Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
9,141 Bewertungen
2,071 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

VC
16. Mai 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

VS
22. Sep. 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

Filtern nach:

2001 - 2025 von 2,051 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Enrico L

30. Mai 2020

I was attracted by the syllabus (substance) but I found the presentation of the teachers quite disturbing (form); bad calligraphy, some mistakes, poor explanations. Anyway I completed the course and it will be useful as a general introduction to the topics.

von David S

26. Mai 2020

The probability section left many serious gaps in information compared to the test. I had to take the exam multiple times, and even after restarting half of the class twice. I'm not usually one to have to do this for a class.

von Hitesh D

21. Juni 2020

Video lectures were not very clear. It looked like these lectures are for revision and not for learning it first time. Baye's Theorem is yet not clear to me... I just mugged up some formulas which i will eventually forget.

von Sandeep M

21. Mai 2020

The weeks 1-3 although elementary were explained well but the change of professor on the last one really did nothing. There were far better tutors on youtube teaching the same things he did more clearly.

von Jayprakash C

1. Sep. 2020

Concepts not covered well enough, just for the sake of teaching. Pure time waste. Bayesian Theory was not taught up to the mark, I had to refer external resources to understand it well.

von Gaurav A

25. Mai 2020

the video learning was good, but the quiz questions were at a very different difficulty levels. I would just like to say that this was supposed to be an beginner level course.

von E M

27. Juli 2017

This course is very short. I've completed it in about 4 hours. Nothing was told about linear algebra, statistics, optimization. It is not enough even to learn Data Science.

von Ashraf S

17. Jan. 2019

This course dos not contain enough examples which needed to train and practice ,PDF is not clear enough and does not contain any problems to practice.

Thanks

von Amanda H

26. März 2021

The second professor isn't great. I don't think it's his fault, but a lot of information was crammed into 2 weeks and I had to do a lot of self-teaching.

von Saleem G

30. Apr. 2020

Week 1 and Week 2 material is very well presented. Week 3 was presented very poorly but reading the notes and youtube helped. Week 4 went over my head

von Maria K

21. Nov. 2020

Materials provided are not sufficient to fully understand the concepts. One has to look for additional books and forums on the internet.

von Jomon K S

11. Mai 2020

The content of the course was simple. But the quiz were above average. The classes were not sufficient to answer the questions.

von Esaú C

25. Apr. 2020

I

t's a good review for the people that know something but will be very hard for students that don't have a background in Maths

von Vaibhav J

10. Feb. 2019

Found the title of the course mis-leading! School level Math skills are taught. Found the title to be similar to "click-baits"

von Hubert W A E

12. Apr. 2021

It was too short, I think they must add additional mathematics course to make this program complete for Data Science needs

von Xose C

6. Apr. 2020

You'd spend lots of time checking other sources as they do not explain things in detail. They assume many things.

von Peter G

4. März 2018

I enjoyed the first 2 weeks. Weeks 3 and 4 were harder to follow. Too few examples, particularly in week 4.

von Andersson F R A

17. Mai 2020

A pesar de que el curso es básico, la parte de probabilidad no está muy bien explicada.

von Nayaung L

30. Juni 2020

The last probability course is really horrible It should be changed or make it easier.

von vivek a

12. Apr. 2020

The course name should be Bais Mathematics instead of Data Science Maths Skills.

von PRASAD K

23. Mai 2020

Concepts from Probability up to Bayes' Theorem could have been explained better

von Saurabh S

11. Juli 2017

Week 1 and week 2 are good. rest of the weeks are very fast and not clear.

von Jonathan H

8. Feb. 2017

Very basic course... probably won't teach you a lot of new things

von 小洋xiaoyang

27. Dez. 2020

Wish there will be more example question in the lectures

von A M A

24. Dez. 2017

Probability part is good others are elementary math