Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
9,676 Bewertungen
2,192 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

RS
5. Mai 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

AS
11. Jan. 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtern nach:

2001 - 2025 von 2,188 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Jason C

3. Aug. 2020

The class starts off very well. When it moves to the full professor, the lesson quality falls, as the lectures lack the younger professor's examples and explanations which guided the learner into the quiz material.

von Siyabonga F C

3. Feb. 2021

Had trouble with week four, I think the instructor tried to summarize Bayes theorem, but it made it vague, had to watch other videos from other sources to fully understand the concept. Otherwise it was good.

von theo

24. Apr. 2020

The first three weeks are well explained, the last week is the most difficult and the professor does not provide examples. There are many mistakes in the quizzes and this seems to be done very haphazardly.

von Mei Y

27. Aug. 2017

Broad coverage of topics in a compact course. Useful for those looking for a refresher course. Could be improved by explaining where in data science the chosen topics would be relevant to provide context.

von Supasuk L

9. Aug. 2020

The part about baye's theprem is really hard to grasp, perhaps less equation and more diagram would be better for student to understand the concept. (for me I look at youtube for better understanding)

von vignaux

2. Nov. 2020

The course is well but the last part of the course is boring because the principal interest of the course is data analyst with explanation of smart theorem as Baye's and this is not very well explain

von Karen B

25. März 2021

The first sections are very good. Nice review and learned some new concepts (or at least was a refresh). The probability section is a tad weak. Could use more explanation and more examples.

von Patricia C

26. Jan. 2021

Good basic review, but I would have liked more examples. (Examples did not have to be in video format, but perhaps in supplementary material.) Very much appreciated that this was offered.

von Margaret C

23. Nov. 2020

The course is really good until you get to the older professor. He doesn't explain the material as thoroughly and is lacking in enough examples to help you understand how to do the quizzes.

von Mariam I

27. Dez. 2020

The second half of the course about probability theory was not explained thoroughly. Professor Daniel Egger rushed through it and did not spend much time explaining appropriate examples.

von Marcus C

4. Nov. 2020

Covered the basics well, but I really struggled with the probability section and felt it could/should have been split into more sections with more examples to demonstrate the concepts.

von Rashmi T

24. Mai 2021

I started off great and was enjoying the content of the course till I reached week 4. The last week was horrible! Unclear instructions and very difficult tests that made no sense.

von Alisa K

24. Aug. 2020

Week 1-2 are great. Week 4 is not what I expected. The professor did not explain, just read the slide. I need to see extra video on youtube to be able to understand the topic.

von Akshay M

20. Aug. 2020

Doesn't include statistics!

The combinations part and the probability part is super confusing. Had to read the from various other sources. Not a very good course to opt for.

von Ashish T

17. Mai 2020

The classes from week 1-3 were really good but the week 4 content was very confusing to learn. I had to look online to actually understand what was actually being taught.

von Charles H

7. Sep. 2021

This course started off good with enough examples to get through the test. Week 3 and especially week 4 was missing content that was either not mentioned or glazed over.

von Neha B

3. Feb. 2018

the course was really good. I just hope that we can get more practice questions in between the lectures so that we can understand the concept more precisely and deeply.

von B L

18. Okt. 2020

Good course, but week 4 lecture video quality not as good as the preceding 3 weeks.

In my opinion, probability course in week 4 needs further lectures and examples.

von Naveen K

25. Mai 2020

The course would have been better if little more elaboration would have been done for the final week but nevertheless it was a wonderful course to have completed.

von Madara I

6. Apr. 2020

In lot of places formulas is not shown in tests. Last section about probability had really hard questions in tests, more examples in lessons would be better.

von Marie r

20. Okt. 2020

I had a hard time with the quizzes in the fourth week and could not find help in the given information. But i really enjoyed the focus on correct notation

von Deleted A

25. Juni 2020

The probability module, i.e. Chapter 4, was explained very obscurely and I needed to spend extra time looking for information to understand the concepts.

von Arvind A P

25. Juni 2020

First 3 weeks were quite easy and everyone will get it but for the 4th week concepts are not explained properly and very tough problems added for quiz

von Sujoy D C

19. Jan. 2019

Overall it's a good one. In Math part I liked it a lot but in Stat I think Prof should explain a bit more in depth and the content is not good enough.

von Traci P

12. Juni 2020

I would like to see more useful tools like Excel, real world examples, practice exercise. Weeks 1-3 were great, Week 4 module needs some real work.