Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Music Theory

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fundamentals of Music Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.6
Sterne
1,196 Bewertungen
350 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Aug 23, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

KM

May 01, 2020

Its not as easy as it seems, it will give you a good challenge. After you finish this, you will be more confident about your music theory. Thank you University of Edinburgh! Thank you Coursera!

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 341 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Music Theory

von Antonia T B

Jun 30, 2019

I'm a musician and a teacher and took this course just to refresh some concepts. I learnt a lot but I found this course too theoretical. I missed the music here! There is one professor who is amazing and played a lot (forgot his name, he plays cembalo). The other ones were too serious and too theoretical. Have in mind that this is a difficult course. You have to know music in order to be able to pass the quizzes and the final exam (which are both difficult). Thanks a lot! / Antonia

von Sara S

Mar 06, 2018

I've found this course very helpful to improve my knowledge of music theory. Some teachers are very clear and passionate about what they teach. However I don't think I would recommend this course to those who know nothing about music, I think it is necessary to know at least how to read music. I found the quizzes and the final exam very challenging and difficult but they helped me maybe more than the lessons themselves to get a better view on this subject.

von Fiona S

Jul 05, 2017

I think that this is an excellent course and I got a lot out of it. However, at times, I found that the quiz and exam questions were far extended beyond the material covered in the lecture. For example, in lectures, the keys were often limited to C Maj, and A Min, but the quiz questions would be much more difficult extending to keys with many more sharps and flats. It might be that further examples, or lectures could be added to address this.

von Xavier T P

Nov 10, 2016

I think it is a really good course, unfortunately too advanced for someone that is just starting to play the recorder and recognises the notes and so on. Also the fact that the notes are ABCDEFG instead of DO.RE.MI.FA... made thinks a little bit confusing for me. I learnt some stuff until 3rd week where started to be quite complicated, 4th week was frustrating. Maybe in the future I'll come back to it.

von Dakota S L

Nov 18, 2019

Great content for an introductory course regarding the topics they covered - helped me fill in missing gaps of knowledge. Lots of clear examples too. My criticisms of the course are:

- Usage of English terminology for rhythms (i.e. quavers, etc.)

- The last video explaining cadences in depth has a lot of audio issues - the instructor is quiet and there are suddenly large spikes in volume from noises

von Gabriel G d O

Feb 28, 2018

I could give five stars, but I've ended up with four and I'll explain why. The course is awesome, instructors are great. The problem is the pace. At some point you have to absorb a considerable amount of information in a short period of time. Of course, it's not a reason to avoid the course, but this feedback could be useful for further adjustments reflecting in a better product for all community.

von Jael T

Jun 30, 2017

This course was really good and I learned a lot, but the teachers jumped around a lot and assumed that the students knew a lot of information already. I was able to survive simply because I had studied about a third of the information presented already. It is a very good course, but not complete. More explanations and examples of HOW to do/calculate the concepts presented would be nice.

von Sarah A

Jul 13, 2020

This course it is a great tool to study about music theory and it helped me to increase my knowledge about this topic. However, I don't think that it's an introductory course, because the quizzes of the latests weeks(3,4,5 and 6) had a gigantic raise of difficulty, Therefore, if you're a beginner in music theory or if you don't know anything about it, I wouldn't recommend this course.

von Anıl Ç

Oct 03, 2016

Generally this course has good subjects and syllabus. In some parts of course they teach reasons of the subjects and it becomes more logical for me. The only reason that I gave four stars is lecture videos are not enough for the final exam. Especially for part 2 of final exam, some questions are more detailed for given lectures. However, it was a good introduction for music theory.

von Jan S

Jan 15, 2017

First of all: Thank you very much for providing this, I've learned a lot!

Why not 5 stars?

In some cases you just used a link to Wikipedia as additional material for a video. In the first and second week you had more details, I know you already kindly invested a lot of time, but I would appreciate if you could add some details to those sections where you just used links.

von Natthanan K

Jul 02, 2020

A variety of topics in music theory was well-organized. Series of practice questions are usefully available. One suggestion is the auditory materials should often accompany written explanations to help learners be acquainted with what you would hear and underlying theory when lecturing about certain topics such as the difference between some time meters or something.

von Lillian G V

Jun 10, 2018

It's quite good, and everything that was asked in the exams was explained. But I feel it could have been a lot better if they exaplained everything in a more explicit way. Personally, i learn more when things are shown with examples and several concepts than just with listening about the topic, and I know I'm not the only one who learns that way

von David G

Apr 10, 2018

Really helpful for getting a basic grasp of concepts that I've struggled with without really learning in other places. The final exam is somewhat of a departure from the course material though and requires a fair amount of self-learning to complete. But I'm thankful for the free course!

von Conor F

Jun 06, 2020

On the whole a good level of detail and introduces concepts nicely, however i think particularly in week 3 a lot is thrown at you with not much explanation. An addition I think would be useful is explaining how knowing certain things in music theory can help us make music.

von Danila G

Oct 24, 2018

The explanations were not always clear nor sufficient for beginners in the part of Functional Harmomy (week 4), which probably should have been preceded by the (brilliant) explanation of Chords, Inversions and Cadences (week 5).

von Gervasio G

Dec 23, 2019

Course was great. The main challenge seemed to be the big gap between the first 4 or 5 weeks and the analysis of a musical piece expected for the final exam. It would be nice to have a more guided path for that final task.

von Beryl O

Jul 15, 2017

More dfficult than i thought it would be especially week 5 and 6 which moves to complex concepts very quickly. A lot of content in week 5 which may be easier to digest if split? Otherwise a good challenging course!

von Ishaan K

Oct 03, 2016

Very informative course. Teaches all the fundamentals till they're painfully obvious. It has helped me understand the skeletal structure of the music I listen to and has helped answer many questions. Thank you.

von Yasmine A M

Jul 21, 2017

Wow! The course is very rich! I never knew that music is so complicated.

The professors are really amazing, and they teach us verbal cues to memorize the complicated parts (Every good boy deserves fun!!)

von IKTAN D L V B

Oct 22, 2019

You need some knowledge on music before starting the course, some of the lectures and quizzes are too hard but it’s definitely worth it. I learned a LOT and I’m happy that I took this course!

von Aristarkh T

Sep 27, 2020

Great course! Felt like a good overview of important basics. Most of the lectures are quite clear and descriptive. The parts on form and structure felt a bit rushed and condensed, though.

von Joshua H

Jan 07, 2018

This course moves just a little bit too fast for beginners. I think it needs to be spread out a little bit with further explanations for people who don't understand what they are saying.

von Alejandro G C

Jul 23, 2020

I had no musical background and this was a challenging experience. I've learnt a lot in this course, I recommend it. I'm not giving it 5 stars because one of the weeks must be improved.

von Chloe A G

Oct 17, 2016

This was a great class, but some of the information could have been more comprehensive, and some of the questions on the tests did not match the information from the lectures.

von 黄薇

Oct 12, 2016

Good for beginners, introduced basic theory systemly. But a few mistakes appeared, though corrected in the videos too, but better to clear them in the future shifts.