Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
9,141 Bewertungen
2,071 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

VC
16. Mai 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

VS
22. Sep. 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

Filtern nach:

2026 - 2050 von 2,051 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Rodrigue S

24. Juni 2020

This is really basic basic.

von Derek S

29. März 2018

last week was very hard

von Deeraj

30. Apr. 2020

It's nice to learn

von Stan M

15. Feb. 2021

dropped

von Eray C

25. Jan. 2021

With all due respect but this was honestly the worst paid education-experience I've EVER had in my whole life! What is this?

Okay let's summarize the problems:

First of all. This course does NOT provide any useful math skills. No, in the first 3 courses, you learn a tiny piece of minimum basics of college math.

And then comes week 4....... what.. is... this... why.. Any note written on the screen looks like the drafts of college times, where we had no pleasure to even write.

It's totally hard to even understand what is being "explained" nor to even READ what is being written! It's a total loss of time and money. The only thing worth in this course is the title of the course, written on the certificate. But there absolutely NO quality behind it! I'm honestly disappointed.

Half of the quiz-questions are very misleading because of lacking a proper, clear and distinctive use of language (is this math or not???)!! The theory PDFs are okay at the beginning then get worse with each week. There is such a lack of clarity proper explanation!

please just delete this course.

PS: it seems, the discussion forum is not even touched by providers. Why? There are a ton of suggestions to improve the course. I mean... there WERE... if someone would read them to actually improve the course.

PPS: And HOW did this course get 4.5 Stars?? Makes no sense to me.

von John Z

7. Mai 2021

This course was pure garbage. Though it seemed promising in the beginning, it was clearly too ambitious and poorly designed. The topics are too quickly covered, and don't build upon each other. It's a very disconnected learning experience. The probability modules are completely useless. The "instructor" just read some definitions and sloppily wrote some formulas on a virtual whiteboard. Though I appreciate the exposure to a wide array of topics, my time would have been better spent reading a book on the same concepts - an exercise I will inevitably now have to do.

von Katrina E

1. Okt. 2020

I chose this course because it said it was for beginners but the content was extremely difficult and was not at a beginner level at all. The presenter assumed knowledge and the presenter himself made errors during his presentation and did not explain concepts well. The quiz was very difficult to attempt because the questions often went beyond what was in the course. Do not attempt this course if you do not have actuarial science level.

von Mahdi S

15. Okt. 2020

I expected much much much more than what I was exposed to in this course. The video companions could be more detailed, having more examples (I believe math is learnt via examples) and the lectures, especially in the third and fourth weeks were amazingly disengaging.

von Krishnachandran R

29. Dez. 2020

Please give the certificate sir.

Why didn't i get certificate? I have tried a lot to get this one, i have lost sleep for many nights. Im coming from a poor family. I dont have enough money with me. If i get this certificate it will help for my career.

Help me sir..

von Sitalakshmi I

19. Sep. 2020

The course was not properly taught. There should have been more quizzes, more systemic approach to explaining the problems and solutions. Also the feedback after exams and quizzes were non existent

von Ranjan B

16. Mai 2020

The course provides very basics concepts of Mathematics and Statistics.This course would help those who needs fundamental acquaintance with basic theorems of Mathematics and Statistics.

von Jennifer N C

2. Mai 2021

j guess I would be better suited to a course for pre-beginner beginner levels. This has been over my head since the first video.

von Valentyn B

31. Okt. 2020

First, its too easy, almost intuitional. Then it overwhelms you with a plethora of formulas, no mathematical logic provided.

von Cassidy O

18. Jan. 2021

very poor instructional videos. videos and examples in videos are extremely hard to follow and not well-organized.

von Vishwang B

4. Juli 2020

Found too many errors in both content and quizzes. Good basic course for beginners. But, the errors must be fixed

von Jared L

1. Juli 2020

Numerous errors in the videos, very bad audio quality. Not worth the time.

von Miguel P M

3. Juli 2019

Extremely Basic. Not useful for DataScience in my oppinion.

von A S D

1. Juli 2020

I UNDERSTOOD MY DOUET IN THIS COURSE CLEAR IN DATA SCINCE

von Ishwariyalakshmi E

5. Juli 2020

I don't recieve the certificate the course is good

von Sumit B

30. Apr. 2020

I want to unenroll from this course

von Pierre L

24. Apr. 2020

Too many typos in the videos

von Asdoost

9. Juni 2020

Terrible, just terrible!

von Youssef A

12. Sep. 2020

too basic

von Bota D

6. Sep. 2020

too easy

von Angelos R

20. März 2020

Boring