Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
9,141 Bewertungen
2,071 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

VC
16. Mai 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

VS
22. Sep. 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

Filtern nach:

1876 - 1900 von 2,051 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Celtikill

11. Okt. 2020

Challenging module which lacks the practical application needed to feel confident going into quizzes. I found working through the quizzes themselves more valuable than the reading material. Plan to watch, rewatch, and take good notes.

von Georgina M

2. Aug. 2020

Some really good course content, but a strange mix of levels/difficulty. I have some maths background so skipped most of the videos but using the notes and quizzes I still learned some new topics (like set notation and Bayes theorem).

von sudip t

12. Juli 2020

It was nothing new and easy for me but if you have a gap in your study and forgot whatever you had studied in your school then this course is definitely for you to learn some math skills which is important for data science.

von Andrea P

22. Dez. 2017

A good review of basic math skills, however I believed the "SUM RULE, CONDITIONAL PROBABILITY AND BAYES'THEOREM should be discussed much more in the last week module with more example and exercise. The 1,2,3 week are great.

von MJ A

12. Juli 2020

The first 2 parts(weeks) were good and easy to grasp, but the last two were a bit advanced and needed more time to handle the concepts, but overall a good course in general, get more more practice before attempting quiz

von Bobby M

19. Juli 2020

The early videos are good. The videos toward the end were not as helpful for a person new to the subject. I had to look up other tutorials on youtube to understand the material enough to pass the quiz and final test.

von Michael L

18. Okt. 2017

I feel the probability portion of the course was too quick for the material covered. Yet the quizzes for the probability section were very demanding. It was difficult to successfully complete the probability quizzes.

von Jason C

3. Aug. 2020

The class starts off very well. When it moves to the full professor, the lesson quality falls, as the lectures lack the younger professor's examples and explanations which guided the learner into the quiz material.

von Siyabonga F C

3. Feb. 2021

Had trouble with week four, I think the instructor tried to summarize Bayes theorem, but it made it vague, had to watch other videos from other sources to fully understand the concept. Otherwise it was good.

von theo

24. Apr. 2020

The first three weeks are well explained, the last week is the most difficult and the professor does not provide examples. There are many mistakes in the quizzes and this seems to be done very haphazardly.

von Mei Y

27. Aug. 2017

Broad coverage of topics in a compact course. Useful for those looking for a refresher course. Could be improved by explaining where in data science the chosen topics would be relevant to provide context.

von Supasuk L

9. Aug. 2020

The part about baye's theprem is really hard to grasp, perhaps less equation and more diagram would be better for student to understand the concept. (for me I look at youtube for better understanding)

von vignaux

2. Nov. 2020

The course is well but the last part of the course is boring because the principal interest of the course is data analyst with explanation of smart theorem as Baye's and this is not very well explain

von Karen B

25. März 2021

The first sections are very good. Nice review and learned some new concepts (or at least was a refresh). The probability section is a tad weak. Could use more explanation and more examples.

von Patricia C

26. Jan. 2021

Good basic review, but I would have liked more examples. (Examples did not have to be in video format, but perhaps in supplementary material.) Very much appreciated that this was offered.

von Margaret C

23. Nov. 2020

The course is really good until you get to the older professor. He doesn't explain the material as thoroughly and is lacking in enough examples to help you understand how to do the quizzes.

von Mariam I

27. Dez. 2020

The second half of the course about probability theory was not explained thoroughly. Professor Daniel Egger rushed through it and did not spend much time explaining appropriate examples.

von Marcus C

4. Nov. 2020

Covered the basics well, but I really struggled with the probability section and felt it could/should have been split into more sections with more examples to demonstrate the concepts.

von Alisa K

24. Aug. 2020

Week 1-2 are great. Week 4 is not what I expected. The professor did not explain, just read the slide. I need to see extra video on youtube to be able to understand the topic.

von Akshay M

20. Aug. 2020

Doesn't include statistics!

The combinations part and the probability part is super confusing. Had to read the from various other sources. Not a very good course to opt for.

von Ashish T

17. Mai 2020

The classes from week 1-3 were really good but the week 4 content was very confusing to learn. I had to look online to actually understand what was actually being taught.

von Neha B

3. Feb. 2018

the course was really good. I just hope that we can get more practice questions in between the lectures so that we can understand the concept more precisely and deeply.

von B L

18. Okt. 2020

Good course, but week 4 lecture video quality not as good as the preceding 3 weeks.

In my opinion, probability course in week 4 needs further lectures and examples.

von Naveen K

25. Mai 2020

The course would have been better if little more elaboration would have been done for the final week but nevertheless it was a wonderful course to have completed.

von Madara I

6. Apr. 2020

In lot of places formulas is not shown in tests. Last section about probability had really hard questions in tests, more examples in lessons would be better.