Chevron Left
Zurück zu General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application von Rice University

4.6
Sterne
766 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Top-Bewertungen

ZK

28. Aug. 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

1. Okt. 2018

DEMAND

I would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Filtern nach:

176 - 197 von 197 Bewertungen für General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

von Stephen V I S

9. Juli 2021

It was kinda hard though but I liked it

von CHAMPION O A

13. Juli 2021

Great Course. No doubt about that!

von Akinmusire M O

22. Juli 2020

IT WAS EDUCATIVE AND ENLIGHTENING.

von Mohamed Y N

24. Apr. 2022

i had a fun learning experience.

von Tun L A

5. Juni 2016

Very Good Videos for Chemistry!

von Ebubechukwu D N

21. Juni 2021

Very Inquisitive & Efficient

von Emmanuel

13. Juli 2021

A new light on Chemistry!

von Dr. R K

9. März 2022

Very informative

von LILIANA G A

28. Okt. 2015

Muy buen curso

von ODUMO A C

2. Aug. 2020

thanks bro

von Dr. G B D R

20. Apr. 2020

Excellent

von Ms, A S H

21. Jan. 2022

.

von Bernard N I

3. Aug. 2020

Dr. Hutchinson's instruction was excellent. I would love to take a course in person. I am quite certain that he did not write the quizzes due to their lack of organization, disjointed relevance and rather hastily constructed design. Please do the following to improve the quizzes because they were not very beneficial for learning. 1) Please have an English major proofread the questions for clarity. I often could not understand exactly what was being asked. 2) Please do not include questions on material that is in future lessons or is extra-course specific. on the quizzes. I found myself consulting outside scientific sources to decipher terms used on the quiz that were not used in the course material. 3) Please be explicit with questions. Do not force the student to make assumptions or presume units. This is not done in the professional world and students should not take up the habit as they are learning.

von Christina R

17. Juli 2020

Great college level General Chem I refresher, but would be difficult to complete if this is your first time seeing these concepts or following the mathematics.

von Shaun s F

22. Jan. 2022

I cant view my chemistry certificate

von Neelesh S

20. Juni 2020

very good

von Anwana S E

30. Juli 2020

it was good

von Jennifer K

30. Juni 2022

While the concept development approach is interesting, to master chemistry one must practice. Very few examples are provided in this course and a novice could not possibly master the concepts watching the vidoes. Furthermore, the videos are dry and antiquated, and thus spark minimal interest or engagement. There are so many typos in the quizzes that you have to solve the problem incorrectly to get a "correct" answer. I would not recommend this course.

von benjamin g

24. Feb. 2022

A​pperantly you cannot get a certification of this course so unless you just want to take it for fun I am not sure what the point is. My school approved this course but now I have no way to verify I took it. I would love to give coursera some money for it but apperantly they don't want it so what a waste of time. lol

von Alice Z

6. Okt. 2021

Videos have fast speed audio and no visual ...

von Behnama A

16. Mai 2020

Pretty good but it was very disruptive