Chevron Left
Zurück zu Feminism and Social Justice

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Feminism and Social Justice von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
Sterne
5,106 Bewertungen
1,279 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top-Bewertungen

VK

16. Juli 2021

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

IS

11. Feb. 2020

This course was very impactful, I now understand the history of rape as a crime, the attitudes that have diminished and undermine women's rights. I am hoping that we will get things right as a people

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 1,297 Bewertungen für Feminism and Social Justice

von Jann M

23. Mai 2020

I could relate to all the issues surrounding the stories presented in this course. Having lived through those times it was really interesting to hear the detailed accounts presented about the events that happened and not just what the media presented about Angela Davis and Anita Hill. Thank you.

von Jacquelyn C M

31. Aug. 2021

I​ always wondered why Anita HIll subjected herself to the abuse she received, now I know that it wasn't her intention. This course is a wake-up call to anyone who hopes to advance in the world of politics, to keep their nose clean. This is quite a history lesson. I am glad I took the course.

von Jeniffer B P P

5. März 2021

I really learned a lot from this course, but what inspires me the most it that despite of being a woman and having said before that I was a feminist I didn't have the accurate knowledge and guidence about it. Now I can say that I will continue learning, reading and taking classes about feminism.

von Tushita R

2. Mai 2020

I absolutely loved this course. It was the right amount of engaging. The professor including actual events in the course and not only talking about factual information made it quite enriching. She herself being parts of certain feminist movements left in a sense of awe and admiration. Thank you!

von B B

26. Feb. 2020

Thoroughly rewarding. Thank You, especially to Bettina for developing and presenting the course. When I was 13 (in 1970) I never foresaw a time when I would be studying Angela Davis or the Soledad Brothers. Times have changed (slightly) for the better. But so much more to be done. Don't give up.

von Mark S

24. März 2021

I really enjoyed this course. The Professor was great! Her lectures were easy to understand, yet thought-provoking. I have always heard of the film "The Salt of the Earth" but never seen it. I am so glad I was introduced to it and to understand it's deeper meaning.

I wish the course were longer!

von ritika p

13. Juli 2020

It is a privilege to get to listen to Bettina Aptheker speak. She effectively binds the issues from the history to the present. The way she explained the intersectionality of feminism was seamless, well researched and graspable even to people with limited understanding of the feminist movement.

von ANJALI M

16. Apr. 2020

i loved this course. it talk about every aspect about the feminist movements and what has happened all over the years, how it started. you can understand how they started to campaign against all forms of injustice. i have understood so much from this course and i have learnt so many new things.

von Ana M R R

27. Aug. 2021

P​rofessor Aptheker is exceptional, her mastery of the subject is clear and the way she speaks is captivating. I would love to attend one of her courses one day. The information I got from this course is very meaningful and it complemented my views on such an important matter that is Feminism.

von Vanessa R

1. Nov. 2020

I really loved this course and learnt so much. It was very engaging and it felt like such a privilege to learn from Bettina Aptheker who came across as a very warm and knowledgable person. I could listen to her all day! Thank you, Bettina for sharing your knowledge for free on this course.

von Magali C B

1. Sep. 2020

If you are scrolling through reviews to decide whether to take or not this course, this is your sign, do it. The professor is amazing and know from first hand experiences so much about social justice movements and listening to the lectures is just incredible. I would definitely recommend it.

von Indrajeet A S

10. Juli 2020

Excellent course, so informative and so interesting. Filled with key historical events which i feel everyone should know about, because they are the foundations of today's world. They are narrated very well by Mrs. Bettina and it is fascinating how she was actually a part of these movements.

von mona

30. März 2020

It was amazing. You never get bored when she is talking, she gives a clear picture of feminism and social movements. It is so inspiring and i wish i could have taken more courses with her. Thank you Coursera to give me this opportunity to attend in this course and develop my own perspective.

von Ann M a

20. Juli 2020

Feminism and social Justice is an amazing course. It has given a very clear idea of what exactly Feminism is. Prof. Bettina Apthekar has brilliantly organised the lecturers in such way that she has blended her personal experiences along with other historical, political and social movements

von Joan P

30. Nov. 2020

This was an amazing course with a challenging topic presented by an incredibly talented professor whose lectures were engaging. The media components were compelling. I've always been a feminist and a scholar of politics and history. I'm humbled by how much I've learned through this course.

von DSOUZA S A 1

9. Okt. 2020

It has been a really fulfilling experience to pursue this course, especially as a male law student, because of which I got to see the whole idea of 'Feminism' from a clearly intellectual perspective, thanks to the guidance of Professor Aptheker, who conducted this whole course beautifully.

von Nisha A

24. Aug. 2020

The course is amazing, and so is the instructor. I wish that there were more lectures by her because they are so interesting and eye-opening as well, to a certain extent. Nevertheless, the experience was absolutely wonderful. I hope that the professor offers more courses on this platform.

von Anaga S

12. Juni 2020

Dear Prof. Aptheker, thank you for this amazing course. I loved every minute of it. It is a course many have to take up to understand the standing a woman has in her society, anywhere across the world. And you have made this understanding easy, simple and interesting to learn. Thank you!!

von Gulzada X

15. Mai 2020

I really enjoyed the course. In my university, there are no courses on gender studies and it was very great to get this kind of background. Thanks to my professor, thanks to my groupmates whose responses I read and informed about the cases in India, Brazil, and other places in the world.

von Selva A O

23. Jan. 2021

I really enjoy the course and learned a lot about justice and law, many people are oppressed buy the same law and never been given justice as it is required, I believe many like me who pursue this cause we will bring change in the word but bring justice to the poor and oppressed people.

von Marjori C R F

24. Aug. 2020

Me gustó muchísimo. Es un curso muy bueno que se enfoca en el feminismo estadounidense y la conexión que presenta con el racismo. Principalmente, el curso se trata de análisis de casos de justicia social en la historia. Fueron muy entretenidos y la profesora muy dinámica. Lo recomiendo.

von María F L D

23. Aug. 2020

It's a complete course of this important topic, I learned a lot and also I'm so proud of that this tipe of information is an interest fot lot of person, that show that, as a society we're moving forward, isn't much but withthis course we can learn and just move on for a justice society.

von Srithanya S

4. Juli 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, with the wide range of content and examples throughout history and race. Thank you Professor Apthekar, who made this course very engaging and especially interesting. I love Feminism and Social Justice and you made me love it more and know more about it.

von Anna F

14. Nov. 2020

I am so happy to have attended this course. In Italy universities don't offer this specific kind of course, which is explained in a very complete, accurate and intersectional way. Professor Aphteker is a good speaker and absolutely clear, which is important for me as a foreign student.

von Shreya

2. Juli 2020

I found this course to be deeply engaging. The way the professor taught this course was amazing ad it helped me understand US history and the interconnected nature of gender, race and class. I would recommend this course to my friends so that the movements can spread like a wildfire :)