Chevron Left
Zurück zu Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases von The Pennsylvania State University

4.8
Sterne
1,181 Bewertungen
303 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Top-Bewertungen

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 298 Bewertungen für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

von Pau F

Apr 17, 2020

Great course! Very adviseable for everyone who is looking for courious information or further their knowdledge.

von Muhammad M

Sep 09, 2015

Love this course. Excited to attend more biology sciences courses from this university and these instructors...

von Jan C

Apr 12, 2020

Interesting topic, great teachers! I would be glad if there is something more courses prepared by this team.

von Ana S

Jan 14, 2016

Un curso muy completo y educativo, en el que aprendes fácilmente conceptos, que a priori, no son triviales.

von Sabrina S S

Sep 25, 2016

Much more than I expected! I'm in love with this area! This team is awesome!

This couse is Career Changing!

von Helen B

Apr 09, 2016

Excellent course - a great overview even for people new to the field. Great, entertaining lecture videos!

von Daniela R F

May 08, 2020

It's a really complete course, it helped me a lot understandign different things during COVID pandemia.

von April J S

May 08, 2020

I really enjoyed this prophetic course. It makes me even more curious to do more study in epidemiology.

von Pietro G

Jun 13, 2020

Very interesting, a good course for beginners that offers a fairly comprehensive view of the subject.

von Sagnika P

Dec 27, 2019

The course was very thorough and gave a much better understanding of the the basics of epidemiology.

von Marc B F

Mar 31, 2018

Very interesting, covering a great diversity of topics inside the epidemics field and easy to follow

von Miss S K W

Jun 24, 2017

This course was amazing! Everything is explained so well and laid out in such an accessible format!

von Flecher F

Mar 27, 2020

very insightful and well designed course. I've learned a lot and got more interested in the topic.

von Rebecca C

Aug 04, 2017

Excellent approach and base to get deep into the area.

I am looking for more courses like this one!

von Trent J G

Jun 23, 2020

I really love the offered modules. I learned a lot especially about infectious disease control.

von Sylvia H

Jul 28, 2020

Very interesting, informative and engaging programme - loved it and enjoyed binge watching it!

von Adelaida G L

Jun 18, 2020

It was a really interesting curse, now i understand many things and problematics more deeply

von mohrah m a

Mar 18, 2018

it was a pleasure for me to be a participant in that course, it was so useful and tremendous

von Emmanuel S

May 30, 2020

Is a very recomendable course for both students and teachers interested in Diseases Ecology

von Sigrun J J E

Aug 17, 2015

The course is very interesting and the pace and language is very accessible to understand

von VISHAL R L

May 19, 2020

Excellent course!! Gives a brief knowledge on past, present and future of epidemiology.

von Kim R

May 12, 2020

Very interesting, thorough, and informative, especially in light of the COVID 19 times!

von Anastasia C

Jul 18, 2017

A wonderfully interesting course, with clear concise videos that explainm content well.

von Sandra C

Nov 10, 2015

it was a fantastic course!!. Could you do a course to learn statistical predictions????