Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character von Wesleyan University

4.5
Sterne
1,446 Bewertungen
415 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N

Sep 26, 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 408 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

von Vishal M

Oct 16, 2019

It was an interesting and in depth course. The resources are good and especially how to ask questions to create a compelling characters. Its worth a shot.

von Savita B

Sep 07, 2017

Very good course, including excellent input from the teachers, and, in my opinion, some challenging assignments, which enable the student to learn more.

von Anthoni R

Jun 02, 2020

Great way to introduce writing character and how to embody those characters. Amy Bloom is a brilliant, welcomed voice in the ear of an aspiring writer.

von Victoria F S

Dec 28, 2018

All of the Creative Writing courses have been helpful to me in grounding me in my writing practice. I cannot thank you all enough for this experience.

von Raul N C G

Dec 21, 2018

Good course and interesting exercises. The instructor tackled the course in a bit different way that works fairly well for the course and its content.

von Trish S

Nov 09, 2016

This course offers great ideas and tools on how to make a character more 3D. Helpful links are offered and the discussion boards are very well done.

von Thangella S

Aug 12, 2020

The course is short and to the point and the assignments are also creative and challenging! Thank you Wesleyan University for such wonderful course!

von Aisha K

Jun 30, 2016

Excellent scaffolding of exercises to provide a broad intro aspects of character development. Enjoyable, meaningful, and great teaching methodology!

von Polina K

Feb 23, 2019

I learned a lot thanks to this course. The teachers are wonderful, and so is the information provided. I can feel my writing improve. Thank you:)

von Perri Z

May 31, 2017

I enjoyed listening to and reading each assignment's parts , all relevant and added more to my own learning perspective in developing characters.

von Hiobi H

Sep 05, 2017

Merci une fois de plus pour ce cours très très instructif. Les enseignants m'aident à poursuivre mon projet de littéraire actuellement en cours.

von Donna R

Oct 12, 2020

The craft of character was very enlighten and gives you the knowledge of creating characters and giving them an identity to be place in a story

von TJ S

Jul 05, 2018

Don't shy away from the challenging course material contained within, especially in Module 2. If writing was easy...y'know where this is going.

von Emily H

Mar 05, 2020

Really great video examples and writing prompts. Peer reviews have been insightful and I've enjoyed reading other's work. Great series so far!

von Abrar A A

Mar 20, 2018

I love the professor. Her tips and lessons and also the assignments.. They were quite challenging and took time to understand.. but I loved it

von Victoria

Dec 06, 2017

Great exercises that are very effective. A well-taught course with clever instruction designed to get you to the heart of writing character.

von Mariana

Mar 14, 2016

Wonderful! Very informative. Filled with examples, literature and very interesting interviews! Thank you so much! You're a great teacher!

von Yvette H

Oct 24, 2017

Really loved this course but the assignment instructions could be simplified. I cut and pasted them then added bullets to sort them out.

von Jaime E

Jun 06, 2020

I loved the assignments. They were the right amount of challenge and really enjoyed the instructor. Really helped me grow as a writer!

von Martha P G

Sep 29, 2020

Very helpful course. I am a beginning writer, and the information and the assignments showed me how to form and develop characters.

von James H

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent course. It regenerated my creativity which is what I hoped for and it cleared up some confusion I had about point of view.

von Ramona K

Oct 29, 2018

This gave me a new perspective on Character and I believe it will help my characters become more true to life than they have been.

von Aruna N

May 07, 2018

Really useful materials and exercises, working through the question of characterisation in a systematic and thought-provoking way.

von Deleted A

Nov 09, 2016

Is too bad that for those who can't pay can't be evaluated on the assignments. But the whole course is very good and interesting!

von Berta-Isabel C Á

May 23, 2018

The course is very interesting.

I learnt a lot in it.

It has got very interesting interviews and assignments.

Very useful for me!