Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity von Stanford University

4.9
Sterne
2,601 Bewertungen
899 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Top-Bewertungen

SS
8. Dez. 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

BH
22. Juni 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 894 Bewertungen für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

von Tarunkumar C

11. Sep. 2020

It is very informative from level zero to highest. Every topic covered sufficient knowledge. Overall very interesting.

von Noah D

5. Jan. 2020

Very thorough, but relatively easy to understand, due to the use of appropriate analogy and well described explanation!

von Michael F

4. Nov. 2018

Fantastic insight into Einstein's special theory of relativity. Great food for thoughts and excellent teaching methods.

von Leo K

12. März 2017

Excellent introduction to the Special Theory of Relativity: steady pace, lucid explanations and thorough comprehension.

von Yash T

2. Apr. 2020

Great course if you want the intuition behind the special theory of relativity

Prof. Lagerstrom is a brilliant teacher.

von Rahul M

22. Juli 2017

Very well taught, explored a little in less in depth than what I thought it would. But a brilliant course all the same

von Yugesh B

4. Dez. 2017

Thank you Coursera for providing such a excellent course with such a master prof. from such a prestigious university.

von Navneet J

5. Juni 2017

Awesome course!! Professor explained the concepts in a very simple manner and yet explained them in great details....

von Preeti M

29. Juni 2021

T​he best Special Theory of Relativity classes I have ever attended. Very informative and easy to understand course.

von DMcAllister

23. Juli 2020

The instructor for this class has a way of making the material very understandable and enjoyable. Excellent course!

von Natarajan D

21. Juli 2017

one of the best courses I have attended. Have explained complex concepts well enough to understand and think about !

von lui l

15. Juli 2017

This course is outstanding in every way. Very accessible,enjoyable and taught superbly. I can't recommend it enough.

von Tingna W

15. Aug. 2020

contents are interesting. the explanation is clear. really a good introduction on the special theory of relativity.

von Mark K

15. Juli 2020

Excellent. With just a little bit of Algebra I now feel comfortable with Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity.

von Deleted A

5. Okt. 2017

Very good course and great teacher, he really does his best to make things easy to understand but still with humor.

von Yaron K

10. Apr. 2020

A step by step explanation of Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity from the basic concepts, with many examples.

von Jyoti C

21. Dez. 2017

This course is good enough but so lengthy content and sometimes is is difficult to recall and answer the question.

von Sakthi A

28. Mai 2020

This is the best course I've seen , the professor teaches such a difficult in an understandable way!! Hats off...

von Roberto C

18. Aug. 2021

I warmly thank Prof. Larry Randles Lagerstrom for his exposition of the theory of relativity. Sincerely. Roberto

von Ezequiel M J

28. März 2021

(BR) Um dos melhores cursos que eu fiz na minha vida!!! // (US) One of the best courses that I did in my life!!!

von Timothy S D

27. Aug. 2020

One of the best online courses I've ever taken! Loved it. Prof. Larry Randles Lagerstrom's lectures are awesome.

von Élyse L

3. Apr. 2018

Love this. Everything is so clear and extremely well organized, I like the fact that sheets are available to us.

von Pauline F

19. Apr. 2020

Thank you Professor Lagerstrom for the very interesting course on the Special and General Theory of Relativity!

von Taya P

9. Apr. 2020

Отличный курс! Я очень плаваю в физике и геометрии, но, приложив усилия, смогла осилить и понять каждый урок :)

von Tomaz K

20. Aug. 2019

Understandable for one with fair skills in mathematics and physics.

Simple explanation of non-intuitive reality.