Chevron Left
Zurück zu A Crash Course in Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für A Crash Course in Data Science von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
5,080 Bewertungen
963 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Well taught
(48 Bewertungen)
Basic course
(76 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

SJ

Sep 10, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

JM

Jan 02, 2018

It is a very good course even if you are familiar with some aspects of data science work. If I have to make a suggestion, I would remark the importance of design skills during a data product,

Filtern nach:

826 - 850 von 931 Bewertungen für A Crash Course in Data Science

von Pavan M

Nov 09, 2018

This course is very basic and completely theoretical. The grading of questions is not proper. The passing mark is 80% but there are only 4 questions. Answering 3 questions correctly gives you 75% and answering 4 questions gives you 100%, then where is the passing mark question.

But the content is good.

von milosz

Nov 21, 2018

Very rudimentary but if the very basics are what you need, then it might suit you

von Scott K

Oct 11, 2015

Very basic course. If you know about data science, data analysis, or machine learning, you may find this class basic or boring. Good intro course for those who have no prior knowledge

von Yuhua N

Mar 09, 2016

Lectures were fairly straightforward but not really that exciting and the lecturers sometimes felt a little unprepared or underwhelming.

von Puranjay M

Jul 23, 2017

I think the course structure could be improved to give a better balance between the reading materials and spoken content. Though I understand it is a crash course better correlation between real life examples could help augment the course. For the amount of time spent the course does give a quick overview, but if you are looking for more business specific knowledge you will have to take additional courses.

von Vladimir C

May 23, 2016

Too basic.

von Stephanie M D

Dec 23, 2016

Nice overview for those of us unschooled in the language. Syntax of the notes and text is in need of major editing-proofreading.

von Ricardo J O

Jan 05, 2016

The courses in this specialization are - in my opinion, excessively short.

von Nandeep N

Jun 22, 2017

could have packed more punch into the course

von Víctor E G P

Dec 28, 2017

Good to know

von Brian N

Jan 09, 2017

A good introduction to data science.

von Thomas N

Jan 03, 2017

needed more depth

von Peter P

Mar 19, 2016

Great course for somebody who does not know anything about data science. When doing this specialisation there should be credit for those that did the other data science specialisation

von Sergio A M

Sep 01, 2017

Very basic.

von REKIL P

Feb 14, 2018

Good for ABSOLUTE beginners

von Pablo T

Dec 25, 2017

ok introduction if you have no background in DS.

if you have experience, take the quizes first, its pretty basic.

von Siddharth M

Feb 26, 2017

The first week gave me a good insight into the data science process. I now understand the situations in which Data Science can best be applied. However, I still do not fully understand the statistics aspect. It would help me if the instructors would provide examples in detail of supervised vs unsupervised learning. I seem to understand the theory behind it but I am not sure how valuable it will be for me.

von Marcellus A

Nov 01, 2016

Good introductory course but a bit too superficial.

von ram s

Mar 20, 2016

I want to give 3.5 stars but there is only option for 3 or 4.

Given that it's geared more towards wanna be managers in this field. I would have expected lot of case studies, and links to additional material for individual reading plus a mini write up or a project at the end.

For MOOCs to compete with a degree program or an onsite instruction few of the things I think that are needed are

Interviews with industry practitioners which is a big plus.

interviews/postings from people with similar background as the 90% of the MOOC students of this program who made it... this motivates the students from dropping from the middle of the course/specilization programs

links to additional articles that the students can read at leisure

writeup/project as assignments that the students can pursue and publish (not necessarily for grade but as a mind jogger)

One more thing that I think should help (not specific to this course) is that the student with the best grade should be offered one free course and think this will motivate the students to complete the courses.

von Deepak R

Jan 01, 2017

Good overview... but expected more content..

von Sam B

Jun 18, 2017

Interesting course but structure was a bit odd I thought, it was not clear why so much time was devoted at the outset to the difference between Machine Learning and data science.

von Angel S

Jan 11, 2016

Interesting course

von Kristen G

Jun 15, 2017

presenters were a little hard to follow. but good content

von Michael G

Jun 13, 2018

Some topics are too high-level. But a great team delivering the content (as always)!

von Evgeny K

Sep 25, 2016

This course leaves you frustrated, as valuable information is only ad the end and at the beginning. It doesn't really answer questions of what are data science, big data, machine learning, how they interact and how to use them.