Chevron Left
Zurück zu Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases von The Pennsylvania State University

4.7
694 Bewertungen
166 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Top-Bewertungen

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 161 Bewertungen für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

von Lucas S f

Feb 04, 2016

very well

von Marc B F

Mar 31, 2018

Very interesting, covering a great diversity of topics inside the epidemics field and easy to follow

von Kesmic A J

Jun 13, 2016

This was a great course!

von gaobinn@yahoo.com

Apr 05, 2017

neat course by nice team

von Nicole M

Oct 11, 2015

This was one of my first online courses and I think the lecturers did an excellent job of conveying the material especially through this medium. They were also quick to respond to any questions that I had about lectures. I loved the material they presented as well. Great Course. I would definitely recommend it.

von Karalee H

Dec 17, 2015

I loved this course and learned way more than I thought I would. Thank you!

von ttnyeo

Apr 21, 2016

Nice

von Laura M

Aug 08, 2017

The first week gave me a lot of fundamental tools, im a biology student and i complete my normal pregrade education, THANKS for make this kind of courses can happen

von Dr S K J

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

von Elizabeth A

Jan 24, 2016

Absolutely amazing course. Great work! I really enjoyed it.

von Jean-Jacques B

Mar 06, 2017

Very interesting modern views on epidemiology of infectious diseases.

von Rebecca C

Aug 04, 2017

Excellent approach and base to get deep into the area.

I am looking for more courses like this one!

von Carlos B P

Dec 13, 2015

Curso muy completo en el que con una carga de trabajo normal aprendes mucho sobre las Epidemias (desde su evolución en el pasado a la actualidad, como combatirlas e incluso el futuro de esta disciplina).

Si te gusta el tema de las enfermedad infecciosas lo recomiendo mucho.

von Stacey K

May 14, 2017

very enjoyable and informative. Should be taught at schools.

Thank you for fun and engaging additional reading links!

von Aruhomukama D

Aug 22, 2018

Great Course !

von David E M E

Sep 07, 2018

Really good course. It give me the basis for epidemic área

von James F

Sep 19, 2018

This was a well put together course. The short 3 minute videos were perfect!

von Monira A

Oct 16, 2018

very very very clear and informative I'm very glad that i enrolled

von ABBA B

Oct 23, 2018

Ce cours m'a permis d'avoir une connaissance large sur la pathologie infectieuse ainsi que les mesures sanitaires à entreprendre c'est-à-dire l'utilisation des médicaments au moment où le besoin y est afin de bien les gérer sans être perturber les flores bactériennes.

von 白金松

Oct 02, 2018

非常不错,科普效果很不错,对于有一些基础知识的人也很有益处,边上的手绘示例真的很可爱

von Edgar Y C O

Aug 20, 2018

The best course that I made. I like the class and the simply of concepts related with the dynamics of epidemic. I congratulate to Professors team.

von Cecilia I B M

Jun 14, 2019

SO interesting!! And a easily way to learn

von Sharik V V Z

Jul 11, 2019

Es un curso sumamente enriquecedor, posee componentes de vital importancia para el entendimiento de la dinámica de las enfermedades. Como estudiante de microbiología próxima a graduarse sinceramente encontré este curso como una manera muy óptima y entretenida de refrescar mis conocimientos. Muchas gracias.

von Joseph C

Jul 17, 2019

Very interesting, and lots of fun!

von SUYEON B

Aug 08, 2019

Thank you all of the pfrofessors

Before entering my MPH course, I could grasp the concept of infectious disease control from your course. Thak you!