Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description von Wesleyan University

4.7
Sterne
1,040 Bewertungen
315 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Top-Bewertungen

EG

Jul 02, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 308 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

von Piyush M

Jul 10, 2020

The exercised were the most fun and challenging part of the course and I learnt a lot but the feedback was a constant issue throughout. A few students do not really review but rush through it. Please get that fixed, the exercises deserve a good response.

von Nyema J

Aug 10, 2018

Until now I was hasty, wanting to tell the story - Now I want to show the story through character and setting. I realise the reader is disinterested unless they can walk in the shoes of my characters seeing the landscape as I see it.

von Michael H

Aug 16, 2016

I thought this course was very well done. The video lectures were very interesting, and the links to additional readings and videos was very welcome. Definitely one of the strongest segments of the creative writing specializations.

von Emily F

Jun 21, 2016

This class was pretty good. I liked the reading assignments, and there was some helpful instruction as well. I liked learning about the second person perspective, and the section on credibility and research was also really helpful.

von Erica R

Jun 20, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and the reading selected by Ms. Gauge. One gets the feeling she put a great deal of thought in what she wanted the students to learn. I also enjoyed the writing assignment about the 2nd person POV.

von Bernat R

Oct 27, 2017

Great exercises and explanations! But I still think the teachers and instructors should be more involved in correcting and giving feedback to student's assignments, opposite the the only student's assignments we can get now.

von Maya K

Oct 12, 2016

The creative writing series of classes have been extremely enjoyable. The classes are very well organized, the pace of the work was perfect for me. Wish there were another series of classes I could take.

von Shalini N

Jul 12, 2018

A good course a lot of learning. Except for the last week when there was nothing in depth. Also the last two assignments overlap??? The first three weeks were otherwise really great.

von Roy N

Jan 25, 2018

This was a very solid course. It introduced me to perspectives I hadn't heard before. I think my writing has improved because of the course. I am a lot better at setting my scenes.

von arya k s

Apr 02, 2018

This course makes you see your surroundings, it takes you back to your childhood and urges you to gather information from everywhere and tell it in a compelling manner.

von Karen R

Mar 03, 2018

At times the assignment title or the assignment itself didn't seem to fit the lesson for the week but the lessons were intriguing and got me thinking and writing!

von Sandra D

Feb 17, 2019

Good course overall. Assignments are challenging. I think more study material could be added in the course to make it more interesting.

von ANGEL Y S V

Aug 27, 2020

Me ayudó mucho a mejorar mis descripciones. Siempre he tenido problemas con eso, así que estoy muy contento con el resultado.

von Dawn S

Jun 02, 2016

This is great course for challenging your perceptions of things and encouraging you to try out different perspectives.

von Sharon

Apr 03, 2016

I enjoyed learning about how to create a vitamin rich unit of fiction and the importance of specific words.

von Abrar A A

Mar 23, 2018

love the professor n her approach to writing... some of the best n practical exercises I did in writing

von Ian B

Jul 04, 2017

Great course for getting into the nitty gritty of how your story should feel. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

von Lubaba A

Mar 16, 2017

it's amazing course that gave you a new point of view for writing and a very good training

von Bridgit

Nov 14, 2018

The Course is very good. I would like more assignments and tutor's grades

von Rima A

Mar 24, 2018

this course is really great. it helps you to think out of the box

von Sumit S

Jan 24, 2019

Helped marginally, visible change in my writing. I'm very happy.

von Paulo S

Jan 08, 2018

It helped me a lot. Has good lesson content

von Eternally P

Apr 27, 2020

Awesome course, awesome professors

von Perni

Nov 01, 2016

Great knowledge. Time consuming.

von Lisa D

Apr 30, 2018

This class was fun and helpful.