Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
10,434 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

AS

11. Jan. 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

VS

22. Sep. 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

Filtern nach:

2101 - 2125 von 2,332 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Jeffrey A B

22. Juni 2019

Felt like the first 3 weeks were pretty good but the probability section needs a lot more detailed explanations and examples to make the information clear. For those that are already OK with this subject, it's probably fine but for those that haven't had much background in probability, this part was lacking.

von Jennifer H

11. Juli 2021

The math went from extremely easy in weeks 1-3, to very challenging (with insufficient explanations) in week 4. I watched the videos from weeks 1-3 on 1.5x speed, but even going back to normal speed for week 4 was not enough. I had to find external resources to provide additional explanations for week 4.

von Scott M

16. Aug. 2020

The first half was planned and organized. The second half seemed haphazard. Examples were a little hard to follow. Quizzes were fine and seemed to test the material presented. I have only taken three other courses (4 total) and this one seemed a little rushed and the second half was created on a whim.

von Danilo C

17. Jan. 2018

First 2 weeks of the course is amazing, very good didactics. The second teacher does not use very good examples, and the thing starts to fill like old math classes, but overall is good. I will need to redo the last 2 weeks because i fill that I will not remember most of it so easy as the first 2 weeks.

von Saurabh K

27. Mai 2018

Good for high level understanding of few of the concepts. But last week 4 tutorials are covered at very high level , it was quite difficult to understand probability topic without referring to other online tutorials. I wish more examples could be given in the tutorials to strengthen understanding.

von Margaret S

25. Juli 2017

The class is good. However, the second half of the class zips through concepts that need a lot more explanation than is provided. Moreover this class would benefit from an optional tutorial on how to input factorials into a calculator as the answers on the exam go to the 8th decimal place.

von Glory J

6. Juni 2021

The course was okay. Some fundamentals like logarithms was clear to me. However, they did not do a very good job in explaining the probability section like Bayes' conditional probability and binomial theorem in a clear and concise way like it was done with the other topics

von Nicolás M

3. Mai 2021

While it is a good course overall, and the first three modules are excellent, the final module on probability has poor explanations. To understand and complete this module I had to review other sites and come back, following recommendations from many other students.

von Elizabeth C

14. Jan. 2021

Didn't like it. It helped me cover some of the concepts I have to know as an aspiring data scientist and the problems are good though tricky, but the explanations were confusing. I often find myself watching Khan Academy videos then coming back to do the questions.

von Aasiya S

28. Juli 2021

The course could have been better, since majority concepts were not explained elaborately especially module 4. Will not recommend if you really want to learn something. Tests and assignments were good as they were not direct questions but based on application.

von Taruna J

6. Aug. 2020

Some concepts have been explained beautifully, which made things easier to understand. Some concepts (probability) I earlier understood so very well, but now I am confused with the teachings from this course. I don't really like how it has been explained.

von Nitikorn S

22. Mai 2020

The first half is really well explained. However, the second part could be improved with a more detailed explanation rather than introducing the equation and jump straight to the problem. Also, I think the quizzes in the latter part are (too) difficult.

von KRISHNAMURTHI R

22. Mai 2020

Concepts are not clearly explained in the video sessions. I had to seek some other you tube videos to get the concepts with clarity . Some of the Practice quiz feedback are not fully explanatory and required more outside reference to clear the doubts .

von Sahar A

31. Dez. 2020

It was a good review for me. However, I expected the course curriculum to be more advanced, considering the course title. It was mostly some basics. But good if you want to have a review on some probability subjects that you may have forgotten.

von Chris

8. Nov. 2019

You guys need to give better practice examples and scenarios in Weeks 3 and 4. That being said, I think the courses you presented give a nice foundation. I'm going to practice on my own time finding problems of the subjects you've spoken about.

von Gregory B

5. Mai 2020

The course has issues later on - there is inconsistent notation, no provided worksheets, formula sheets, documentation, or summaries of any kind. At first this isn't a problem when the course is simple but is much more problematic later on.

von Saeed M

2. Sep. 2020

As a whole: very useful review of the themes.

However:

Quite a few Latex statements spread around the quizes.

Probability could be explained a bit more thoroughly. I had to look up external sources to get a better grasp of the subject matter.

von Andre G

13. Jan. 2021

Sometimes a little bit confusing due to the handwritings. In addition I would not expect a wrong statements/mistake in 10 minute video, sure the corrections are fine, but I would recommend to record the video again without any mistakes.

von Celtikill

11. Okt. 2020

Challenging module which lacks the practical application needed to feel confident going into quizzes. I found working through the quizzes themselves more valuable than the reading material. Plan to watch, rewatch, and take good notes.

von Georgina M

2. Aug. 2020

Some really good course content, but a strange mix of levels/difficulty. I have some maths background so skipped most of the videos but using the notes and quizzes I still learned some new topics (like set notation and Bayes theorem).

von sudip t

12. Juli 2020

It was nothing new and easy for me but if you have a gap in your study and forgot whatever you had studied in your school then this course is definitely for you to learn some math skills which is important for data science.

von Andrea P

22. Dez. 2017

A good review of basic math skills, however I believed the "SUM RULE, CONDITIONAL PROBABILITY AND BAYES'THEOREM should be discussed much more in the last week module with more example and exercise. The 1,2,3 week are great.

von MJ A

12. Juli 2020

The first 2 parts(weeks) were good and easy to grasp, but the last two were a bit advanced and needed more time to handle the concepts, but overall a good course in general, get more more practice before attempting quiz

von Bobby M

19. Juli 2020

The early videos are good. The videos toward the end were not as helpful for a person new to the subject. I had to look up other tutorials on youtube to understand the material enough to pass the quiz and final test.

von Michael L

18. Okt. 2017

I feel the probability portion of the course was too quick for the material covered. Yet the quizzes for the probability section were very demanding. It was difficult to successfully complete the probability quizzes.