knowledge about cancer and how it has been a devastating diseases for everyone worlwide. This course is perfect for anyone who wants to know the etiology of cancer.

von Rae R

4. Juni 2020

Although I completed all course material, very frustrating that I could not complete the course without paying for a certificate. Out of the 6 courses I am taking, this course is the only one requiring this. Disappointing.

von Eric S

3. Sep. 2018

Very informational and a helpful introduction. Structured very well and is easy to complete assignments. However the quizzes sometimes ask for minute details that do not result in good retention of the information.

von Anna W C

1. Juli 2020

Pretty good, shorter than some other courses I've taken. I think it should be spiced up more because I almost fell asleep once and that the quizzes should be more difficult but other than that, great course.

von Nicole M

16. Aug. 2016

I think this was a very good course and I definitely got out of it what I expected. I think anyone interested in advancing their knowledge on the general basics of cancer, this is a good place to start.

von Ishak Z

30. Mai 2020

I benefited hugely from this course although I don't have background in clinical practice. The introduction to Medical imagery was a little bit challenging for me, It could've been further simplified.

von Rebal N

11. Feb. 2020

i enjoyed the information gthat i have learned in this course. however, I already learnt the majority of these information i my university. hope that there is more detailed course about cancer

von Alaa H B E

21. Mai 2020

Very interesting course for one have to be a good fighters against cancer ,first step and be strong , I hope in future give more about genetic of cancer.

Thank you very much.

von Martina S

18. Okt. 2019

Thank you, it was a nice course, my first coursera. I find lectures quite general but definitely interesting. Good starting material. There is always space for improvement :)