Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
10,447 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

VS

22. Sep. 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

VC

16. Mai 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtern nach:

2151 - 2175 von 2,334 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Deleted A

25. Juni 2020

The probability module, i.e. Chapter 4, was explained very obscurely and I needed to spend extra time looking for information to understand the concepts.

von Arvind A P

25. Juni 2020

First 3 weeks were quite easy and everyone will get it but for the 4th week concepts are not explained properly and very tough problems added for quiz

von Sujoy D C

19. Jan. 2019

Overall it's a good one. In Math part I liked it a lot but in Stat I think Prof should explain a bit more in depth and the content is not good enough.

von Brian P

22. Juni 2022

I​ really enjoyed the course, but I really would have appreciated more example problems and their solutions, particularly in the probability section.

von Traci P

12. Juni 2020

I would like to see more useful tools like Excel, real world examples, practice exercise. Weeks 1-3 were great, Week 4 module needs some real work.

von Roger V

18. Juni 2020

I expected more from the course, like better presentation (slides or something like that) and the first 3 weeks are much more basic than I expected

von Yonax L

2. Juni 2020

Quizzes are way more difficult and different than what was taught in the lecture videos and readings. (This apply the most to the last week module)

von Francisco G

28. Sep. 2020

Explanations for last two modules are somewhat confusing. I had to consult other materials and read discussion forums in order to understand.

von Juan T

17. Aug. 2021

Extremely basic at start and then ramp up too fast. Videos of the 3rd and 4th week were poorly descriptive and add little or no concepts

von Stephanie M

5. Juli 2020

Modules 1-3 were great. But the 4th module on probability was not only very difficult but I finished the course still not understanding.

von Tony H

7. Feb. 2019

The material covered was very useful for a beginner/intermediate course, however, the style of the presenters was not always very clear.

von Nafiseh G

8. Aug. 2022

The f​irst 2 weeks tought organized and simple but weeks 3 and 4 are getting harder and he passed through complicated concepts so fast.

von Maximilian T

16. Dez. 2021

pretty ok - don't know if thats the math you need for data science... The last part about probabilities was quite interesting for me.

von Michael O

22. Apr. 2021

First two weeks are excellent but the last two are difficult to follow with little assistance to make it easier to understand.

von Leon L

12. Dez. 2017

it's the foundation for data science, but these contents are too simple. I think it's not enough for a good data analyst.

von Shah F

5. Juli 2020

Statistics and probability part is a bit difficult to grasp.

Anything that can be done to make it easier would be great.

von phung s

16. März 2021

Probability and Function sections are too hard to understand

Exercise is sometimes so confused and seems wrong answers

von Martino V

29. Mai 2017

a good selection of topics, but way too formula based rather than understanding based, especially in the second half.

von Felix H

30. März 2020

Some of the quiz questions have mathematical errors (e.g. inside of a log cannot be negative) or are quite unclear.

von Hunain K

8. Sep. 2021

I THINK MATHS PROBLEMS SHOULD BE MORE . THERE WERE LESS PRACTISE PROBLEMS . HOPEFULLY YOU WILL GET TO KNOW THIS.

von Dipyaman G

23. Juli 2021

The final course on Probability can definitely be reworked upon. Otherwise, the entire module was pretty good.

von Manish G

26. Sep. 2019

The last module could have been done better. More examples to be included for explaining probability problems.

von L J

15. Aug. 2020

the first two weeks were brilliant, but I had a really hard time comprehending the 3rd and 4th week material.

von Paola G

15. Aug. 2020

Thee explanation of week 4 was not comprehensive and the quizzes were too complicated for what was covered.