Chevron Left
Zurück zu Grammar and Punctuation

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Grammar and Punctuation von University of California, Irvine

4.7
Sterne
18,127 Bewertungen
5,513 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top-Bewertungen

OI

2. Juli 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

MH

5. Nov. 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

Filtern nach:

5326 - 5350 von 5,490 Bewertungen für Grammar and Punctuation

von Claire

5. Apr. 2016

It's a good course with some interesting resources. Most of the practice resources use Flash and one of the assignment submissions is inconsistent with the other submission formats. The content of the course itself is 4.5 stars. For me there is one element that I wish had an explanation or somewhere to ask about it. Instead I'll need to search the internet for an answer and hope what I find is correct!

von Rachael H

11. Feb. 2016

I think this is a good review for someone who has the basic in English grammar; however, if you're an ESL student or English-speaking person (who need to start over in grammar).

Study first before starting this course.

A lot of the feedback in the forum, I found to be poor except when it came from an English-speaking person.

You get a lot of: " OK, Great, etc..", no real feedback.

von Madhubanti G

19. Okt. 2015

I would have liked some more depth in the course. While the course name says "punctuation", it deals only with commas and to a small extent, with semicolons. The assignments and practice exercises need to be tougher. Also, given that this course is taken by students from all over the globe, it should mention that the "serial comma" is not mandatory in all writing styles.

von Arash F

15. Jan. 2021

This is a basic level grammar and punctuation course. While it is outlined well, some of the course work is not available based on the device one would use. Moreover, the current coursera policy of not being able to submit quizes at the end of each module makes it rather pointless to audit the course, and the course by itself doesn't have enough value to pay for upgrading.

von David L

11. Dez. 2016

The course is helpful but incomplete. It does not mention dashes and colons. It also misrepresents the usage of semicolons. I have seen the idea of using a semicolon followed by a transition word taught before, but I do not think I have ever seen it done in published writing in my entire life. It strikes me as being pretentious, something to be discouraged.

von Mohamad K M

12. Feb. 2020

Very good in punctuation and some points but it doesn't teach a lot of grammar as the title is, the training links are pretty old, and they use other sites, so it wasn't easy to use them. Good course for writing skill, anyway, it's so good for good English talkers, who doesn't trust their English writing skill.

von Paul J M

18. Dez. 2015

A good clear examination of basic punctuation and grammar. The lectures are well presented and the exercises useful. The element which really doesn't work is the peer assessment or review. This seems intended to replace forum discussions but it is not a good substitute (and there are no forums).

von Kunal D

1. Jan. 2016

A solid course for those who require a refresher on certain grammar rules. But, in my opinion, the course should go deeper in the different parts of the English grammar. For example, what are gerunds or infinitives? Still a good course though! I really enjoyed the teacher, as well.

von Aida

12. Nov. 2017

The level of this course is way more basic than I expected. The reviews left previously did not succeed my expectations. It might be an interesting course for someone that is starting to write in English and wishes to have extra knowledge in a very collateral way.

von Andrea P

11. März 2016

The course is well structured, but most of the features in the exercises' pages were not working properly. I tried to access them via both my computer (macbook) and mobile phone, but in some cases I could not even complete the exercise or check the answers...

von Emmylee G

6. Jan. 2019

This course was informative and valuable although lacking in character and not particularly engaging. (a Ben-Stein-Bueller aura if you know what I mean). But if you have the patience and desire to really learn this stuff, it will suffice.

von Brandon L S

26. Mai 2020

Very okay. I would have liked to see more video content and quizzes, rather than reading. This is a good review on the basics of grammar and punctuation, but I think you should already have some background in this before taking it.

von Estella

13. März 2020

The course is conducted well. But it can be improved better. Some reading materials, however, is not that useful and some videos are useless... More useful tips can be put into this course, it is kind of easy...

von Takondwa N C

23. März 2020

Some exercises were freezing up despite using firefox as recommended. Some long questions were not completely visible, as they slide cut them off. Otherwise, the sessions were beneficial in everyday writing.

von Bahareh K

23. Dez. 2016

It was great but I can't continue it because I am from Iran and living there too so I can't pay and enroll next courses :(

It was just like a great starter with no purpose for me.

von Kevin M V

2. Sep. 2020

Esta bien el curso, pero hay cosas que no explican del todo y muchos links externos para leer, no se motiva realmente al estudiante a escribir y que otros estudiantes corrijan.

von Valeriya N

19. Jan. 2016

The information was quite was good, but the practice and assignments were too easy. Thanks for providing full explanations and a set of in-video examples for every rule.

von Alicia B J

15. März 2019

Algunas funciones no trabajan adecuadamente, envío mis tareas y no se registra, eso hace que no pueda avanzar. No existe un soporte que ayude a resolver los problemas.

von Deleted A

28. Aug. 2019

It provides essential information neither about punctuation nor about grammar. I would say it is too superficial. Advanced learners will not gain new knowledge.

von Jim O

22. Feb. 2018

Nice brush up on some long-lost grammar rules. Could have been a bit more challenging considering it was created by a University of California school.

von Gabriel B C

5. Juli 2020

It could review some aspects from conditional sentences. In addition, there should be the option of doing the practice exercises in Safari or Chrome.

von Casandra M

4. Nov. 2019

I wish that the lessons could have gone a bit more in depth and have more abilities to give the students practice or interactions with instructors.

von Nilaakshi K

6. März 2017

Although it should be simple enough, i found it hard to understand the material and sometimes, the videos would end without finishing the content.

von Kelly C

5. Feb. 2016

I couldn't finish it without purchasing it, in spite of active participation and high scores on all the assignments I had access to.

von Partha S

29. Nov. 2017

Great explanation of punctuation rules. However, upgrade costs too much given the amount of materials covered and their complexity.