Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.8
Sterne
968 Bewertungen
356 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

NT

30. Juli 2021

Thank you very much to the instructor at Duke University. This course has taught me a great deal of information. Things that I never knew before, it was interesting and rewarding. Thank you very much.

MS

30. Juli 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 357 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Rhys H

3. Apr. 2022

Excellent course. I wanted a basic understanding before getting some backyard chickens, this course went above and beyond my requirements, while still being accessible to a novice. Thank you.

von Annie P

26. Apr. 2020

Excellent course, excellent instructor. Difficult to hear some of the material at times as emotional and sensitive. I am happy to be vegan and let birds be free of pain and suffering.

von Anas S

10. Jan. 2017

perfectly organised and set on many short videos which makes learning much easier and simplified and i found all the topics very interesting and very well explained by the professor

von Mohammed H M A

4. Mai 2020

fantastic course and if could you add the poultry feed formulation by using computer software course in coursera.org it will be the best work.

thanks in advance with best Regards

von Patricia A F

14. Sep. 2017

Very useful in-depth information. A must for those interested in raising chickens - explaining the whys behind chicken behavior and how to correct or minimize unwanted behavior.

von Michelle B

11. Okt. 2017

thoroughly enjoyed this course. taught me a great deal about things I can and should be improving for my own. Helped me understand a lot more about the commercial side too.

von Muhammad I

15. Feb. 2019

An informative course for backyard and commercial poultry farmers to improve welfare aspects in the process of chicken production whether its for meat or egg production.

von ibrahim u

17. Apr. 2017

i have some backyard chickens this course helps me a lot towards understanding them and i would like to say they are doing really well in terms of health and i am glad.

von Serena S

24. Sep. 2016

An excellent course, whether you have backyard poultry or just want to learn more about domestic, show or commercial poultry care, this course is a font of information.

von Dionne R

25. Apr. 2020

Very interesting course. I have always considered raising backyard chickens and this helped tremendously in understanding chicken behavior and best practice guidelines

von Mostafa M

13. Okt. 2016

this course is excellant for who want to know more about chicken behaviour and welfare

i belive that when we know the normal behaviour we can know the disorders

thanks

von Savannah H

3. Juli 2017

Excellent course! It was a nice refresher on my animal welfare and behaviour courses from my undergrad, while also refreshing my basic poultry housing information too

von M A Y

20. Aug. 2019

I am an Animal Science student with specialization in Animal Nutrition and I found this course perfect with clear voice and focused theme material. just excellent!

von Shannon B

12. Aug. 2021

very knowledgeable, i would of liked to learn more about specific diseases chickens can get and how to cure them without a vet, but still a very enjoyable course.

von VINCENTIA M

4. Jan. 2021

It is really fun learning about chicken behaviour and welfare. It does help me to do a lot of correction in the field as I am working as veterinarian for poultry

von Jarif M

4. Juli 2020

This course complete the basic structure of chicken physiology,behaviour,welfare technique. I enjoyed and learned a lot. Hopefully will enjoyable for new comers.

von Tugrul D

19. Mai 2021

Certain part of the course require updates based on current applications as our industry is changing rapidly. Overall, it is very good short online course.

von David

30. Juni 2020

Very educational and enjoyable! Provides a good insight into the welfare concerns of chickens across several production methods. Would highly recommend!

von Ana O

25. Nov. 2016

Thank you, it was very helpful. I am starting to raise chickens next year in my backyard and I've learned so much that my confidence is boosted to 100%.

von Ida M

29. Apr. 2017

The course was clear and extremely informative. I have wanted to get chickens for a while and now I feel much more qualified to give them a good life!

von Kamel I S

2. Apr. 2022

it is very benefeticial and fruitful course a lot of interesting information about poultry business and practices and health and behaviour and welfare

von Dominique K

30. Apr. 2019

Excellent course with well presented lectures and a thorough overview of the issues associated with poultry keeping both at the large and small scale

von Marcos A N F

25. Aug. 2020

A great course to learn about chicken behaviour and animal welfare. Dr. Sandilands is a great professional. This course is really good and complete.

von Felipe M

4. Sep. 2019

Is a very complete course, Im a student of veterinary medicine in Colombia so is very helpful to see how the welfare is managed in develop countries

von Fernando R A

18. Feb. 2021

Excelente curso, me gusto mucho, me hubiera gustado que se presentaran videos de como se hace el sacrificio humanitario en las pequeñas granjas.