Chevron Left
Zurück zu The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State von Tel Aviv University

4.5
Sterne
600 Bewertungen
178 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Top-Bewertungen

TA

Sep 27, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

DA

Feb 03, 2018

The course began with a question..What do we know about Israel(its history)? The course ended with an answer is " Is there anything more to be known?" Excellent course!!!!

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 176 Bewertungen für The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

von Alec K

Nov 12, 2015

I found this course to be very interesting. I took this course simultaneously with the one from UCSD on the Holocaust so they enhanced each other. I especially appreciated having a lecture in which Anita Shapira participated - I had already read 'Israel: A History' so it added an extra dimension to that. A couple of small niggles - a) I think a warning for those that don't speak Hebrew that they need to use the subtitles facility(something I've never used before) b) I think some of the English spellings may be ambiguous when translating from Hebrew because of the special use of vowels.

All in all I enjoyed this and hope you provide more courses relating to the Israeli/Palestinian situation. Many ordinary people are very uninformed and vulnerable to misleading propaganda. Courses like this are vital in informing non-Jews.

von Nikola D

Apr 23, 2018

The professor was great, I really enjoyed listening to him. What I found confusing was the questions on the tests, it didn't seem to me that they reflected the lectures previously given, nor I thought they could measure the level of acquired knowledge.

It would be also nice if professor suggested some literature or, why not, movies and documentaries about certain events mentioned in the lectures, so students can research deeper into the subject and gain better understanding of how modern Israel came to be.

von Sarah E P

Nov 12, 2015

This is a great introduction to Israel and Middle Eastern politics. It's not too tough- everything is broken down into very manageable 7 or 8 minute lessons, so it's easy to acquire a general understanding of the factors that led to the formation of Israel. Students looking for an in-depth examination may be disappointed, but if you're curious about this fascinating and very relevant chapter of history, this course will give you a good overview, and leave you hungry to learn more.

von Rachel K

Aug 21, 2018

This was a very good course and taught me a lot about the creation of the State of Israel. One problem I had was that this course seems to assume you have more background knowledge than I had. I often found myself looking up information on my own because I didn't fully understand the different groups or people that were mentioned.

von Mark W

Nov 18, 2016

An excellent course - as an introduction, it covers the material in a logical way, and presents critical views on actions of parties on all sides. Has whetted my appetite to know more about the history of creation of Israel and to explore particular avenues that couldn't be covered in detail due to introductory nature of course.

von Sophie B

Dec 06, 2017

VERY INTERESTING - Sometime the accent and speed of the lecturers, however enthralling, it hard to follow. The use of the script and rewatching is then essential! but all in all great course. Has not helped in forming an opinion on current climate, as expected, but has increased dramatically the understa

von Brandon L V

Nov 23, 2016

Amazing course, this really amplifies the roots and causes of the origin of the creation of the state of Israel. A little bit too much information that I belief can be sintetized, but overall still great to give the student a really solid overview on the context of the British Mandate of Palestine.

von Okunowo O B

Feb 06, 2020

Through this course, I now have a better understanding of how the State of Israel came to be, as well as the genesis of the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. I want to particularly commend the instructors for demonstrating a high level of objectivity and sound knowledge in delivering the course.

von Mudit A

Nov 09, 2018

Well constructed course. Provided a good understanding of the basis of the Zionist experiment, and the fundamental causes of the Arab-Israeli conflict. Explanations by both professors were lucid and engaging. Inputs from auxiliary professors brought about nuanced perspectives

von Simi V

May 17, 2018

There are errors in the transcripts of the lectures (one example: the word "pogrom" is written as "program." I am not going to stay with the course but if anyone wants me to, I can clean up those transcripts (I am a professional editor).

von Kathryn M

May 16, 2017

I learned so much in this course! My biggest critique would be that a lot of the videos seemed to be recorded at a low volume so they were difficult to hear.

I've taken several other Coursera courses and haven't had that problem.

von Alex B

Apr 26, 2020

A good course from which I learned some new details. It is pretty basic, although it also expects some previous knowledge. I have some disagreements with the presentation, but overall it was pretty balanced.

von William B

Nov 06, 2018

This class is pretty well put together and I enjoyed it a lot. Sometimes I had to listen a couple times because he has a thick accent, but that’s great! It’s authentic! Would recommend.

von Jaime L

Apr 11, 2020

No doubt very interesting and the materials are well developed and organized. I feel like an effort has been made to explain the origins from a fairly neutral point of view.

von Lydia K

Dec 29, 2016

It starts off a little slow and videos are very quiet but then it becomes really interesting and the short videos and change of presenters make it very easy to follow.

von Bruno F F d S

Jan 07, 2019

Curso muito interessante, infelizmente nem todos os videos são legendados em português, entretanto os professores e o conteúdo é muito interessante.

von Cesar A G Z

Jul 10, 2018

No le califiqué con 5 estrellas únicamente por la falta de una bibliografía que me permita mejorar los conocimientos adquiridos en el curso

von Kelly

Dec 01, 2015

A good synopsis of the history of Israel. I enjoyed learning about this subject, and especially enjoyed the interviews and conversations.

von Agnes L

Jan 12, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot from it. I would have liked more details and larger class, maybe some optional readings

von Sarah S Y

Apr 20, 2017

Interesting course. Good quick way to gain a better understanding of the conflict between Israel and Palestine.

von Mary L P

Jan 18, 2016

Excellent course. I enjoyed learning about Israel and will help with understanding world events.

von Deleted A

May 21, 2020

very informative one, which will provide you an insight to the evolution and history of Israel.

von Shi Y

Feb 09, 2016

good for people who wanna know the brief. would be better with more details and sorties

von Christopher T C

Jan 17, 2016

Very good class though at times it could be hard to hear some of the audio lessons

von Varun N

May 26, 2020

Good one for those interested in Israel and the larger politics of Middle East