Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
9,185 Bewertungen
2,084 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

AS
11. Jan. 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

VC
16. Mai 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtern nach:

1976 - 2000 von 2,064 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von SHOURYA Y

9. März 2021

The videos were a bit tough to understand.

von LATIFF E

23. Jan. 2021

The teaching does not feel very intuitive.

von Ruben L

19. Juni 2020

La parte de probabilidad no esta muy clara

von Shekh R

18. Sep. 2020

Give right information about the subject

von Dixit K

29. Apr. 2020

It is good for refreshing your concepts

von Colin X

14. Juli 2020

Last part, part 4 needs improvement.

von ahmed s

29. Nov. 2019

the lectures of last week r very bad

von THOTAKURA B

25. Aug. 2020

It is not that much effective.

von Binoy K P

6. Juli 2020

T%his course is purely basic.

von adapa m

19. Juni 2020

good course but expected more

von Aydar A

28. Aug. 2017

too superficial to be usefull

von Prasad K

11. Jan. 2019

1st 2 weeks were very basic.

von Vijay G

12. Juli 2020

Great mathematical analysis

von Snigdha G

13. Okt. 2020

Can I get a Certificate?

von Hugh J

27. Sep. 2020

Needs more statistics

von Elvin G

19. Okt. 2018

It is too low level

von Korkrid A

27. Apr. 2018

Good for beginners.

von Vikas G

17. Juni 2020

Fantastic teaching

von PARDESHI R H

17. Mai 2020

Very useful course

von Shanmuga P

23. Feb. 2018

Good!!

von MUTHU A P S

7. Juni 2020

good

von Carolin K S

21. Juli 2020

This class fails to give a single explanation as to how the math skills will apply to data science. The first three weeks are a nice basic explanation of some of the math that will be needed. If you haven't done coding before or have some background in coding, you will have no idea where this class is going to be applied. The fourth week is the worst explanation of probability you can imagine -- opaque derivations and almost no explanations. I do not recommend this class as it fails to address the "why" of the title -- how does math apply to data science.

von Dennis F

15. Mai 2021

i passed all quizzes and exams at 100% most of them in one try.

presentations were a bit sloppy, and often i found i understood the concepts, but not how they were presented.

I did learn things from the course, but the experience could have been a lot better

especially week 4 was problematic, the bayesian probability and inverse probability was hard to understand from the videos or the notes alone, or in combination.

notes for one of the video had only notes for about the first half of the video, so no notes for the rest.

von Mike S

18. März 2021

The content is OK; the execution isn't quite ready. Most is fairly basic, but is necessary and potentially a good review. But the course comes across like a first draft. Mistakes in videos are not re-recorded, but called out with a disclaimer. I believe there are two errors in answers to practices and quizzes, but it's possibly my own mistake on one. I noticed one instance where the correct answer is in a different font than incorrect answers. Overall, OK content but not very polished. It could use a second revision.

von Borja C

10. Sep. 2020

The first 3 weeks are quite good... but then it makes a gigantic leap on the 4th week. Please update the explanations on Bayes and the examples... they are not optimal. Judging from the comments I have seen, I am not the only one.

Thinking about it, I think maybe it would be worth to spend more time with probability and a bit less with the other stuff or even add another week... definitely probability in one week is a far shot... and it is key to understand data science correctly